Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st November 2008, 8:45 AM   #1
moloko vellocet Thread Starter
Member
 
moloko vellocet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 618
Default AMD Austin Tech Day - Information from the inside

Hey peeps!

I quite literally just got back to the hotel from AMD's Austin campus after a day with some rather interesting information being disclosed and freely discussed.

Unfortunately, the level of free discussion outside of the room is heavily covered by NDA so I'm unable to announce specific details. But this is what I can say...

The new platform from AMD will be called 'Dragon' and will be focused around the new 'Phenom II' processors, 4800-series Radeon graphics cards and 7-series chipset based motherboards.

Here are some general performance observations that I can disclose:

Phenom II and the Dragon platform can overclock to 4GHz on air - we were demonstrated a system @ 3.9GHz using stock bus frequency and HT link frequency and a multiplier set at 19.5x. This was done with 1.55v BIOS set. This system was looping endlessly through a Crysis time demo without issue; by the end of the day it was past 100 loops.

The platform core specifications demonstrated were as follows:

Phenom II processor
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-DS4H motherboard
Radeon HD4870X2 graphics
OCZ Reaper memory

While the unit demonstrated was @ 3.9GHz, we later had a hands on benching period with the new platform and I was able to quite easily reach this stated 4GHz frequency.

This same platform also exceeded 5GHz on liquid nitrogen cooling. But what was perhaps the coolest (no pun intended) specific of this demonstration was the processor operating and even cold booting at -196 degrees Celsius - that's right, AMD has no cold bugs of any kind, at all for Phenom II!

During this LN2 session the system was demonstrated operating in excess of 5GHz and running 1.95v BIOS set (1.936v CPU-Z read in Windows) and as stated, at the maximum lowest temps available with liquid nitrogen - time to find a liquid helium supplier peeps!

I'm gagged by the NDA on any further information and specifications such as model numbers, product features + specs, stock clock frequencies or even specific overclocked frequencies (i.e. LN2 max) as well as pricing, competitive performance or bench scores. So please, don't even bother asking me these questions as I cannot and will not answer these questions - at least until the NDA drops.

What I wanted to do with this post is at least let you all know that there is hope still for AMD and that while I've harped on about the LN2 experience, the overclocking ability is solid for LN2, phase, water and air cooling methods.

Cheers guys
__________________
Team.AU
Drunken benching well below zero°C!

ASUS Australia
In Search of Incredible
moloko vellocet is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st November 2008, 8:52 AM   #2
Frontl1ne
Member
 
Frontl1ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,773
Default

1.55v for 3.9GHz, is that safe for a 45nm chip? :S

moloko, any chance of disclosing how much voltage it took for you to reach 4GHz?

Cheers for the news
Frontl1ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 9:07 AM   #3
prezident doom
Member
 
prezident doom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moloko vellocet View Post
So please, don't even bother asking me these questions as I cannot and will not answer these questions - at least until the NDA drops.
So i guess the question is... when does the NDA drop

Nice info btw
__________________
| AMD FX8320 : ASUS Sabretooth 990FX R2 : 8GB Coarsair Vengeance 1600mhz : 1TB SATAIII HDD : HD 7870 2G : Samsung 2350 |
| Over 20 Successful Trades Totaling $2500+ |
prezident doom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 9:48 AM   #4
mAJORD
Member
 
mAJORD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Griffin , Brisbane
Posts: 7,447
Default

no coldbug... if that's true - AWESOME
mAJORD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 9:50 AM   #5
AEKaBeer
Member
 
AEKaBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Essendon
Posts: 3,511
Default

Confirmed 4GHz on air is what's doing it for me. I'll be content with a 3.6ghz clock, 1GHz faster than my current opty (which is still handling itself well I might add) and twice the cores = Mmmm!
__________________
FX-8350, 16GB RipJawX, ASUS 990FX SabreTooth R2, TR Silver Arrow, Sapphire+Gigabyte 2x HD7970 OC, U2410, FractalR4, 500GB EVO, 120GB Vertex3, 256GB Crucial M4, Seagate 3TB, Silverstone 850w
Metabox P157SM, i7-4700MQ, GTX 780M, 95% gamut screen, 32GB DDR3, 120GB Sandisk, 256GB Plextor m.sata, bluray burner
AEKaBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 10:39 AM   #6
AEKaBeer
Member
 
AEKaBeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Essendon
Posts: 3,511
Default

Is this what the NDA is not letting you put out? 6GHz! Holy Shit
__________________
FX-8350, 16GB RipJawX, ASUS 990FX SabreTooth R2, TR Silver Arrow, Sapphire+Gigabyte 2x HD7970 OC, U2410, FractalR4, 500GB EVO, 120GB Vertex3, 256GB Crucial M4, Seagate 3TB, Silverstone 850w
Metabox P157SM, i7-4700MQ, GTX 780M, 95% gamut screen, 32GB DDR3, 120GB Sandisk, 256GB Plextor m.sata, bluray burner
AEKaBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 12:06 PM   #7
Anthw27
Member
 
Anthw27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sanctuary Point NSW
Posts: 231
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by moloko vellocet View Post
Hey peeps!

