Overclockers Australia Forums
OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > General Topics > Overclocking & Hardware

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th June 2011, 6:26 PM   #1
SiliconAngel Thread Starter
Member
 
SiliconAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 413
Question USB 3.0 Front Panel Header Cable Issues

I've been over on the Corsair support forums, trying to work out why their cases don't have internal header cables to their front panel USB 3.0 ports (their cables loop back to mainboard backpanel ports), and it appears they are yet to find or develop a cable to internal FPC headers that doesn't suffer from degraded signal quality resulting in lower-than-expected (and specified) USB 3.0 transfer speeds (and according to some members of the public, they have seen devices incorrectly detected and other anomalies due to poor quality internal cables). The odd thing about it is, this is the first time I've heard of a problem with USB 3.0 front panel header cables - surely if the issue is as big as Corsair thinks it is, people would be jumping up and down about it?

Personally I haven't done enough testing with front-panel USB 3.0 over an internal header connected cable. I'm sure there are plenty of OCAU members with such systems, though - how many of you have full-speed USB 3.0 devices that can push the limits of the bandwidth (such as an SSD) and would you mind running some bandwidth tests? If the issue is as big as Corsair thinks, then the more public discussion there is the sooner a solution will be found.
SiliconAngel is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 10th June 2011, 6:57 AM   #2
booksacool1
Member
 
booksacool1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,189
Default

I thought that internal USB3 headers were only developed recently?
I know my USB3 card has an internal USB3 socket, presumably because it was pre-header standard, but perhaps this has something to do with it.
__________________
[e8400 @ 3.6ghz/1.3v][Nocuta NH-U12P][GA-X48DS4][2X2.0GB 5-5-5-12 Patriot][ATI HD4890][2TB][2TB][1.5TB][750GB]
[Sony Vaio VPCSA22GX][i5 2410M 2.3Ghz][HD6630M 1GB][4Gb DDR3][Intel 330 240GB]
Retired|Dell XPS M1210|7400 go 256mb|1.66Ghz CD|3.0GB DDR2|160gb 5400rpm|
booksacool1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 9:24 AM   #3
FuzzyKaos
Member
 
FuzzyKaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booksacool1 View Post
I thought that internal USB3 headers were only developed recently?
I know my USB3 card has an internal USB3 socket, presumably because it was pre-header standard, but perhaps this has something to do with it.
This is why I am eagerly anticipating this from BitFenix until it comes out, i wont be using my front usb3 port.
__________________
۵ Intel Core i7-2600k ۵ ASUS Sabertooth P67 ۵ 8GB Corsair Vengeance ۵ OCZ Vertex 3 240GB ۵ Gigabyte GTX 690 4GB ۵ Dell UltraSharp U3014 30" ۵ Corsair Graphite 600T (SE White) ۵ Corsair AX850 ۵ Corsair H70 ۵ ASUS Xonar Essence STX
FuzzyKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 9:30 AM   #4
VelFog
Member
 
VelFog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyKaos View Post
This is why I am eagerly anticipating this from BitFenix until it comes out, i wont be using my front usb3 port.
that looks the goods. can't rememeber if my sabertooth p67 has the 20 pin header on the mobo itself...pretty sure it does
__________________
i7 2600K | 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | 2x MSI GTX570 | P67 Sabertooth | Lian Li PC-P50WB | Silverstone 1200w | OCZ Agility 3 120GB
VelFog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 1:34 PM   #5
Trdboy
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 556
Default

Yeah it does its the green plug next to your sata ports. My z68-ud7 has 2 of them 1 of which has the front panel usb3 breakout box that came with mobo connected to it so ill be looking at that bitfenix cable as well to connect the 2 usb3 ports up the top of my 650d to.
Trdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 1:55 PM   #6
FatBoyNotSoSlim
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 13,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyKaos View Post
This is why I am eagerly anticipating this from BitFenix until it comes out, i wont be using my front usb3 port.
Lian Li already have one, UC-01. Around $25 and available now.
__________________
Desktop: 3770K 4.5Ghz | GB Z77X-UD5H | 16GB RipjawsX | Crucial M4 256GB | SLI GTX 580s | Lian Li P80B | AX1200W | Catleap Q270s | Ducky DK9008 Shine | Razer Mamba | Custom WC |
Other: Norco 4224 32TB FREENAS | Panasonic TH-P50V20A | PS3 Slim 500GB | SGS3 16GB, ASUS Transformer, Samsung Galaxy Tab 7" |
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 2:25 PM   #7
FuzzyKaos
Member
 
FuzzyKaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VelFog View Post
that looks the goods. can't rememeber if my sabertooth p67 has the 20 pin header on the mobo itself...pretty sure it does
mine does, and so should yours.
__________________
۵ Intel Core i7-2600k ۵ ASUS Sabertooth P67 ۵ 8GB Corsair Vengeance ۵ OCZ Vertex 3 240GB ۵ Gigabyte GTX 690 4GB ۵ Dell UltraSharp U3014 30" ۵ Corsair Graphite 600T (SE White) ۵ Corsair AX850 ۵ Corsair H70 ۵ ASUS Xonar Essence STX
FuzzyKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 2:31 PM   #8
FuzzyKaos
Member
 
FuzzyKaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 2,091
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNotSoSlim View Post
Lian Li already have one, UC-01. Around $25 and available now.
yer, that one looks like its gonna snap.
__________________
۵ Intel Core i7-2600k ۵ ASUS Sabertooth P67 ۵ 8GB Corsair Vengeance ۵ OCZ Vertex 3 240GB ۵ Gigabyte GTX 690 4GB ۵ Dell UltraSharp U3014 30" ۵ Corsair Graphite 600T (SE White) ۵ Corsair AX850 ۵ Corsair H70 ۵ ASUS Xonar Essence STX
FuzzyKaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 2:57 PM   #9
brayway
Member
 
brayway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dun - New Zealand
Posts: 6,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBoyNotSoSlim View Post
Lian Li already have one, UC-01. Around $25 and available now.
Needs to be right angle, due to above reason^
__________________
i7 950 | EVGA X58 Classified 3 | 12GB Dominators | 3X GTX470 | 3X 23" | 2013 Macbook Air 13" | '96 FTO GPX
Because Racecar Photography
brayway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2011, 3:20 PM   #10
FatBoyNotSoSlim
Member
 
FatBoyNotSoSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne - 3149
Posts: 13,263
Default

Pfft, hardly. Install once and it never has to move.
__________________
Desktop: 3770K 4.5Ghz | GB Z77X-UD5H | 16GB RipjawsX | Crucial M4 256GB | SLI GTX 580s | Lian Li P80B | AX1200W | Catleap Q270s | Ducky DK9008 Shine | Razer Mamba | Custom WC |
Other: Norco 4224 32TB FREENAS | Panasonic TH-P50V20A | PS3 Slim 500GB | SGS3 16GB, ASUS Transformer, Samsung Galaxy Tab 7" |
FatBoyNotSoSlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2011, 10:28 PM   #11
Ctrlchris
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Melb
Posts: 66
Default

If you snap it, youre clearly doinitwrong
Ctrlchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!