Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Mobile Phones & Devices

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12th February 2011, 10:34 AM   #1
foxmulder881 Thread Starter
Member
 
foxmulder881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
Posts: 5,884
Default What is "H" network?

I noticed something on my mobile phone the other weekend that I had never seen before. And I'm just really curious as to what it was/is.

To be specific for location, I was at Byron Bay. Normally here on the Gold Coast my phone says which network I'm connected to at any given time. Obviously the two being "3G" and "GSM". When I was in Byron, it displayed the network as "H".

What the heck is network "H"?
foxmulder881 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 12th February 2011, 10:42 AM   #2
Oppressa
Member
 
Oppressa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,301
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-Sp..._Packet_Access
__________________
Sydney On Sunday (café review site). 1971 Beetle Resto thread and progress gallery
Oppressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2011, 11:05 AM   #3
foxmulder881 Thread Starter
Member
 
foxmulder881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
Posts: 5,884
Default

So assuming your link is correct, it is actually better than 3G?

If so, how the hell does Byron Bay get this but not the Gold Coast?
foxmulder881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2011, 12:56 PM   #4
Oppressa
Member
 
Oppressa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,301
Default

Yes HSDPA is faster. In refrerence to Byron vs Gold Coast, depends on how many people are on the towers I guess?
__________________
Sydney On Sunday (café review site). 1971 Beetle Resto thread and progress gallery
Oppressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2011, 5:55 PM   #5
Khalil
Member
 
Khalil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 856
Default

Which network are you on ?

If you're on 3 it might be you are roaming on next g as there is no 3 coverage where you are.
Khalil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 10:10 AM   #6
foxmulder881 Thread Starter
Member
 
foxmulder881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
Posts: 5,884
Default

I'm with Virgin, which runs on Optus network.
foxmulder881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 12:10 PM   #7
aurionix
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: WA
Posts: 441
Default

Technically HSDPA/HSUPA *is* a 3G technology. So it's not "Faster than 3G", however it is faster with the "H" symbol than with the 3G one. Just sayin' ^_^
aurionix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 7:42 PM   #8
glimmerman
Member
 
glimmerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khalil View Post
Which network are you on ?

If you're on 3 it might be you are roaming on next g as there is no 3 coverage where you are.
well that's completely false seeing as the only people who can use next g are telstra customers.
__________________
Good traders: passivekid, Di$TRe$$, crunchie, lem0n, ray6027, closeto, yon2004, dreamaxx, Barnzz, clrobbo, DarkAvernus, 127.0.0.1, linkx, NavMan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge M4S View Post
Im going to go over there and suck some dick
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broden View Post
another quality post from glimmerman!
glimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 12:25 PM   #9
Albinus
Member
 
Albinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Greenmount QLD, Australia
Posts: 3,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aurionix View Post
Technically HSDPA/HSUPA *is* a 3G technology. So it's not "Faster than 3G", however it is faster with the "H" symbol than with the 3G one. Just sayin' ^_^
The base UMTS speed is a theoretical maximum of 2Mbps, HSDPA is anything up to 21Mbps depending on network, handset and operating limitations. Telstra seems to have the highest downlink and the greatest data speed of any network, that said in a rural town lucky enough to have Optus/Vodafone 900MHz UMTS coverage, you usually get the whole 10Mhz band to yourself and can get some awesome speeds
__________________
What came first... Insanity or Society?
Albinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 12:48 PM   #10
eskimo2452
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 320
Default

OMG I've been wondering about this myself - thanks for clearing that up.

FWIW I'm with Optus in Coffs and i only seem to get the 'H' or 'G' networks. Never had the '3G' icon...
eskimo2452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 6:31 PM   #11
Albinus
Member
 
Albinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Greenmount QLD, Australia
Posts: 3,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eskimo2452 View Post
OMG I've been wondering about this myself - thanks for clearing that up.

FWIW I'm with Optus in Coffs and i only seem to get the 'H' or 'G' networks. Never had the '3G' icon...
All 3G networks these days in Australia employ some form of HSDPA, plus Telstra and Vodafone employ EDGE as well (superset of GPRS, 2G network). For some strange reason Optus hasn't followed suit with employing EDGE on their 2G network.
__________________
What came first... Insanity or Society?
Albinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 10:25 AM   #12
nexx
Member
 
nexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 6,369
Default

This is the range of connections I get on my phone (in order of speed):

H = HSDPA (fastest)
3G = 3G
E = EDGE
G = GPRS (slowest)

Last edited by nexx; 15th February 2011 at 10:28 AM.
nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 2:14 PM   #13
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 7,487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glimmerman View Post
well that's completely false seeing as the only people who can use next g are telstra customers.
3 customers can roam on sections of the Telstra NextG network.

http://www.cnet.com.au/3-turns-on-te...-339295968.htm

Unfortunately it is very limited, only giving access to less than a third of the network.
__________________
Desktop: AMD FX-8350, ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, Sapphire Radeon HD7970, 16GB DDR3, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 3TB Seagate, Antec 750W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Cyrix 6x86L PR166+, Asus SP-97V, Voodoo1 4MB, 64MB RAM, 3GB Quantum
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 2:21 PM   #14
SaTaN
Member
 
SaTaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Caulfield-ish
Posts: 4,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuuBox View Post
3 customers can roam on sections of the Telstra NextG network.

http://www.cnet.com.au/3-turns-on-te...-339295968.htm

Unfortunately it is very limited, only giving access to less than a third of the network.
not since the voda/3 merge...
SaTaN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2011, 2:41 PM   #15
BuuBox
Member
 
BuuBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 7,487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SaTaN View Post
not since the voda/3 merge...
Telstra NextG roaming is still in operation for 3.
__________________
Desktop: AMD FX-8350, ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer, Sapphire Radeon HD7970, 16GB DDR3, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, 3TB Seagate, Antec 750W, Kogan 27"
Blast from the past: Cyrix 6x86L PR166+, Asus SP-97V, Voodoo1 4MB, 64MB RAM, 3GB Quantum
Trades: Too many to list. Hundreds.
BuuBox is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
network

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 1:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!