Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Manufacturer-specific Forums > AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd June 2011, 5:03 PM   #166
Cephas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 260
Default

From that xbit article...

Quote:
Early this week it turned out that AMD had advised its partners that its next-generation high-performance desktop chips would only be launched in September. Apparently, the currently available B0 and B1 stepping Zambezi/Bulldozer processors can function at around 2.50GHz/3.50GHz (nominal/turbo) clock-speeds and at such frequencies they cannot deliver performance AMD considers competitive
Assuming that these figures have some truth to them, should we be worried about the OC potential of the B2 chips?

If the current stepping is having issues being SB competitive at 3.5, how high is B2 realistically going to get? And will it have any headroom when it gets there?
__________________
Gaming: FX-8150 @ 4.5 | Asus Crosshair V | Asus GTX580 DCII @ 885 | Corsair 800D | 8GB Dominator GT @ 1866 | 2 x Vertex 3 RAID 0
HTPC: Intel i3 2100 | Asus P8H67-M-PRO | Gigabyte GT430 | Lian Li PC-V354 | 7 TB MDADM RAID
Cephas is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 2nd June 2011, 5:25 PM   #167
DiGiTaL MoNkEY Thread Starter
Inverted Monkey
 
DiGiTaL MoNkEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 26,786
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cephas View Post
From that xbit article...



Assuming that these figures have some truth to them, should we be worried about the OC potential of the B2 chips?

If the current stepping is having issues being SB competitive at 3.5, how high is B2 realistically going to get? And will it have any headroom when it gets there?
It's hard to say really.

I'm sure AMD have a specific voltage/power envelope they are trying to hit with a certain performance level. So it's tricky for them.
DiGiTaL MoNkEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2011, 5:57 PM   #168
Cephas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 260
Default

That's true.

What it'll do under 125w on a stock cooler vs what we're prepared to do could be very different.
__________________
Gaming: FX-8150 @ 4.5 | Asus Crosshair V | Asus GTX580 DCII @ 885 | Corsair 800D | 8GB Dominator GT @ 1866 | 2 x Vertex 3 RAID 0
HTPC: Intel i3 2100 | Asus P8H67-M-PRO | Gigabyte GT430 | Lian Li PC-V354 | 7 TB MDADM RAID
Cephas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2011, 6:30 PM   #169
Ethan W
Member
 
Ethan W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NSW, 2156
Posts: 1,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cephas View Post
That's true.

What it'll do under 125w on a stock cooler vs what we're prepared to do could be very different.
But if it's anything like the Phenoms, heat will drastically affect the max OC. That needs to stay down. If they were to keep the same stepping (theoretically) and they're hitting 125W TDP at 2.5GHz, I don't want to imagine the same chip at 3.5GHz. Well over 200W, that's for sure.
__________________
Obsidian: i5-2500K @ 4.3 GHz | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 6970 1GB | 120GB SSD & 2TB RAID0 HDDs | Win7 Pro | Razer BlackWidow, DeathAdder | AudioTechnica AD700
Macbook Pro 13" 2010 | C2D 2.4GHz | 8 GB | 120GB SSD, 640GB HDD | OSX 10.10

Steam: [OCAU] Ethan | My opinions are my own and do not represent that of employers or groups.
Ethan W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2011, 9:23 PM   #170
Cephas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 260
Default

32nm might make heat less of an issue though.
__________________
Gaming: FX-8150 @ 4.5 | Asus Crosshair V | Asus GTX580 DCII @ 885 | Corsair 800D | 8GB Dominator GT @ 1866 | 2 x Vertex 3 RAID 0
HTPC: Intel i3 2100 | Asus P8H67-M-PRO | Gigabyte GT430 | Lian Li PC-V354 | 7 TB MDADM RAID
Cephas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd June 2011, 9:53 PM   #171
Ethan W
Member
 
Ethan W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NSW, 2156
Posts: 1,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cephas View Post
32nm might make heat less of an issue though.
Clearly not, if they're having issues running past 2.5GHz and staying under 125W.
__________________
Obsidian: i5-2500K @ 4.3 GHz | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 6970 1GB | 120GB SSD & 2TB RAID0 HDDs | Win7 Pro | Razer BlackWidow, DeathAdder | AudioTechnica AD700
Macbook Pro 13" 2010 | C2D 2.4GHz | 8 GB | 120GB SSD, 640GB HDD | OSX 10.10

Steam: [OCAU] Ethan | My opinions are my own and do not represent that of employers or groups.
Ethan W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 12:41 AM   #172
Gillyske
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne. SE subs.
Posts: 569
Default

wow this does look very bad indeed.
Because currently what amd considers competitive is like 30% weaker clock for clock.
__________________
Successful Trades with: MYSRH, dsquad, Seishi, Alba , Miyagi, /\/\usE+, magic, Active Snail, StratosFear, 3stars, wolfmanoz and many more
Gillyske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 6:47 AM   #173
James_B
Member
 
James_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Townsville
Posts: 318
Default

Semiaccurate has a piece saying the launch dates for the server and desktop chips got flipped around, if true not so bad but pretty horrific communication.
James_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 7:17 AM   #174
.Radiant
Member
 
.Radiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: brizbun
Posts: 4,447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James_B View Post
Semiaccurate has a piece saying the launch dates for the server and desktop chips got flipped around, if true not so bad but pretty horrific communication.
well given that most of the news is sourced from "Our guy in the industry" I'm not surprised.
__________________
Intel i5 2500k | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-z | 8GB G. Skill Ripjaws 1600mhz | Sapphire 6950 2GB Unlocked | Water

Steam | PSN: Cermage
.Radiant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 9:59 AM   #175
Cephas
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 260
Default

It might not be a heat issue.
Don't most SB chips hit some electrical limit well before heat becomes an issue?
Heat can be cooled, other issues aren't so easily addressed.
__________________
Gaming: FX-8150 @ 4.5 | Asus Crosshair V | Asus GTX580 DCII @ 885 | Corsair 800D | 8GB Dominator GT @ 1866 | 2 x Vertex 3 RAID 0
HTPC: Intel i3 2100 | Asus P8H67-M-PRO | Gigabyte GT430 | Lian Li PC-V354 | 7 TB MDADM RAID
Cephas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 10:28 AM   #176
Linkin
Member
 
Linkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney 2017
Posts: 5,335
Default



Quote:
Creator and Author of the highly successful CPU and Hardware Monitoring software CPU-z “Franck Delattre” has released the first official Bulldozer FX-Processor CPU-z Screenshot. The CPU-z screenshot details a FX-based processors (Engineering Sample) featuring 8 Cores and 8 Threads.

The new CPU-z 1.56.4 will add support for the FX-Series processors. Details in the screenshot show that the CPU is running at a clock speed of 1.4Ghz consuming 0.950V (TDP isn’t listed). Either the chip used was part of the older revision which had performance issues or due to power gating feature the cores were down clocked due to idle usage. Socket AM3+(942) has been mentioned and the chip has a total of 8mb L3 cache. The author also detailed some on the new features of Bulldozer CPU’s and added CPU-z support as follows:

- Support 2 Module 4-core (FX-4110), 3 Module 6-core (FX-6110) and 4 Module 8-core (FX-8110 8130P) Zambezi processor
– Support for Socket AM3 +
– 32-nm SOI HKMG Technology
– 213 million transistors per module
– Support HTT 3.1 bus (3.2GHz, 25.6GB / s, 16bit bi-directional transmission)
– Supports up to 8M L3
– Fundamental frequency of 3.2GHz (may be higher?)
– Turbo Core (up 1GHz, load up all the core 500MHz)
– Supports a maximum TDP 95W and 125W
– Support voltage VID 0.8V-1.3V
– Support for Advanced Power Management (Power Gating / Clock Gating / Sectored L3)
__________________
Trades = $8553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strange1 View Post
Hodor won't die. He wins and ends up on the throne, giving birth to the tradition of dimwits being in the position of power!
Linkin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 1:08 PM   #177
Deja Vu
Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan W View Post
Clearly not, if they're having issues running past 2.5GHz and staying under 125W.
That might have less to do with the 32nm process as more to do with the current CPU layout, such as high-speed high-leakage transistors used unnecessarily causing higher power use. Alternatively it might not be a heat issue at all, maybe some area of the chip just cannot get past that speed currently because of its design.
Deja Vu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 2:46 PM   #178
Ethan W
Member
 
Ethan W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NSW, 2156
Posts: 1,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja Vu View Post
That might have less to do with the 32nm process as more to do with the current CPU layout, such as high-speed high-leakage transistors used unnecessarily causing higher power use. Alternatively it might not be a heat issue at all, maybe some area of the chip just cannot get past that speed currently because of its design.
I wasn't saying that the 32nm had anything to do with causing the heat issue, but more that it isn't proving enough to keep things cool enough.

From that CPU-Z shot, do the FXs have newer SSE instructions? That could help things.
__________________
Obsidian: i5-2500K @ 4.3 GHz | 8GB DDR3 | AMD 6970 1GB | 120GB SSD & 2TB RAID0 HDDs | Win7 Pro | Razer BlackWidow, DeathAdder | AudioTechnica AD700
Macbook Pro 13" 2010 | C2D 2.4GHz | 8 GB | 120GB SSD, 640GB HDD | OSX 10.10

Steam: [OCAU] Ethan | My opinions are my own and do not represent that of employers or groups.
Ethan W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 3:43 PM   #179
goatman
Member
 
goatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan W View Post
But if it's anything like the Phenoms, heat will drastically affect the max OC. That needs to stay down. If they were to keep the same stepping (theoretically) and they're hitting 125W TDP at 2.5GHz, I don't want to imagine the same chip at 3.5GHz. Well over 200W, that's for sure.
you can have the same TDP if you lower the voltage
goatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2011, 3:48 PM   #180
goatman
Member
 
goatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cephas View Post
It might not be a heat issue.
Don't most SB chips hit some electrical limit well before heat becomes an issue?
Heat can be cooled, other issues aren't so easily addressed.
if by SB you mean southbridge then yes, the clocks for sata, pci etc come from the SB clock so if you increase that you increase them.
HOWEVER yes if the cpu has an unusually slow "path" then you're going to need to raise the voltage of the entire chip to make it any faster thus increasing the TDP.

Remember P=(V^2)/R, any increase in voltage will have an exponential increase on the TDP
goatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bulldozer, terribad

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 3:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!