Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th August 2010, 6:56 PM   #1
DiGiTaL MoNkEY Thread Starter
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,784
Lightbulb EVGA introduces the Classified SR-2 1200W Power Supply



Quote:
EVGA, in its pursuit to deliver only the best quality and performance, is at it again with the EVGA Classified SR-2 Power Supply. Delivering 1200 watts of continuous power while maintaining an 80 Plus Silver certification is only the beginning. 6 +12v rails capable of delivering 38A, and fine-tuning knobs allow you to adjust the +12v rail and fanspeed to the optimal performance.

This power supply is designed around the record shattering EVGA Classified SR-2 motherboard, but is perfectly suited to meet and exceed the needs of any motherboard and graphics card combination!

Continuous Power means this PSU is rated in continuous power; the steady power a PSU can output continuously, rather than the amount delivered at its short-lived peak. Also, Advanced Hybrid Cable Management combines traditional and modular PSU designs, and achieves low wire-transmission loss as well as better cable management for improved airflow. PowerCache means this PSU has a high-performance capacitor that delivers an extra power reserve when needed. And Extreme Voltage and Fan Tuning offers the ability to fine tune your +12v voltage and power supply cooling fan to suite any condition, whether you are pushing to the limits or just running silent.
http://www.evga.com/articles/00564/

Full specs here: http://www.evga.com/products/moreinf...100-PS-1200-GR

Connectors:
1 x 24pin
2 x 8pin ATX
12 x 6+2pin PCI-E
3 x PCI-E 6pin
9 x SATA
6 x Molex
1 x Floppy

Performance:
1200W Continuous Power
+12v Rails: 6 x 38A
Energy Rating: 80 Plus Silver




Last edited by DiGiTaL MoNkEY; 11th August 2010 at 7:02 PM.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 11th August 2010, 6:58 PM   #2
Copie
Member
 
Copie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 8,884
Default

Heh rebadged Antec much?

I bet there is a 50 dollar price premium on it as well.
Copie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 7:00 PM   #3
DiGiTaL MoNkEY Thread Starter
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copie View Post
Heh rebadged Antec much?

I bet there is a 50 dollar price premium on it as well.
Yah, its rebadged Antec, but it has all the labels on it. Plus some tweak and extra connectors. They didn't hide it.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 7:08 PM   #4
Ryadasu
Member
 
Ryadasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiGiTaL MoNkEY View Post
Yah, its rebadged Antec, but it has all the labels on it. Plus some tweak and extra connectors. They didn't hide it.
Written on the label.. very subtle!
__________________
| AMD X4 B55 @ 3.4GHz via CM Hyper 212+ | Gigabyte GTX460 1GB @ 800MHz | Corsair 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 | ASRock 880GMH-LE/USB3 mATX | Samsung F3 1TB | Coolermaster Silent 600W Modular | NZXT Vulcan | Samsung BX2240 | Razer Blackwidow and Deathadder |
Ryadasu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 7:58 PM   #5
garry
Member
 
garry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Port Kennedy 6172 WA
Posts: 2,414
Default

Wouldn't the new corsair 1200 psu be better than this since it's gold rated.
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 7:58 PM   #6
Dan N
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 651
Default

I just wish they should introduce a SR-2 case.....cos I'm bloody waiting...got stuck with my SR-2 mobo and parts too...
Dan N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 8:01 PM   #7
DiGiTaL MoNkEY Thread Starter
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garry View Post
Wouldn't the new corsair 1200 psu be better than this since it's gold rated.
Pending on the price, yes. This EVGA unit has many more PCI-E power connectors compared to the Corsair. But it comes down to people's requirements.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2010, 7:07 PM   #8
Hive
Member
 
Hive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,848
Default

What snobs putting a 15A plug on it though.

There is no way in hell that thing needs a 15A.
__________________
Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration, that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively, there is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves. Heres Tom with the Weather
Hive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 12:09 AM   #9
Alba
Member
 
Alba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shellharbour
Posts: 4,755
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive View Post
What snobs putting a 15A plug on it though.

There is no way in hell that thing needs a 15A.
It's not a 15A, my old OP1000 has the same power plug but the end you stick in your power point is still a 10A plug with the regular earth pin as opposed to the larger earth on a 15A.

Siverstone OP1000



Quote:
12 x 6+2pin PCI-E
What the hell do we need 12 for?
Max we can use ATM is 8 and even if cards come out with 3 x 6/8pin per card, the PSU wont be able to cope, it already (Antec 1200OC) can't cope with 4 x GTX480's as it is and barely copes with 4 x HD5870's OCed plus a 980x OCed.
Each 8pin can supply 150w, so that's 1800w (if you could connect them all) just there with nothing else connected.

