Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th November 2009, 10:42 AM   #1
Team.AU Thread Starter
Member
 
Team.AU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 251
Default Antec 1200OC @ 1600+ watt (4x GPU)

alright so i dont normally do psu testing or review and i dont have the equipment to do jonnyguru style testing but i can certainly test the unit works to pro specifications...

1. build two systems
2. power one system with antec 1200oc and the other independently
3. plug in four dual pcb gpus (2 GTX295, 1 MARS 295, 1 9800GX2)
4. load that ish up and check the power usage

the unit, antec 1200 oc


specifications


turbocache connectors (capacitor closer to power usage for powerspike)


fortified 24pin connector




the setup, p55 and x58 rigs






ALL GPUS powered by the antec 1200OC




LOADED UP, with ALL gpus loaded, and prime95 on the CPU


Powermetre shows the peak wattage to hit 1621, not bad for a 1200w psu


Air temperature is only 38 degrees with very low noise level


I think this PSU is strong enough to power any system I might want to run, next testing will come with CPU and 4x 5870 on LN2 and high voltage.
Team.AU is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 24th November 2009, 10:45 AM   #2
mshagg
Politburo
 
mshagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 21,363
Default

My goodness that's a lot of power lol. Would be a few hundred dollars a month if one were crazy enough to have that as their everyday rig??

Nice PSUs tho by the looks of it.
mshagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 10:45 AM   #3
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,182
Default

that power socket and atx load would annoy me so much.
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 10:51 AM   #4
Sobbsy
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sunshine Coast, QLD
Posts: 1,618
Default

Crikey, that's beautiful.

4 x 5870? Naw, go for 4 x 5970's

__________________
Successfull trades with; jamluic | FB008 | boostisbest | screwball | samwise123 | android
Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz | Sapphire HD6870 1gb Crossfire | 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC PC6400 | Gigabyte X38-DQ6 F8b | Antec Quattro 850w PSU | X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Creative P5800 5.1
Sobbsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 10:53 AM   #5
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,182
Default

the problem is, 5870's are power efficient, i can make my gtx280 draw mroe than a hd4870x2 without too much problems
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 11:11 AM   #6
n3wbi379
Member
 
n3wbi379's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melb
Posts: 4,536
Default

thats some serious power ....
LOL @ 1600W power peak ....
__________________
One Awsome Day Out - CLICK
n3wbi379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 11:22 AM   #7
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,260
Default

Impressive effort there.
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 11:59 AM   #8
dcl
Member
 
dcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: melbourne
Posts: 4,258
Default

Awesome.

Why do you use DVI-VGA adaptors? I'm sure those monitors have DVI input?
dcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 12:01 PM   #9
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcl View Post
Awesome.

Why do you use DVI-VGA adaptors? I'm sure those monitors have DVI input?
probably something to do with resolution/refresh rate
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 1:56 PM   #10
EvilGenius
Member
 
EvilGenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _Rocky Status:_Folding!
Posts: 7,331
Default

Nothing to do with the psu testing.. but I'm curious why you have the fans on the gpu's blowing into the gpu, not sucking air out from the gpu.. Seems like it should be the other way around? Air sucks in at the front of the card and blows out at the back, I know that's how all my folding cards are set up. Blowing air into them like that at the back of the card would hinder cooling?
__________________
i7-4820k @ stock | X79-Deluxe | 64GB GsKill Ares PC-14900 | NVS510 | Corsair HX-850 | CM690II
Once more unto the breach dear friends, once more
Cry fold for Team24, OCAU and all the world!
WTT - Quadro K2000m for Quadro 2000m
EvilGenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 5:33 PM   #11
terrastrife
Member
 
terrastrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ADL/SA The Monopoly State
Posts: 17,182
Default

look slike its positioned to supply air to the 'squashed' intake fan .
terrastrife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 8:01 PM   #12
Team.AU Thread Starter
Member
 
Team.AU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcl View Post
Awesome.

Why do you use DVI-VGA adaptors? I'm sure those monitors have DVI input?
no idea sorry

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilGenius View Post
Nothing to do with the psu testing.. but I'm curious why you have the fans on the gpu's blowing into the gpu, not sucking air out from the gpu.. Seems like it should be the other way around? Air sucks in at the front of the card and blows out at the back, I know that's how all my folding cards are set up. Blowing air into them like that at the back of the card would hinder cooling?
i put the fan on the bit that was hot, thats my cooling theory, cool the hot bits!
Team.AU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 8:03 PM   #13
n3wbi379
Member
 
n3wbi379's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melb
Posts: 4,536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team.AU View Post
no idea sorry
LOL ..... oh yes u do
__________________
One Awsome Day Out - CLICK
n3wbi379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 8:12 PM   #14
Bold Eagle
Member
 
Bold Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team.AU View Post
i put the fan on the bit that was hot, thats my cooling theory, cool the hot bits!
Makes perfect sense
__________________
PC3: Cardboard Box, peanut dispenser, highly conc caffine intravenous drip, little monkey w "electro El Shocko rectal probe", 3DMarkVantage=276818768
Bold Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2009, 9:37 PM   #15
EvilGenius
Member
 
EvilGenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: _Rocky Status:_Folding!
Posts: 7,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team.AU View Post
i put the fan on the bit that was hot, thats my cooling theory, cool the hot bits!
That's fair enough, it's just that the way you've positioned that fan, it's trying to force air into where the fan in the card is trying to blow it out of. You'd get better results if you flipped the fan over.

If you want to get really carried away you can put a 80-90mm fan down the intake end blowing downwards and the 120 at the other sucking the hot air out. Just have to be careful the air doesn't end up looping around, ie sucking the hot air out and blowing it straight back into the gfx card intake.
__________________
i7-4820k @ stock | X79-Deluxe | 64GB GsKill Ares PC-14900 | NVS510 | Corsair HX-850 | CM690II
Once more unto the breach dear friends, once more
Cry fold for Team24, OCAU and all the world!
WTT - Quadro K2000m for Quadro 2000m
EvilGenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200oc, antec

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!