Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Extreme and Water Cooling

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd December 2008, 2:23 PM   #1
Bolter01 Thread Starter
Member
 
Bolter01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NSW
Posts: 360
Default How often to change coolant?

Hi,
I am using Swiftech HydrX Coolant & distilled water with great success.

Was wondering what the expected life of it is? My system is all copper.

I have some Feser One Fluid - UV Red to put in and realize it will need a thorough flush before adding a new coolant.

Thanks
__________________
i72600k | ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme | 16Gb Ripjaws X 1866 | OCZ Vetrex2 120Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb | WD Black 1TB FEAX | Seagate Barracuda 2GB | ASUS HD6990 | DELL WFP 3008 | ASUS Xonar D2X | Win7 64 | Toughpower 1200w | Custom watercooling
Bolter01 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 22nd December 2008, 4:18 PM   #2
Arbite
Member
 
Arbite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SA
Posts: 1,040
Default

You can go up to a year without changing coolant, but i would recomend changing every 6-8 months.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agg View Post
gnsrfgnfsgnsfg
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinkiwinki View Post
"Oh, I was driving by and saw incest burning in front of your house...."
Arbite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 5:51 PM   #3
Frag_Lord
Member
 
Frag_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 853
Default

I have been running Nulon + distilled for about 10 months now, it looks kinda nasty now :P

I would recommend every 6 months to changing coolant and tubing.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Evo|i5 2500K|Corsair 8GB 1600|Gigabyte 5850|Asus Xonar STX|OCZ Vertex 30GB| 3 x WD20EARS| WD1001FALS| Seasonic X750W| Lian Li PC-P50WB|
Trades List
Leader Computers Warranty / Senior Technician / Server Support
1997 JZX100 Toyota Chaser
Frag_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 7:00 PM   #4
Bolter01 Thread Starter
Member
 
Bolter01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NSW
Posts: 360
Default

and tubing...argh! yes I suspected I may have to sometime. That will be "Fun"
__________________
i72600k | ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme | 16Gb Ripjaws X 1866 | OCZ Vetrex2 120Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb | WD Black 1TB FEAX | Seagate Barracuda 2GB | ASUS HD6990 | DELL WFP 3008 | ASUS Xonar D2X | Win7 64 | Toughpower 1200w | Custom watercooling
Bolter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 7:17 PM   #5
lowdog
Member
 
lowdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dreamland.
Posts: 3,917
Default

I just re-did my loop in November, it had been running on nothing more than straight distilled water for over 14 months straight and the water that came out was fine, there was nothing in it. All my blocks were clean as well with NO build up of any crap that all those coolant things tend to cause. new loop is straight distilled as well, I'll leave it for well over a year this time unless I have to change out components.

Straight distilled for the win.
__________________
lowdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 8:23 PM   #6
K3nii
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Your FACE!
Posts: 560
Default

about every school holidays i have the urge to change my pc so thats how often i do it
__________________
FLICKR! - http://bit.ly/ehWV91

Successful Trades:garfield2K (thrice), Dal0003, VaN-Dam, vathink, Geoff59, gmtuner, MAXKNOTT, Grunner, Fettrix, twr7cx, Lichey, tagrobert, wesley5781, Corey193, Andrew357, 3stars, Hom3br3w and others
Most Awesome member - DeVo
K3nii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 8:42 PM   #7
javascripterror
Member
 
javascripterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NSW
Posts: 3,173
Default

The same water has been in the Potted Eheim project since December 26, 2005. Must be some kind of record by now I suppose.
__________________
Cogito Ergo Bummer.

Folding@home 90,000 Club Member.
Folding@Home 2,655,000 Points Milestone.
Home of the Radiical X-Block www.radiical.com.au
javascripterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2008, 9:12 PM   #8
Kaine[zof]
Member
 
Kaine[zof]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,162
Default

Changing coolant every six months is a bit on the anal side.