What I wanted to do with this post is at least let you all know that there is hope still for AMD and that while I've harped on about the LN2 experience, the overclocking ability is solid for LN2, phase, water and air cooling methods.

Cheers guys
Theres always been hope. I consider myself a AMD fanboy, and while Intel impresses me, I prefer AMD for stability. I can honestly say that AMD processors and chipsets have been more stable for me than anything Intel that I have owned to date.

AMD aint done and dusted like a lot of others believe, yes i7 is an amazing thing , but wait untill AMD get to 32nm they will have some suprises for intel.

either way there is room in the marlket for both producers and I personally think thast AMD is the more innovative and will prove that they have the most power efficent product in the near future.
__________________
CPU: INTEL Core i5 3300 @ 3400 Mhz Cooler: Corsair H60 [/B]Mobo: AsRock z77 Extreme 4 LGa1155 Ram: 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 Mhz Pri SSD: Samsung 128gb 840 Series Pro Sec HDD:500 Gb WD Caviar SATA II Third HDD 1 x 320 Gb WD Caviar SATA II Opticals Liteon DVD 16x +/- RW PSU: Corsair HX 650 Video:Nvidia GTX660 2GB Case:Phanteks Enthoo Pro OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
Anthw27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 12:27 PM   #8
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,806
Default

so, any performance numbers at these speeds??? or is that what is under the NDA???
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 12:29 PM   #9
kingborel
Member
 
kingborel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pantner View Post
so, any performance numbers at these speeds??? or is that what is under the NDA???
Quote:
Originally Posted by moloko vellocet View Post
Hey peeps!
I'm gagged by the NDA on any further information and specifications such as model numbers, product features + specs, stock clock frequencies or even specific overclocked frequencies (i.e. LN2 max) as well as pricing, competitive performance or bench scores. So please, don't even bother asking me these questions as I cannot and will not answer these questions - at least until the NDA drops.


(10char)
kingborel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 12:33 PM   #10
sandeep
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4,176
Default

I can tell you at they won't be fully stable at 3.9Ghz or 4Ghz. They might be stable at 3.8Ghz.

I think AMD is back in action since the release of 9850 BE.
__________________
{AMD Phenom II QUAD 965 BE @4Ghz}{Crosshair V Formula}{Ballistix Tracer PC3-12800 4*2 Gig@1600}{Sapphire 6970 2Gig}{Silverstone OP1000W}{HP w2408h}
sandeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 12:35 PM   #11
pantner
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingborel View Post


(10char)
lol...reading = FAIL!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeep View Post
I can tell you at they won't be fully stable at 3.9Ghz or 4Ghz. They might be stable at 3.8Ghz.
and how do you know? have you used them?
pantner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 1:17 PM   #12
dinos22
OCAU Sponsor
 
dinos22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,045
Default

shame that we dont have any cheerleader smilies cause they are sooo appropriate right now

go AMD
__________________
dinos22 - Team.AU
GIGABYTE Australia
Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?

OCAU HWBOT TEAM Z97 COMPETITION - SPONSORED BY GIGABYTE!
dinos22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 1:36 PM   #13
Frontl1ne
Member
 
Frontl1ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeep View Post
I can tell you at they won't be fully stable at 3.9Ghz or 4Ghz. They might be stable at 3.8Ghz.
They looped Crysis throughout the whole day continuously on all OC'd Deneb systems according to Legit Reviews. Sure it might not be Prime95 "stable" but at least it can run big games like Crysis without stability issues. I'm sure with a bit of tinkering and tweaking, OCers would be able to get it stable.
Frontl1ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 2:54 PM   #14
doghouse
Member
 
doghouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,750
Default

This is brilliant news, maybe its time to flog off my Kentsfield, when does the NDA get lifted? I want Penryn but I miss AMD.
doghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2008, 6:42 PM   #15
Apokalipse
Member
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moloko vellocet View Post
I'm gagged by the NDA on any further information and specifications such as model numbers, product features + specs, stock clock frequencies or even specific overclocked frequencies (i.e. LN2 max)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moloko vellocet View Post
During this LN2 session the system was demonstrated operating in excess of 5GHz
If that's not the max, something tells me this could be a record breaking chip.
__________________
Successful buys from: DAVID CLEM, caudex, In2nEt, ozdealer, mc^
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!