Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Extreme and Water Cooling

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1st August 2009, 1:25 PM   #1
gigs Thread Starter
Member
 
gigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tassie
Posts: 1,475
Default Concrete Slab water cooler loop - Hooked up!!!

Well the slab gets poured on Wednesday so I thought I would sink 6 meters of copper pipe in the slab so that I can run my water loop through it when the house is finished. I hope to have water year round at about 16deg. No need for radiators or fans with chilled water coming straight out of the slab Hope there isnt any condensation issues but I dont think the water will be cold enough....

Any ideas on how I can measure the heat in watts that this can obsorb over a period of 3hrs? some pics:


Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!


----------------------------

Results are in:

here are the results for today:
  • test start time 9am
  • Water temp at start 10 deg (after 10min of running the pump with no heat load).
  • Water volume in the revserve 2litres, water volume in the loop .5 to 1 litre. Total volume 2.5 to 3 litres.
  • Heat load 150 watt fish tank heater. This will simulate very closely the heat load I will be putting on the system as i7 creates about 130 watts of heat.

The test system is still running but I don't think it will change from 17 deg that it has been running for the last 4 hours+


Click to view full size!



So what does this test tell me / what can I expect?


Firstly, Tasmanian agricultural areas (soil) have a mean annual temperature of 11-13 deg C. So I can expect the concrete foundation to sit at about 14-16 deg year round. When the house is built adding a few deg for ambient heat in the house. I have shown that this system will hold 150 watt load at about +7 deg above concrete temperature.

So I can expect water for my PC cooling loop to be about 21-23 deg C year round. I was hoping for a bit lower in the range of 16 deg and I'm sure this would be possible with a longer loop.

My current water loop (standard setup with 120.3 radiator and CPU block) sits at about 10 deg above ambient air temp giving me 29-31 deg C coolant temp.

After all those variables are taken into account. I can expect to have chilled water 8-10 deg C below my current water loop which should give me quite a lot more head room for overclocking and best of all NO NOISY FANS blasting air through a heat exchanger.

A big thanks to the people that posted constructive comments and offered help with this project


Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!



Click to view full size!
__________________
| Xeon W3580-ES @ 3.8Ghz 24/7 HT on | Kayl Frozen SS | EVGA Classified 760 | 6gb Corsair Dominator GT 2000 C8 | 2 X EVGA Hydro GTX 580 @ 950/2200 | Corsair HX-1000 | RevoDrive X2 240Gb | 30" Dell 3008WFP | 32821 3DMark06 |
Concrete Cooling <--- Most users ever online was 2,076, 27th August 2009 at 5:20 AM Trades: Too many to list. PM me for details

Last edited by gigs; 11th March 2011 at 2:11 PM. Reason: update with results
gigs is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 1st August 2009, 1:44 PM   #2
JTF
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane 4118
Posts: 561
Default

No idea on measuring, but it should work well...
Love the "forward thinking" though...
__________________
Evga SR-2, 2 x 5620 @ 3.8, 2 x GTX480, all H20 cooled.
JTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:03 PM   #3
millsy_c
Member
 
millsy_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: BNE
Posts: 8,167
Default

That's extreme! Can't wait to see the results!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post
You are talking like an expert beginner. Talk less and listen more.
System: i5 3570k @4ghz, 16gb ddr3, dual 670's, r4 define, triple U2312HM on proluma mount blah blah blah
millsy_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:21 PM   #4
Concept CBF
Member
 
Concept CBF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Behind you
Posts: 2,244
Default

How much water will be in the loop in total?
I assume you are also putting a tank of some sort down there as well?
__________________
i7920@4.2GHZ--6GB Kingston Hyperx-- Asus P6T-- Gigabyte 5850 + GTX260 Physx -- 3.5TBHDD-- Tj07 Watercooled
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellows2k View Post
never trade in unless they like getting raped. if thats their thing of course
Concept CBF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:22 PM   #5
MadMonkOfFunk
Member
 
MadMonkOfFunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 232
Default

Great idea, but your going to need a good pump to keep a steady flow. Can't wait to see what temps you get though.
__________________
PC: i7 920 | P6T | 6GB | 4TB | GTX285 | HX-620 | TJ07 | HK 3.0 | EK-285 | MCP355 | RX360 | EK-Multi 250 | Z-5500
CAMERA: Canon 550D | 18-55mm IS | 70-200mm F4L | 430EX II | 055XPROB + 322RC2 | RS-7 | flickr - only just started
MadMonkOfFunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:29 PM   #6
gigs Thread Starter
Member
 
gigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tassie
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTF View Post
No idea on measuring, but it should work well...
Love the "forward thinking" though...
Thanks JTF

Quote:
Originally Posted by millsy_c View Post
That's extreme! Can't wait to see the results!
Yer Millsy me too. TF2 will run sweet as lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Concept CBF View Post
How much water will be in the loop in total?
I assume you are also putting a tank of some sort down there as well?
I have to measure it but I think about 3 litres. Im gonna have a reserve above ground probably on the floor next to the pump.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMonkOfFunk View Post
Great idea, but your going to need a good pump to keep a steady flow. Can't wait to see what temps you get though.
I was thinking a decent aquarium / pond pump like an ehim 1260 or similar should be up to. The head will only be about 1200mm so its not a big task for a decent pump. Just have to find a nice quiet one
__________________
| Xeon W3580-ES @ 3.8Ghz 24/7 HT on | Kayl Frozen SS | EVGA Classified 760 | 6gb Corsair Dominator GT 2000 C8 | 2 X EVGA Hydro GTX 580 @ 950/2200 | Corsair HX-1000 | RevoDrive X2 240Gb | 30" Dell 3008WFP | 32821 3DMark06 |
Concrete Cooling <--- Most users ever online was 2,076, 27th August 2009 at 5:20 AM Trades: Too many to list. PM me for details
gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:42 PM   #7
gigs Thread Starter
Member
 
gigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tassie
Posts: 1,475
Default

