Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th November 2008, 9:58 AM   #1
striker-reaper Thread Starter
Member
 
striker-reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rouse Hill, NSW
Posts: 1,058
Default Gigabyte 4870x2 problem

Hi,
I just bought a DFI LANPARTY UT X48-T2R mobo and a Gigabyte 4870x2 yesterday as my asus striker 2 formula board decided to die and I thought itd be a good time to move away from sli and try a single fast card.

My issue is the system boots fine with a single 8800gt however I cant get any display out of it with the 4870x2 hooked up. The pc posts fine (as I can see via the little post code display on the mobo) with both but I get no signal at all from the 4870x2. I havent had a chance to try it in a diff mobo so it very well may be a dead card but im wondering if there is anything else im missing.

I thought it may have something to do with a lack of power but I have an Antec quattro 850w power supply and im using both an 8pin and a 6 pin seperate pci-e power connecter straight from the psu to the gfx card. I tried unplugging everything power wise but the basics (so all hdd's and dvd and fans unplugged) but this made no difference. I should also add this power supply ran dual 8800gt's in sli fine.

Is there something im missing or should I just try the card in a different motherboard?

Thanks,
Brett
__________________
Brett | reaper | sob_reaper@hotmail.com
Intel C2D 8400 | DFI LANPARTY UT X48-T2R | 4 x 1 GB DDR 2 1066 Corsair Dominator | WD 300 GB VelociRaptor, 3 x Seagate 400 GB NCQ | 2 GB Gigabyte 4870x2 | Antec TWELVE HUNDRED | Antec Quattro 850w | Samsung 2253LW | Logitech Z-5500
Successful Trades: 31
striker-reaper is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 27th November 2008, 10:04 AM   #2
eva2000
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Smile

update to latest 10/02 bios for board
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 10:08 AM   #3
striker-reaper Thread Starter
Member
 
striker-reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rouse Hill, NSW
Posts: 1,058
Default

Ok ill flash it tonight when I get home. Is it a known issue with these boards or something?
__________________
Brett | reaper | sob_reaper@hotmail.com
Intel C2D 8400 | DFI LANPARTY UT X48-T2R | 4 x 1 GB DDR 2 1066 Corsair Dominator | WD 300 GB VelociRaptor, 3 x Seagate 400 GB NCQ | 2 GB Gigabyte 4870x2 | Antec TWELVE HUNDRED | Antec Quattro 850w | Samsung 2253LW | Logitech Z-5500
Successful Trades: 31
striker-reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 10:09 AM   #4
DiGiTaL MoNkEY
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striker-reaper View Post
Ok ill flash it tonight when I get home. Is it a known issue with these boards or something?
Yes there were some issues with DFI boards, i forget the model number list.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 10:12 AM   #5
eva2000
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striker-reaper View Post
Ok ill flash it tonight when I get home. Is it a known issue with these boards or something?
yup known and fixed issue via updates on all dfi boards

no probs on my DFI DK X48-T2RBS Plus and UT X48-T3RS in sig
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 10:17 AM   #6
striker-reaper Thread Starter
Member
 
striker-reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rouse Hill, NSW
Posts: 1,058
Default

ok thats great news it had me worried after I spent hours trying to get it working last night

doy yo recommend flashing it via floppy disk or within windows? These are the 2 options the dfi website is giving me and afaik floppy would be the safer option but alots changed since I last flashed anything
__________________
Brett | reaper | sob_reaper@hotmail.com
Intel C2D 8400 | DFI LANPARTY UT X48-T2R | 4 x 1 GB DDR 2 1066 Corsair Dominator | WD 300 GB VelociRaptor, 3 x Seagate 400 GB NCQ | 2 GB Gigabyte 4870x2 | Antec TWELVE HUNDRED | Antec Quattro 850w | Samsung 2253LW | Logitech Z-5500
Successful Trades: 31
striker-reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 11:32 AM   #7
Jethed
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canberra
Posts: 110
Default

the same thing happen with me with my 4870x2 and dfi board.
pulled out my 8800GTX and shoved in the 4870x2, booted up, nothing happened...
I already had the correct bios installed. reflashed it again and worked fine
Jethed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 4:41 PM   #8
eva2000
DDR1/DDR2/DDR3 Addict
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by striker-reaper View Post
ok thats great news it had me worried after I spent hours trying to get it working last night

doy yo recommend flashing it via floppy disk or within windows? These are the 2 options the dfi website is giving me and afaik floppy would be the safer option but alots changed since I last flashed anything
i use bootable usb flash drive or custom cd iso available at http://csd.dficlub.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1525
__________________
* Questions about memory? No PMs Ask on forums
* i7 980X Club @4844mhz H20
* Asus P6T6 WS Revo - W3540 @4821 H20 | W3570 @4997Mhz H20 | DFI UT X58-T3EH8 USB3.0
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2008, 8:37 PM   #9
striker-reaper Thread Starter
Member
 
striker-reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rouse Hill, NSW
Posts: 1,058
Default

All fixed! Flashed to new firmware and worked straight away, so happy right now

I ended up going old school and dragging out a floppy drive and did it that way

Thanks to everyone that helped!
__________________
Brett | reaper | sob_reaper@hotmail.com
Intel C2D 8400 | DFI LANPARTY UT X48-T2R | 4 x 1 GB DDR 2 1066 Corsair Dominator | WD 300 GB VelociRaptor, 3 x Seagate 400 GB NCQ | 2 GB Gigabyte 4870x2 | Antec TWELVE HUNDRED | Antec Quattro 850w | Samsung 2253LW | Logitech Z-5500
Successful Trades: 31
striker-reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 2:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!