Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Newbie Lounge

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 6th August 2008, 11:22 PM   #1
chet Thread Starter
R.I.P.
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,426
Default Which DNS server to use?

Never known this, and now I'm curious. Does it matter which DNS server I use? Or should I use my ISP-provided one, or even "obtain automatically"?

What happens if I use some random DNS?
chet is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 6th August 2008, 11:40 PM   #2
gords
Thread Killer
 
gords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 6,375
Default

You can use any you like. If they're reliable, your ISP's DNS servers are probably a good choice because they're closer to you than most others will be. Bear in mind that if you use a DNS server on the other side of the world, DNS lookups will take longer.
__________________
"Grace is God giving us what we do not deserve and mercy is God not giving us what we do deserve."

"The beauty of grace is that it makes life not fair." - Relient K, Be My Escape

"God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." Romans 5:8
gords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2008, 11:48 PM   #3
chet Thread Starter
R.I.P.
 
chet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,426
Default

Righto. Thought that might be the case :]
chet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 2:13 AM   #4
Agg
Lord of the Pings
 
Agg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: A Reported Post near you
Posts: 26,752
Default

I'd think most ISP DNS servers would be configured to not allow queries from people outside their network, too. So best to use your curent ISP's ones, unless you have a specific issue with them.
__________________
www.overclockers.com.au - also now on twitter and facebook.
Agg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 1:11 PM   #5
power
Member
 
power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: brisbane
Posts: 35,507
Default

when i was on Blitz i used to use the Optus DNS servers because the Blits one's were constantly stuffed, sometimes it can be worth setting it rather than using auto.

Now i'm on TPG and i've manually entered both of their DNS servers.
power is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2008, 1:26 PM   #6
samFox
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mildura
Posts: 747
Default

Try find one that is not vulnerable to the recent DNS exploit
samFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 11:38 AM   #7
timace
Member
 
timace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Western Sydney
Posts: 1,756
Default

My opinion is unless your automatically assigned DNS servers aren't doing their job, don't touch them. Same goes for most other things.
timace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2008, 7:43 PM   #8
silvertang
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Default

have you tried Opendns?
its great, it has phishing filter, dns lookup monitoring, parental guidiance and its dns lookups are fast.

just add these:

Primary: 208.67.222.222
Secondary: 208.67.220.220
__________________
Who is a wizard and OCs? Lord Volt-a-mod!

Running: Homebrew CPU ( I call it the UnIntel[ligent] Core 1 Uno Tri Core ) @ 4.6MHz (1X4640Khz FSB) 4.563v
How I made my own CPU? Get three quartz crystals link em up and put a voltage thru them!
silvertang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 8:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!