Changing tubing that often is just downright wasteful. Only reason to change tubing ever is if it is decaying (ie going hard and splitting or leaking). I reuse tubing from install to install. Some of it is pretty stained by Nulon at this point but it really isn't an issue.

I've changed coolant at roughly 9-12 month intervals simply because that's when I've reconfigured my loop. Good, stable coolant without any residue buildup or corrosion should be fine for at least 12 months.

HydrX is shite. Feser is overpriced and nothing special. Nulon + de-mineralised water has worked fantastically for me.

Last edited by Kaine[zof]; 22nd December 2008 at 9:15 PM.
Kaine[zof] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2008, 7:16 AM   #9
Bolter01 Thread Starter
Member
 
Bolter01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NSW
Posts: 360
Default

Thanks for the feedback all and have a great holiday season.
I was of the understanding that coolant prevents algae and reduces the likely hood of a galvanic cell so that's why I used it.

You fellows using Nulon is there a particular one to use?

And yer its been roughly 6 mths so I'll give it a couple more and the tubing can wait, its still soft.
Thanks
__________________
i72600k | ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme | 16Gb Ripjaws X 1866 | OCZ Vetrex2 120Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb | WD Black 1TB FEAX | Seagate Barracuda 2GB | ASUS HD6990 | DELL WFP 3008 | ASUS Xonar D2X | Win7 64 | Toughpower 1200w | Custom watercooling
Bolter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2008, 8:22 PM   #10
okydoke
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 126
Default

I went about 1 3/4 years before redoing my loop (previously had hydrx in it) the other week. No buildups or gunk or discolouration, tubes were in ok condition (although i replaced them anyway). Ran some white vinegar/distilled water through it a few times with next to no foreign materials coming out (followed with extensive flushing out of the components). Next time I will probably go for a year so/ 9 months to keep the tubes in better nick, but yeah, all good
okydoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2008, 4:19 PM   #11
DeejW
Member
 
DeejW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Margaret River WA
Posts: 1,866
Default

If you do it right the first time and get Tygon throughout you will never have to replace the tubes again.
__________________
MiniBeast: i5 2500k @ 4.6Ghz/16GB Vengeance/Asrock Z68 Pro/HD7870 Direct CU/240GB Intel520 SSD/12TB Total/AX850/TJ08-E/Win7Ultimatex64
Bigbeast: Version VI STI/GTPS01/Process West Tmic/PFI Fuel Rails/ID850cc Inj/Vi-Pec ECU/MRT & TCP Xorst/MAFless, IACVless
DeejW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2008, 4:46 PM   #12
Bolter01 Thread Starter
Member
 
Bolter01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NSW
Posts: 360
Talking

Great feedback "oky" and DeejW I am looking at getting tygon tubing as the replacement though I have had no trouble with what Ive got.

Cheers
__________________
i72600k | ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme | 16Gb Ripjaws X 1866 | OCZ Vetrex2 120Gb | Samsung 840 EVO 120Gb | WD Black 1TB FEAX | Seagate Barracuda 2GB | ASUS HD6990 | DELL WFP 3008 | ASUS Xonar D2X | Win7 64 | Toughpower 1200w | Custom watercooling
Bolter01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2008, 4:57 PM   #13
onoff312
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canberra
Posts: 813
Default

I dont get how tygon tubing is any better then dtek or feser tubes.
onoff312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2008, 10:43 PM   #14
Trog Star
Member
 
Trog Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Blue Mountans, NSW
Posts: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeejW View Post
If you do it right the first time and get Tygon throughout you will never have to replace the tubes again.
do you work for them or some shit?
Trog Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2008, 10:45 PM   #15
Damianb
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,860
Default

Plastics are made up with all different mixes. some have more of a certain ingredient than others. some companies know how to make plastic better than others. that can all affect how the tubing works, there is also wall thickness, Tygon uses 1/8th wall thickness instead of 1/16th.
Damianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!