Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Electronics & Electrics

Notices

Search our forums with Google:

Old 2nd December 2010, 10:16 PM   #1
Frontl1ne Thread Starter

Default Lighting for Display Cabinet

Hey peeps,

I've got no experience with electronics so I've come here seeking advice!

The situation is: I've bought this display cabinet and built it up etc looks very awesome. But, it looks really dull because there's no lighting.

Now I'm thinking about hooking up some kind of lighting for the cabinet however I'm not sure how to go about this. I have one idea of using LED strips down the back of cabinet and since it's right in a corner, hopefully the light will reflect off the walls and give the cabinet a nice lighting.

What I'm not sure on though is how to power these things. In computers it's just a simple case of plugging the LED or cathodes to the PSU. But how do I power a lighting system without a computer? Do they use batteries or do they plug into outlet sockets?

Also looking for other options in terms of lighting... preferably something simple to set up

Thanks for any suggestions or advice!

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd December 2010, 10:37 PM   #2
Indiana08

Adhesive/Flexible LED Strip is probably a cheap yet effective manner in which to do this. You can find the stuff online, and is quite easy to install (Peel off the back) and usually has a small amount of cabling that goes to a little controller, or even straight to a plug pack transformer, which you can plug into your wall socket.
Old 2nd December 2010, 10:38 PM   #3
Indiana08

Oh, and there is a MASSIVE choice in colours, you can even get colour-changing ones. But IMO I think a cool white looks best.
Old 2nd December 2010, 10:56 PM   #4
Frontl1ne Thread Starter

Sounds good Indiana, I did a quick search on ebay and found this: