Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Video Cards & Monitors

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th August 2010, 1:55 PM   #751
BADBOYBUBBY
Member
 
BADBOYBUBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony256 View Post
You'll love them.

I think they're the best valued monitors - yes IPS is better, but more expensive and there's no 120hz, or nothing on the horizon (based on IPS being better panels for IQ, not speed - I don't think we'll see them for a while).

As you can do triple monitor 120hz 2d gaming - that's where it's at!
Best go drag my triple monitor stand out of the shed ,glad I didnt give that away
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 920 Rampage 2 extreme Corsair TR3X6G1866C9Dx2 120G Revodrive CM STACKER 830
EVGA 480 FTW Hydrocopper x2 SLI
Antec Quatro 1400w
Asus Xonar D1
BADBOYBUBBY is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 19th August 2010, 2:28 PM   #752
Kickdruminertia
Member
 
Kickdruminertia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside my Brain
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony256 View Post
You'll love them.

I think they're the best valued monitors - yes IPS is better, but more expensive and there's no 120hz, or nothing on the horizon (based on IPS being better panels for IQ, not speed - I don't think we'll see them for a while).

As you can do triple monitor 120hz 2d gaming - that's where it's at!
My samsung is still being processed for RMA, do you think if i can negotiate with them for a refund I'm better off buying 2 more dell alienwares instead of samsung panels? the difference is going to be 120+ $ per panel for the left and right of my existing Dell which i was going to put a samsung on either side of, the extra size just seems to = less fps, and the detail doesnt seem that important on what are essentially peripheral screens (with large bezels either way)
__________________
^Talent NOT Technology Tracks NOT Tunes Rockers NOT Posers ^

Kickdruminertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 2:36 PM   #753
BADBOYBUBBY
Member
 
BADBOYBUBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickdruminertia View Post
My samsung is still being processed for RMA, do you think if i can negotiate with them for a refund I'm better off buying 2 more dell alienwares instead of samsung panels? the difference is going to be 120+ $ per panel for the left and right of my existing Dell which i was going to put a samsung on either side of, the extra size just seems to = less fps, and the detail doesnt seem that important on what are essentially peripheral screens (with large bezels either way)
Yeah I think so ..good luck though

Did you say it was DOA ?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 920 Rampage 2 extreme Corsair TR3X6G1866C9Dx2 120G Revodrive CM STACKER 830
EVGA 480 FTW Hydrocopper x2 SLI
Antec Quatro 1400w
Asus Xonar D1
BADBOYBUBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 2:53 PM   #754
Kickdruminertia
Member
 
Kickdruminertia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Inside my Brain
Posts: 198
Default

'Tis, havent heard back from the Scorptec DOA manager for more than a week now though, I assume they have it by now but i really ought to email him to find out more. Wouldn't the 22" panels be advantageous as left/right for maintainting as close to 120fps constant as possible in eyefinity, 3d or not? the extra pixels seem like dead weight to me, notwithstanding the obvious superiority of the Dell panels over the Samsungs (and subsequent increased cost). FWIW I'm running 2x 5870, may upgrade my CPU relatively soon, and if theres a good way to utilise VMware or tricky distributed computing things, maybe I can put GPU processing in a server I'm in the process of buying here (dual 3.6 xeons for 250 bucks including postage, I have NFI why they didn't get taken sooner?) to take some of the load for eyefinity or other things, maybe gigabit lan is too slow delay wise? I really have no idea what's possible and what should/shouldn't be in the near future.
__________________
^Talent NOT Technology Tracks NOT Tunes Rockers NOT Posers ^

Kickdruminertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 10:01 AM   #755
BADBOYBUBBY
Member
 
BADBOYBUBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 941
Default

Got my monitors but my brackets wont take 3 23" monitors they over lap by about 3 inch's

Im looking at one of these

http://www.proluma.com.au/index.php?...products_id=98
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 920 Rampage 2 extreme Corsair TR3X6G1866C9Dx2 120G Revodrive CM STACKER 830
EVGA 480 FTW Hydrocopper x2 SLI
Antec Quatro 1400w
Asus Xonar D1

