![]() |
![]() OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors |
|
|||||||
| Notices |
|
Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away! Search our forums with Google: |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,051
|
I got this email just then..I have no idea what its about or why I got it.. Can someone shed some light on this for me?
Quote:
Has the filtering and intrusion to our privacy already started? How the hell does this AISI know we are infected? They must be monitoring us already. I got an infection last week but I dont understand the threats to cancel my account. I understand the letter is to help me out but I dont like it that a government body knows this information about my PC.. Last edited by KANNIS; 16th July 2010 at 7:57 AM. |
|
|
|
|
| Join OCAU to remove this ad! |
|
|
#2 |
|
(Banned or Deleted)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 7,851
|
Sounds like either a hoax, or its TPG filtering your net.
The actual filter isnt going atm, or i wouldn't be able to access 4chan. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ye Olde Melbourne Town
Posts: 3,254
|
Its not that they are monitoring your PC. But a provider somewhere has a traffic log of suspicious traffic coming from your PC.
As an analogy if you get if you go around ringing people a lot with a recorded message selling stuff, expect your telecoms company to come knocking. Essentially your computer was infected and started sending malicious traffic out. This was detected and reported and info sent back to your ISP who then passed it onto you. http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD..PC/pc=PC_310317 |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney 2176
Posts: 2,175
|
Yep, you're the one who's propogating it, basically one of your computers is broadcasting malicious crap and someone somwhere has picked up on it and is letting you know.
__________________
Core i7 930 | Asus P6T | 3x2GB Patroit G Series DDR3 1600 | 2GB ATi 6970 | 3x320GB RAID0 | Antec TP 750W | Antec P160W
Over 180 Sales/Trades/Buys totalling over $22,000 ntrancedphotography.com.au |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,036
|
http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD/pc=PC_310317
Basically they have somehow noticed that your machine/IP is connecting to other IP's (one of which was theirs) trying to do something malicious to it. Do as it says, get antivirus, get updated, and get your machine fixed. Don't ignore it. Get external help (or ask here) if you don't feel comfortable doing so yourself. First a simple trojan, next, your bank account details...
__________________
OCAU OFFICIAL CHAIR RAVER'S SOCIETY MEMBER #1 - Auroythmix**: GIRLS = MATH EQUATIONS, SO IF I SOLVE FOR X I GET THE SEX! - TheTron: If I sit and enjoy these pancakes. He'll buy me the new Justin Beaver album |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mitcham, Melbourne
Posts: 413
|
Quote:
As far as how do they know about it - your machine is/was spamming the world. You can't really complain your privacy is being breached when you're the one broadcasting. Last edited by leighr; 16th July 2010 at 9:21 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 3095
Posts: 1,658
|
I experienced something like this after connecting a friend's computer to my network overnight a few years back. I was going to do a bit of work for them and inadverdantly left it running all night. Turns out it had some malware or a virus of some kind running on it as I had a similar email from iiNet in my inbox the next morning.
I checked my router's logs and what do you know, that little computer had been spam-botting while I slept! A good reminder to not connect unfamiliar computers to your network until you've checked them. Might be something similar in your situation... or your own PC, if you don't run an antivirus program, as others have said!
__________________
Need data recovery? OCAU sponsor Data Retriever can help! (Also, we want your old drive!) Main rig: i7-3770, P8Z77-V, 8GB DDR3 2133, ATi7970, 2TB WD FYYS, 2x 2TB HGST US, Win7x64 |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Galaxy near you!
Posts: 2,003
|
Time to FORMAT...
__________________
I find your lack of faith disturbing... |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,663
|
You have a Trojan, clean you stuff.
And to all the people who say this is a filter are just idiots. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rockhampton
Posts: 152
|
Theres scams in your portal!
__________________
PC: Q6600, 4gb, 4.5tb, ATI HD5850, X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion Series, G15, G9, VW266H Photography Gear: EOS 40D, EF 70-200 2.8L, EF 50mm 1.8, EF-S 10-22mm, EF 24-105 F4L Gallery |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,051
|
Thanks for the good replies gents. Much appreciated, looks like it was nothing....
I think a format is in the pipeworks this weekend. The PC has been slowing down a lot and I do need a new HDD.... |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Oztraya
Posts: 1,502
|
A virus isn't "nothing"...
It *could* be and probably is, but then every single file on your computer could be uploaded on some Russian site by now, or someone *could* have already run up a grand on your credit card. That's why you don't dick around. TPG wouldn't ban you immediately, I would think they'd just put a block on your connection until you've sorted it out. This kind of thing happens, our website was shut down for about a day because our hoster had a spambot on one of its servers, but that wasn't ACMA, it was some US-based "spam police" that had cut off our hoster from the rest of the internet.
__________________
Clevo Horize P150HM i7-2760M | 16Gb | GTX580M 2Gb | 1080p Matte 95% Gamut LEDLCD | Intel 320 160Gb | ODDBay: 750Gb Scorpio Black Asus G51J-A1 ROADKILLED and now the "Terminator HTPC"... Un-retired: Dell Vostro 1500 | Retired: Dell Latitude D620 | Successful trades: 13/13, value >$1600 |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ACT 2607
Posts: 4,162
|
Quote:
Just be wary, Many ISP's have a policy of three strikes you're offline with these things, so please do what they tell you. It's classed as abusing a service with most of them, so just do the virus scan, clear it all off and let them know you've done so.
__________________
Blogrant! | 30+Trades | Steam: reijin.au | PC: i7920 /7970 / Xonar D2X / P183 Audio: Fostex HP-A7 W3000ANV | Perreaux 6200B + Mission 796SE |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 8,051
|
Quote:
I cleaned the system out and it did find some interesting stuff...I love removing this shit and watching my system get back to normal heheheh... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,663
|
Quote:
zero writing is the only way to fly! |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away! |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|