Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Other Topics > Photography & Video

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th March 2011, 11:04 PM   #1
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default 5D mk2 focus problems

I have a new 5D mk2 and it seems to be having focusing issues. I have gone into the microfocus settings and whacked it up all the way to +20 and a superficial test sems to indicate it may still not be right.

All lenses were perfect on my 30D.

What are my options?
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 16th March 2011, 11:07 PM   #2
triggerpeg
Member
 
triggerpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,390
Default

Did you change focus screens? Check that first. Take it out and make sure the copper gasket thing is still there and put it back in.
__________________
My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge -Psalm 62:7
Sydney Based Wedding Photographer >> Ministry of Imagery

Facebook Profile - LIKE!
triggerpeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 11:19 PM   #3
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

Nope, standad screen.
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 11:24 PM   #4
triggerpeg
Member
 
triggerpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,390
Default

Then I am going to throw it out there since your focus screens been checked.

1. Check you Expand AF points in the Customer menu
2. Set to Single shot Center focus?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Orange View Post
Nope, standad screen.
__________________
My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge -Psalm 62:7
Sydney Based Wedding Photographer >> Ministry of Imagery

Facebook Profile - LIKE!
triggerpeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 11:33 PM   #5
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triggerpeg View Post
Then I am going to throw it out there since your focus screens been checked.

1. Check you Expand AF points in the Customer menu
2. Set to Single shot Center focus?
1. Should they be on or off?
2. Yup, that's how I roll.

I can focus manually and it looks focused, the focus point flashes but the photo still ends up forward focused. (My 100 f2.0 fully open ended up about 30cm forward focused at a focal distance of about 5m) This is a present bought online but appears to be Australian stock and has an australian warranty which I guess I am going to have to use.
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 12:44 AM   #6
smorter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 432
Default

Sounds like a gross calibration issue, definitely get it calibrated

Sometimes it's not the electronic calibration issue but the thickness of the lens mount flange, which Canon can also adjust under warranty
smorter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 5:43 PM   #7
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

So what is the deal with warranty repairs? Do I have to mail it off to Canon (as they say on their web page) or are there local agents?
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 6:06 PM   #8
brasher
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 849
Default

have a look at the pins where the lens meets the body, lot's of reports of those not sitting right on 5dmk2's, hopefully it's something simple like that.
__________________
This is the spot where you say what awesome stuff is in your computer or your camera gear that no one cares about. While you are here, plug your website too!
brasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 9:22 PM   #9
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

The pins look fine, they all press in and come back out to the same level.

I just did some tests and with my 100mm F2, it is focusing about 33cm in front of the target. Winding the focus micro-adjustment up to +20 brings it to only 20cm in front of the target.

Strangely, my 70-200 focuses 13cm in front (at 200mm) and is pretty close with +20 micro-adjustment.

I get the same problem when using live-view, but manually focussing in live-view gives me a sharp picture. Looks like I will have to use live-view until I can get this mack to Canon.
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2011, 11:34 PM   #10
smorter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 432
Default

It could actually be your lenses and not your camera. No way to tell for certain. But odds are it is your camera, or most likely, all your gear, but the camera being out the most.

If you are in Syd or Mel just drop it in to their service centres. Otherwise you will have to contact them for advice on what to do
smorter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 12:01 AM   #11
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smorter View Post
It could actually be your lenses and not your camera. No way to tell for certain. But odds are it is your camera, or most likely, all your gear, but the camera being out the most.

If you are in Syd or Mel just drop it in to their service centres. Otherwise you will have to contact them for advice on what to do
I tested all my lenses on my 30D a few months ago and they all ended up perfect. (I printed out a document and shot it at a 45 degree angle as per instructions)

The camera was a present, and apparently an ebay purchase from a shop in Melbourne, and their warranty terms require it to be sent back to them.


*edit*

Here is the cropped result of the 70-200 f4 set at 200:


Here is the cropped result of the 100 f2:


Both of these were focused on the little blue bottle of fun.

Last edited by Dark Orange; 18th March 2011 at 7:40 AM. Reason: Added pictures and stuff
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 9:54 AM   #12
phreeky82
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Townsville
Posts: 9,430
Default

Holy crap that's terrible.

Well if those lenses work OK on other bodies then I'd be sending that body back to the ebay seller. Hopefully it all goes smoothly - at least it's an Aussie seller.
__________________
Successful trades: eyusuf, andy8, stuartl, michaeliam, theDarkHorse, bob
phreeky82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2011, 10:00 PM   #13
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

I contacted Canon and asked if they could tell me if the camera was Australian stock or not from the serial number. They couldn't, but agreed that it probably wasn't and that's a shame goodbye.

So I contacted the seller, explaining the problem, who then asked for more details and example photographs so I pointed them in the direction of this thread last Friday.

Their reply just came through...

Quote:
"We have read over the contents of the link attached and can’t see what the
exact problem of the 5D camera is. No common ground for this comparison by
using two different lenses, Canon 70-200mm f4 and Canon 100mm f2, taking two pictures. Please ask the customer to tell the exact problem and provide more information on it."
My reply:

"Every photo I take with this camera is badly out of focus"

So, I am assuming I will have to send it back for repair, and I am assuming it will have to be sent to hong kong or somewhere - what sort of timeframe should I be expecting before I have a camera that works?
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2011, 11:20 PM   #14
Sycotek
Member
 
Sycotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth WA, 6107
Posts: 203
Default

What flash are you using ?

I had an issue with a yn flash throwing off center focus if not directly pointed at the target. However if i used the top most af point, the af assist beam aligned properly and i got proper focus. the yn af assist (ttl) sucked - the 580 EX II fixed the issue but i spent nearly 3 days figuring it out that it was the af assist on the flash.
__________________
-Syco
Sycotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2011, 1:25 AM   #15
Dark Orange Thread Starter
Member
 
Dark Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,547
Default

Good suggestion, I use a 580EX for those test photos but I first noticed the problem when using no flash at all.
Dark Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 7:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Micron21!