![]() |
![]() OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors |
|
|||||||
| Notices |
|
Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away! Search our forums with Google: |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 260
|
UPDATE: Seems everyone is getting this scam email, We have pretty much confirmed this has been caused via PayPal accounts.
Check your email used with PayPal to see if you received this email using your full name as stated in your PayPal account. If you wear a tin foil hat you might want to change your password. If you like to winge you can send an email to PayPal at https://www.paypal.com/au/cgi-bin/he...ontact-general (login required) --- I just received a bogus email from "Adobe Incorporated" about adobe acrobat reader having a new version. Now besides the email being put in the spam can and really doesn't concern me the scary thing is it was addressed using my real first and last name and sent to my personal email address. I don't use my real name anywhere online and just about anywhere possible in the real world. Be careful, damn marketing lists, NOT HAPPY! I'm pointing the finger at PayPal, its the only place that has my name and use this email address. there's no way to change your name there either. Code:
from: Adobe Incorporated <news@newman.cccampaigns.net> reply-to: Adobe Incorporated <news@adobe-new-downloads.com> to: (me at a personal email address) date: 28 February 2011 12:29 subject: Adobe Acrobat Reader latest version released ! Upgrade Available Now Dear [FIRST NAME] [LAST NAME], Adobe is pleased to announce that a new version of Acrobat PDF Reader was released today with new features, options and improvements. http://www.adobe-new-downloads.com What's new in this version : * Read, search, and share PDF files. * Convert to PDF. * Export and edit PDF files * Add rich media to PDF files * Combine files from multiple applications * Increase productivity and process consistency * Streamline document reviews * Collect data with fillable PDF forms * Protect PDF files and content * Comply with PDF and accessibility standards To get more and upgrade to this version, go to : http://www.adobe-new-downloads.com Start downloading the update right now and let us know what you think about it. We're working on making Adobe Acrobat Reader better all the time ! Talk soon, The people at Adobe Copyright © 2011 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved. ![]() ![]() UPDATE: Anonymous baste.bin text, beware these domains Code:
adobe-pdf-upgrades.com skype-instant-download.com skype-instant-update.com 2011-skype-center.com 2011-skype-center.net 2011-skype-center.org acrobat-reader-downloads.org adobe-acrobat-2011-upgrade.com adobe-acrobat-upgrades.org adobe-new-updates.com adobe-new-upgrades.com adobe-pdf-2011-upgrade.com adobe-reader-upgrades.info microsoft-licensing-center.com official-skype-updates.com skype-2011-downloads.com skype-2011-downloads.net skype-2011-downloads.org skype-instant-upgrade.com skype-instant-upgrades.com adobe-new-downloads.com - Also new 1st March 2011 http://www.official-adobe-software.org Other sites informing of this scam:
__________________
Mi Goreng Noodle Club Member #62 Logitech 2010 'G' Owners Club Member #4] ||Dr. Pepper Club Member|| Last edited by Badooleoo; 4th March 2011 at 8:21 PM. |
|
|
|
| Join OCAU to remove this ad! |
|
|
#2 |
|
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 154
|
Pretty sure you will find that email is actually a phishing email... i think the domain www.adobe-new-downloads.com is a bit of a give away
__________________
Recommended Sellers: Kippa-Dee , MiniDisc, Lichey, Demonic2005, Linton, mobester |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 260
|
Yes but somehow my real name has been acquired.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Cuteville, ^␣^
Posts: 3,897
|
They could have gotten it from anywhere you use your real name. It happens.
Just don't download Adobe Reader from that link <_<
__________________
| glasnt<3 | System 1: Abacus running Gravity 9.81 + Friction | System 2: E8200, GTX465 + Win7 | System 3: Aspire One + XP | System 4: Galaxy SII |✧・゚:*✧・゚:* \(◕‿◕✿)/ *:・゚✧*:・゚✧ | <3^(1/0) | |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 155
|
i got the same email today, except the link was to adobe-software-upgrades_dot_com
Dodgy as |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 260
|
I think you missed the bit I said about I don't use my real name anywhere.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,867
|
CONSPIRACY! been getting it for ages in my spam folder. link was a dead giveaway. Sad that you wouldn't have picked up on it being a scam if it weren't for using your name. You need to go back to your learner internet licence.
__________________
| My PCDB entry | OCAU Extreme Cooling Club H2O Member | ANTEC/CHIEFTEC CASE OWNERS/MODDERS MEMBER #116 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,028
|
please remove the URLS from your OP as theyre most likely malicious or would lead to something malicious.
I had these too btw. I just add a rule if they get past the filter 'if in title' *skype* *2011* *adobe* since its all bullshit, i just have it auto move to trash.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,867
|
Quote:
www.click2downloadAvirus.ru *whistles*
__________________
| My PCDB entry | OCAU Extreme Cooling Club H2O Member | ANTEC/CHIEFTEC CASE OWNERS/MODDERS MEMBER #116 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |||
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: localhost
Posts: 8,453
|
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Intel Core i7 3930K | ASUS P9X79 Pro Motherboard | G.Skill Ripjaws 64GB | EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classified 4GB x2
|
|||
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Near the Big Banana!
Posts: 616
|
Do you have any domain names and are you the technical/admin contact for them? That's how they got my details.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |||
|
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 260
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
On top of that searching my name brings up nothing, my email personal address is not used publicly. Thats why I point the finger at PayPal (even eBay I use a different name from PayPal)
__________________
Mi Goreng Noodle Club Member #62 Logitech 2010 'G' Owners Club Member #4] ||Dr. Pepper Club Member|| Last edited by Badooleoo; 28th February 2011 at 3:45 PM. |
|||
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 865
|
I've got a couple of these emails to email addresses I wouldn't normally create accounts with, so I have a feeling they've been picked up from someone's private address book somewhere (eg. malware that scans through an address book or webmail accounts that have been hacked directly or indirectly through a contact export function) - that's probably why they have real names associated with some addresses.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,028
|
I never go these until i began emailing chinese vendors, then bam, got heaps.
so thats where i point the blame. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,867
|
Quote:
EDIT: also you can't control what others put about you on the internets
__________________
| My PCDB entry | OCAU Extreme Cooling Club H2O Member | ANTEC/CHIEFTEC CASE OWNERS/MODDERS MEMBER #116 | Last edited by Jobe; 28th February 2011 at 3:54 PM. |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away! |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|