Last edited by DiGiTaL MoNkEY; 24th August 2010 at 3:40 PM. Reason: Posts merged
BADBOYBUBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 3:22 PM   #756
kifsteve
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 66
Default

alienware aw2310 went from $500 to $450 so its now $380 after the 15% coupon.
kifsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 5:13 PM   #757
VelFog
Member
 
VelFog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 862
Default

dumb question but how are these 15% coupons obtained?
__________________
i7 2600K | 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | 2x MSI GTX570 | P67 Sabertooth | Lian Li PC-P50WB | Silverstone 1200w | OCZ Agility 3 120GB
VelFog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 5:42 PM   #758
kifsteve
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 66
Default

4MZR3KTJJRT0VS
kifsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 10:04 PM   #759
VelFog
Member
 
VelFog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 862
Default

Thanks very much kifsteve
__________________
i7 2600K | 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | 2x MSI GTX570 | P67 Sabertooth | Lian Li PC-P50WB | Silverstone 1200w | OCZ Agility 3 120GB
VelFog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 9:25 AM   #760
BADBOYBUBBY
Member
 
BADBOYBUBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 941
Default

To late for me but how long is that valid for ?
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
I7 920 Rampage 2 extreme Corsair TR3X6G1866C9Dx2 120G Revodrive CM STACKER 830
EVGA 480 FTW Hydrocopper x2 SLI
Antec Quatro 1400w
Asus Xonar D1
BADBOYBUBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 7:55 PM   #761
sx014
Member
 
sx014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 135
Default Ati propblems with alienware aw2310

It seems i have a problem with the drivers maybe with ati as i cant select more than 60hz im running catalyst 10.5 and the lcd is is 1920 x 1080 i hate this border. But the fill screen is not quite clear. Anyone has similar problems and know how to fix this.
__________________
i7 980x @ 4.5ghz with swiftech apogee XT| Gigabyte X58A UD7 | Tri SLI EVGA 680gtx SC Signature w/ EK CSQ | Dominator GT 24gb| Corsair 800D| Strider 1500w| 2 x BenQ XL2420TE | 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 256gb SSD Raid 0| 2 x 1tb seagate HDD| NZXT Sentry LX| Razer Black Widow Ultimate and R.A.T 9 mouse| Win 7 64bit | Creative X-FI Fatality Titanium
sx014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 7:58 PM   #762
TOX
Member
 
TOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Xindian City, Taipei
Posts: 14,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sx014 View Post
It seems i have a problem with the drivers maybe with ati as i cant select more than 60hz im running catalyst 10.5 and the lcd is is 1920 x 1080 i hate this border. But the fill screen is not quite clear. Anyone has similar problems and know how to fix this.
Anthony will be able to help you, think you need to reg hack
TOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 8:30 PM   #763
anthony256
Member
 
anthony256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 10,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX View Post
Anthony will be able to help you, think you need to reg hack
That I do.

Anyone with the Alienware screens + ATI = send me a holla for 120hz goodness.

ATI don't support it natively yet.

anthony256 AT gmail.com and I'll reply with the driver
__________________
TOX enables me ^_^
anthony256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 9:06 PM   #764
sx014
Member
 
sx014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 135
Default

Sik that worked thanks mate..
__________________
i7 980x @ 4.5ghz with swiftech apogee XT| Gigabyte X58A UD7 | Tri SLI EVGA 680gtx SC Signature w/ EK CSQ | Dominator GT 24gb| Corsair 800D| Strider 1500w| 2 x BenQ XL2420TE | 2 x Samsung 840 Pro 256gb SSD Raid 0| 2 x 1tb seagate HDD| NZXT Sentry LX| Razer Black Widow Ultimate and R.A.T 9 mouse| Win 7 64bit | Creative X-FI Fatality Titanium
sx014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 9:13 PM   #765
anthony256
Member
 
anthony256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 10,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sx014 View Post
Sik that worked thanks mate..
Awesome
__________________
TOX enables me ^_^
anthony256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
120hz, acer, monitors, samsung, viewsonic

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 9:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!