These pumps seem like the go. About $150 - $200, 3m head, low wattage (30watts), adjustable water output and silent.

http://www.eheim.com/base/eheim/inha...ail_28394_ehen
__________________
| Xeon W3580-ES @ 3.8Ghz 24/7 HT on | Kayl Frozen SS | EVGA Classified 760 | 6gb Corsair Dominator GT 2000 C8 | 2 X EVGA Hydro GTX 580 @ 950/2200 | Corsair HX-1000 | RevoDrive X2 240Gb | 30" Dell 3008WFP | 32821 3DMark06 |
Concrete Cooling <--- Most users ever online was 2,076, 27th August 2009 at 5:20 AM Trades: Too many to list. PM me for details
gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 3:58 PM   #8
JTF
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane 4118
Posts: 561
Default

Reliable pumps,
Are you going to use it just to circulate the loop and tank, or the whole system ?
__________________
Evga SR-2, 2 x 5620 @ 3.8, 2 x GTX480, all H20 cooled.
JTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 4:14 PM   #9
th3_hawk
Member
 
th3_hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: [SYD] Campbelltown
Posts: 1,058
Default

You know I have always considered that as an option in a new house, just never quite got there.

What I have also thought about it running some copper pipe through the wooden floors and under the house to put the radiator, fan and pump under the floor where it's much cooler than inside AND where it just doesn't matter how much noise it makes (within reason).
__________________
"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake."

Got a VW? VWWatercooled
Currently for Sale: Nothing Much
th3_hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 4:16 PM   #10
n3wbi379
Member
 
n3wbi379's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melb
Posts: 4,527
Default

Nice 1 but will this effect the slab in any way and the warranty on ur new home?
Might wanna check that out .... Other wise niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
__________________
One Awsome Day Out - CLICK
n3wbi379 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 4:36 PM   #11
gigs Thread Starter
Member
 
gigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tassie
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTF View Post
Reliable pumps,
Are you going to use it just to circulate the loop and tank, or the whole system ?
Was gonna circulate the whole system with the one pump. The less pumps in the system the less heat they can xfer into the loop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by th3_hawk View Post
You know I have always considered that as an option in a new house, just never quite got there.

What I have also thought about it running some copper pipe through the wooden floors and under the house to put the radiator, fan and pump under the floor where it's much cooler than inside AND where it just doesn't matter how much noise it makes (within reason).
Oh well maybe next time you build

Quote:
Originally Posted by n3wbi379 View Post
Nice 1 but will this effect the slab in any way and the warranty on ur new home?
Might wanna check that out .... Other wise niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
I think running copper in a slab is nothing too unusual. I'm doing the house as owner builder so warranty is not a problem The tradies are like WTF though and Im going to separate the copper so that it is not touching the steel reinforcing bar.
__________________
| Xeon W3580-ES @ 3.8Ghz 24/7 HT on | Kayl Frozen SS | EVGA Classified 760 | 6gb Corsair Dominator GT 2000 C8 | 2 X EVGA Hydro GTX 580 @ 950/2200 | Corsair HX-1000 | RevoDrive X2 240Gb | 30" Dell 3008WFP | 32821 3DMark06 |
Concrete Cooling <--- Most users ever online was 2,076, 27th August 2009 at 5:20 AM Trades: Too many to list. PM me for details
gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 4:46 PM   #12
JTF
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brisbane 4118
Posts: 561
Default

Depends what, and how many, waterblocks you're going to use, flow through the blocks makes a reasonable difference, you could always use the smaller of the 3 pumps you listed inside a reservoir, then run a little Mcp355 for the Pc loop...
Then you can have the 240v pump running all the time (saves having to remember to switch it on)..
__________________
Evga SR-2, 2 x 5620 @ 3.8, 2 x GTX480, all H20 cooled.
JTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 5:02 PM   #13
Smoke87
Member
 
Smoke87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,276
Default

Make sure council and the completion certificate guy don't see it or you will be ripping that slab up and re pouring the entire section. Because what you've done right there while ingenious is illegal in the eyes of the scum.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surtr View Post
What the hell is bf3?
Futuremark is my favourite games developer.
Smoke87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 5:06 PM   #14
dazzawul
Member
 
dazzawul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the sutho shire (w00t)
Posts: 1,447
Default

Who turns it off? :P

But yeah, I'd be interested in how you build this loop, personally I would probably set up some sort of tank being circulated through the loop in the slab, and a secondary loop feeding out of the tank.
Though then I might get lazy and just plumb the loop straight into the computer :P

Do tell!
__________________
i7 980x @ 4.0 ghz | EK Supreme | Gigabyte GA-X58-UD7 | 12G Gskill Ripjaws @ 1600 | WC GTX 480 800/1600/1860 | 8 TB raid 0 | Audigy eX platinum | Corsair AX850
dazzawul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2009, 5:28 PM   #15
Orphan
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,828
Default

Interesting idea to use it for cooling your PC, make sure the sides of your slap are shielded from the sun and you can expect slap temps of as low as 12 degrees most days and often cooler depending on your climate, due to the volume it should be quite effective at drawing the heat out of the water you pump through it though I would consider running a few more loops. A better option than copper is to use PEX piping which is used in radiant floor heating set ups, it won't corrode or crack/rupture as the slap expands and contracts and you can loop it around much easier than copper but it doesn't have the thermal transfer of copper so that would be a downside. Only downside is your limited to setting your PC up there and what do you do if you ever want to move it or take it over to someones for a lan? Do you have a standard radiator somewhere?
Orphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!