Unusable gimmick me thinks.

The fan is also noisy which may or may not be an issue, depends on what you use it for. For me it's benching so not an issue, but for a quietish powerful pc the enermax rev85+ 1250w or silverstone ST1500 is the better choice.

Another thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a switch to turn the damn thing off which you need quite often when benching, so pulling the lead out is the only way.
Antec say that it's something to do with the power delivery or some crap, IMO it's because they ran out of room to fit one in.

Other than that, it's a great PSU.

Last edited by Alba; 13th August 2010 at 12:17 AM.
Alba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 8:33 AM   #10
n3wbi379
Member
 
n3wbi379's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Melb
Posts: 4,536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alba View Post
Other than that, it's a great PSU.
Just woke up and that put a smile on my face

After the bashing u gave it, u finished with that great line.... LOL.
__________________
One Awsome Day Out - CLICK
n3wbi379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 8:46 AM   #11
DiGiTaL MoNkEY Thread Starter
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,784
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alba View Post
What the hell do we need 12 for?
Max we can use ATM is 8 and even if cards come out with 3 x 6/8pin per card, the PSU wont be able to cope, it already (Antec 1200OC) can't cope with 4 x GTX480's as it is and barely copes with 4 x HD5870's OCed plus a 980x OCed.
Each 8pin can supply 150w, so that's 1800w (if you could connect them all) just there with nothing else connected.

Unusable gimmick me thinks.
Well the existing EVGA GeForce GTX 285 Classified, used three pci-express power connectors. So imagine four of those in your system = 12 power connectors They made sure that if they release something like that in the future again, it will be supported without a doubt.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 8:58 AM   #12
h2oxide
Member
 
h2oxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,689
Default

Man its early in the morning here in Perth, and as I was reading the thread comments, for some reason I thought this thread was on the AX1200, and I shat bricks.. 2 seconds later realized it was the SR-2 Classy PSU thread, PHEW
__________________
Steam Diablo 3
h2oxide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 1:51 PM   #13
Hive
Member
 
Hive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alba View Post
It's not a 15A, my old OP1000 has the same power plug but the end you stick in your power point is still a 10A plug with the regular earth pin as opposed to the larger earth on a 15A.

Siverstone OP1000
image





What the hell do we need 12 for?
Max we can use ATM is 8 and even if cards come out with 3 x 6/8pin per card, the PSU wont be able to cope, it already (Antec 1200OC) can't cope with 4 x GTX480's as it is and barely copes with 4 x HD5870's OCed plus a 980x OCed.
Each 8pin can supply 150w, so that's 1800w (if you could connect them all) just there with nothing else connected.

Unusable gimmick me thinks.

The fan is also noisy which may or may not be an issue, depends on what you use it for. For me it's benching so not an issue, but for a quietish powerful pc the enermax rev85+ 1250w or silverstone ST1500 is the better choice.

Another thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a switch to turn the damn thing off which you need quite often when benching, so pulling the lead out is the only way.
Antec say that it's something to do with the power delivery or some crap, IMO it's because they ran out of room to fit one in.

Other than that, it's a great PSU.
That, my sir, is a 15A socket.
__________________
Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration, that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively, there is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves. Heres Tom with the Weather
Hive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 8:20 PM   #14
NSanity
Member
 
NSanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bathurst, NSW
Posts: 9,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive View Post
That, my sir, is a 15A socket.
Actually, its technically a 16A socket.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_con...C20_connectors
http://www.stayonline.com/reference-iec320.aspx
__________________
i'm in your noun, verbing your related noun.
NSanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2010, 6:18 AM   #15
Jarwedy
Member
 
Jarwedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rockhampton, QLD
Posts: 990
Default

You can get power cords that go from C19 socket to a 10A Australian plug, which is probably what people have.

Sexy looking PSU though .
__________________
Core i7 3770K | 16GB G.Skill RipJaws 1600mhz | ASUS P8Z77-V Pro | eVGA GTX 780 | Laing D5/CPU370/120.2 | CM ACTS 840 | Dell 2410 | OS OCZ Vertex 3 120GB | Storage RAID5 5.88TB
NAS: HP N546L | 16GB Kingston | 12TB (TOSHY 3TB) | IBM M5015 | FreeNAS 9
Jarwedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200w, classified, evga, psu, sr-2

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!