Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Modding

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st March 2009, 8:43 PM   #151
AussieTemplar
Member
 
AussieTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eastern Suburbs Sydney
Posts: 2,429
Default


This photo is a year old.

This is my old setup. Changed GPU and Mobo since then and added a few more fans. My new setup is same case, but cables are much more hidden. Getting my MurderMod sleeving kit soon, so should be even better - will take photo's then.
__________________
| AMD 7970 3GB | FX-8350 @ 5.1ghz | 32GB Corsair 2200 | Lian Li PC-P80B | AX-850w | Win7 Ultimate x64
Successful Trades(28) ($3600+): Un-updated Trades
AussieTemplar is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 21st March 2009, 9:06 PM   #152
Marshy919
Member
 
Marshy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,567
Default

Nice work mate
__________________
| Intel i5 4570 | Asus Z87M-PLUS | Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB | Corsair RM750 | Corsair 760T | Gigabyte GTX760 | Samsung Evo Pro 128GB | WD 4TB Red | Corsair K70 | Corsair M95 |
Marshy919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 12:33 PM   #153
angel Havoc
Member
 
angel Havoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Penrith 2750
Posts: 1,531
Default

http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/5296/dscf0116h.jpg

that's my pc. got new 720W psu when i upgraded my graphics card, now ive got too many cables. managed to get the 24pin connector behind the mobo tray, spare cables sit on my optical drive in the top drive bay.
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #179] || OCAU MetaL Club Member #219 || OCAU Emergency Service's club member #343
Quote:
23:50 - nem: if anyone wants to shag on my grave i'd say go for it
23:51 - nem: nearest i'll get to action
angel Havoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 4:26 PM   #154
neon_87
RIP
 
neon_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by angel Havoc View Post
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/5296/dscf0116h.jpg

that's my pc. got new 720W psu when i upgraded my graphics card, now ive got too many cables. managed to get the 24pin connector behind the mobo tray, spare cables sit on my optical drive in the top drive bay.
SHAW? Seriously man. That thing is lucky to supply 400w before it blows. Go spend some real money on a power supply, if you value your system.
neon_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 4:45 PM   #155
t8y
Member
 
t8y's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SA, 5108
Posts: 3,887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neon_87 View Post
SHAW? Seriously man. That thing is lucky to supply 400w before it blows. Go spend some real money on a power supply, if you value your system.
+1.
the 2x12v rails is, at least, nicer than most of the no name brands (they sometimes have the load spread over many more = voltage sag galore), but the pissy 32amps (combined).. just no.

its probably fine for the PC youve built there, but dont expect to add much (if any) more hardware to it, or to use it in the next PC you build.

do some more research next time..
__________________
Australia OC HWBOT Team
| hwbot | steam | battlefield |
t8y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2009, 7:02 PM   #156
angel Havoc
Member
 
angel Havoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Penrith 2750
Posts: 1,531
Default

i was given it when i upgraded my graphics card, i didnt pick it. with only 1 hdd drive and 1 optical drive, wouldnt i logically get a modular psu so i dont have 5million spare cables hanging around my case??
__________________
[Logitech 'G' Owners Club Member #179] || OCAU MetaL Club Member #219 || OCAU Emergency Service's club member #343
Quote:
23:50 - nem: if anyone wants to shag on my grave i'd say go for it
23:51 - nem: nearest i'll get to action
angel Havoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 1:13 AM   #157
elstado Thread Starter
Member
 
elstado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth (SOR), W.A.
Posts: 1,389
Default

SHAW PSUs are bad, BAD!
elstado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 11:45 AM   #158
Spiffy!
Member
 
Spiffy!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elstado View Post
SHAW PSUs are bad, BAD!
Yes, destroy it NOW.
__________________
| Q9550 @ 3.6 | 2x2GB DDR2 1066 Corsair Dominator | Sapphire 4870x2 | DFI LT-X48-T2R | 2x640gb WD | 1x1.5tb Seagate |
Spiffy! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 9:37 PM   #159
Marshy919
Member
 
Marshy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,567
Default

Show us your new sexy case Spiffy
__________________
| Intel i5 4570 | Asus Z87M-PLUS | Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB | Corsair RM750 | Corsair 760T | Gigabyte GTX760 | Samsung Evo Pro 128GB | WD 4TB Red | Corsair K70 | Corsair M95 |
Marshy919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 11:00 PM   #160
Commissioner_G
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Here's my rig. First ever attempt at cable management today. I know I've gotta lose the IDE drives, or at least get a longer cable :P Also gotta get the front panel audio cable under the mobo. Will probably do that tomorrow.

Commissioner_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 11:18 PM   #161
Marshy919
Member
 
Marshy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,567
Default

Do the cords behind your motherboard make the case hard to shut?

With my P182 and my ZM-750Hp power supply, the back side of the case does not actually shut
Thinking about buying the HX620
__________________
| Intel i5 4570 | Asus Z87M-PLUS | Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB | Corsair RM750 | Corsair 760T | Gigabyte GTX760 | Samsung Evo Pro 128GB | WD 4TB Red | Corsair K70 | Corsair M95 |
Marshy919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2009, 11:56 PM   #162
192.168.0.1
Member
 
192.168.0.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 1,403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neon_87 View Post
SHAW? Seriously man. That thing is lucky to supply 400w before it blows. Go spend some real money on a power supply, if you value your system.
+1 please i dont care if your friends friend friend has 90 of them running in there data center and they are going fine. These power supplies are rated for 400w at like 17-20 degrees and do not have any of the standard and advanced protection steps that better power supplies do. Save your the hassle and the troubleshooting and just get a good unit. Your power bill will also improve
__________________
"Very funny, Scotty. Now beam down my clothes."
192.168.0.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 12:22 AM   #163
m0tyrider
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshy919 View Post
Do the cords behind your motherboard make the case hard to shut?

With my P182 and my ZM-750Hp power supply, the back side of the case does not actually shut
Thinking about buying the HX620
For me in my antec 1200. Yep.
Though when i had a Thermaltake Armour+, it did not...more room.

just be SUPER neat with it and it will shut fine though.
__________________
Currently Using:
m0tyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 1:26 AM   #164
Commissioner_G
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshy919 View Post
Do the cords behind your motherboard make the case hard to shut?
I thought it would but if you make sure all the cables run behind the mobo bit side by side and not overlapping at all it should work. You should still be neat with it even though you can't see it
Commissioner_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2009, 12:04 PM   #165
Marshy919
Member
 
Marshy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,567
Default

I wish case manufacturers could add an extra .5cm - 1cm extra room behind there
Would make everything so much easier
__________________
| Intel i5 4570 | Asus Z87M-PLUS | Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB | Corsair RM750 | Corsair 760T | Gigabyte GTX760 | Samsung Evo Pro 128GB | WD 4TB Red | Corsair K70 | Corsair M95 |
Marshy919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cable, case, management, neat

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!