Overclockers Australia Forums

OCAU News - Wiki - QuickLinks - Pix - Sponsors  

Go Back   Overclockers Australia Forums > Specific Hardware Topics > Hobby Engineering

Notices


Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!
Search our forums with Google:
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th November 2011, 7:02 PM   #1
KevlarCoated Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Macquarie
Posts: 190
Default Reprap open source 3D printer

Im just interested if anyone has built a Reprap 3D printer?
If so what were your experiences? And how much did it cost you?
Im just interested in building one because it would be cool to have a 3D printer (and the experience of building one)
KevlarCoated is offline   Reply With Quote

Join OCAU to remove this ad!
Old 5th November 2011, 7:47 PM   #2
IMtech
(Banned or Deleted)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cheeseland, France
Posts: 1,431
Default

Very interested too. Been eyeing building one of those for a few months now...
IMtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 9:35 PM   #3
Odje
Member
 
Odje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,283
Default

I think the Melbourne Hackerspace has made one. Maybe see if you can get into contact with them?
__________________
FOR SALE: unRAID Server Pro Registration Key $75

There are only 2 reasons why you should run,
1. If you are being chased or
2. If you are on fire
Odje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 9:38 PM   #4
Menthu_Rae
Member
 
Menthu_Rae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney
Posts: 6,460
Default

We've just purchased a Reprap Huxley for my work... should arrive in the next few weeks - I'll let you guys know how it goes.

We managed to grab it delivered for $730 AUD on the special mailing-list pre-order, it should be available for normal order on the 10th of November on the Reprap site...

Also, unless you know what you will be using it for, I would avoid buying one. We have the need to fabricate certain parts relatively quickly and to remove our dependence on our institution's workshop for small prototypes/testing... hence why we're going down this path.

Additionally- something to keep an eye on will be this thing... absolutely amazing if we can get this technology in the hands of the home user/small prototyper!



http://3dhomemade.blogspot.com/
__________________
System Specs: i7 3770K, Noctua NH-U12P SE2, 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600, ASUS P8Z77-V Premium, 2GB Zotac GTX680, 120GB/240GB Samsung 840 SSDs, 2x 3TB Toshiba HDDs [RAID1], 2x Zalman ZMMFC-1 Plus, Dell U3011, ASUS Xonar Essence One, Audioengine 5+, LianLi PC-A71B w/T-713B & W-75BP, 8x Scythe SFF21G, 1kW Silverstone ST1000P. 50+ Trades.
Menthu_Rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 9:46 PM   #5
DarkYendor
Member
 
DarkYendor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,904
Default

Some guys from the Perth Artifactory (similar to hackerspace i think) have one. Last i heard, they were using one to fab parts so they could make more of them.

Also been thinking of one - but I'd want to fit it with a laser for making custom circuit boards.

Final note - don't try to assemble one of these and pass it off as you final year engineering thesis project. A guy at uni got reamed and had to repeat his project/thesis from scratch.
__________________
RIG: |i5 2500k @4.5 | Asus P8P67 Pro | GTX460 SLI | 8GB DDR3-1600 | Crucial M550 256GB | 2x Dell U2311H|
C&C: | LianLi PC-A71B | Swiftech MCP655 | Swiftech MCR320-QP, MCR240-QP | Heatkiller 3.0 |
TABLET: | Samsung Series 7 Slate (XE700T1A-A01US) | - PHONE: | iPhone 6 64GB |
SERVER: | i3 3220 | 8GB DDR3 | 16TB + SSD | - BACKUP SERVER: | Intel D945GCLF2 | 1GB DDR2 | 8TB |
Successful OCAU trades / New blog & buildlogs
DarkYendor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 9:49 PM   #6
KevlarCoated Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Macquarie
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menthu_Rae View Post
Additionally- something to keep an eye on will be this thing... absolutely amazing if we can get this technology in the hands of the home user/small prototyper!

http://3dhomemade.blogspot.com/
That looks awesome, sadly from the sounds of it the cost will be prohibitive for individuals,

I just want it for the experience of making, interested in doing my own electronics because there isnt really a challenge in using someone elses.

And No I was thinking about using for an engineering thesis, thankfully i got that out of way a few years ago
KevlarCoated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 10:56 PM   #7
SCwerTA
Member
 
SCwerTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE Melbourne
Posts: 237
Default

I've got a Prusa Reprap which is pretty much mechanically complete, but still needs to be calibrated. I'm having a bit of flow issues with the hot end. I've been working on it throughout the year as well as juggling final year uni. So spare time has been hard to come by. Once exams are over I hope to fully complete it.

It's definitely been a fun build and project, though I haven't had much success in printing anything yet. My mate who started his build at the same time as me has completed his though, so I've been picking his brains for help at some stages (as well as getting him to print me upgrades ).

It is an open source project though, so there are many areas where there can be improvements. Its one of the interesting points for me as a mechatronics undergrad - being able to rapid prototype improvements and test them straight away. Of course there a myriad of other uses I have planned and many things on the thingiverse site I want to print.

I'm not sure how much I've spent on it as the cost has rolled on, but if i had to guess it'd be around $5/700. It did help that I split shipping on some things, so there was some savings there.

So yeh, if you've got any questions I'll try to answer them.


Click to view full size!
SCwerTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2011, 11:52 PM   #8
NanoDuke
Member
 
NanoDuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney 2043
Posts: 6,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Menthu_Rae View Post
That's a type of resin laser-curing printer, isn't it?

Not quite the same as a RepRap, but still cool.
__________________
Horize P170EM Laptop - i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - 17.3-inch FHD LED 72% GAMUT MATTE - AMD RADEON HD7970M 2.0GB GDDR5
NanoDuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 8:44 AM   #9
KevlarCoated Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Macquarie
Posts: 190
Default

ScwerTA where did you get your plastic parts from? And would you or your friend be interested in making and selling me a set?
Which electronics did you use?
KevlarCoated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 9:00 AM   #10
TERRA Operative
Member
 
TERRA Operative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Niraikanai
Posts: 6,907
Default

Another vote for the "I've been thinking about it' crowd.
I am looking for one to print parts for props and robotics etc.

What is the largest size these things can print? I would ideally like one that can print about the size of a motorbike helmet (but that's probably huge in 3D printing terms?)
TERRA Operative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 9:56 AM   #11
SCwerTA
Member
 
SCwerTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE Melbourne
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KevlarCoated View Post
ScwerTA where did you get your plastic parts from? And would you or your friend be interested in making and selling me a set?
Which electronics did you use?
Yeah I'd be more than willing to help print Reprap parts out, just pm me for details. The electronics I'm using is RAMPs, it's basically an Arduino Mega shield. As with anything Arduino, very easy to use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TERRA Operative View Post
What is the largest size these things can print? I would ideally like one that can print about the size of a motorbike helmet (but that's probably huge in 3D printing terms?)
The workspace of the Prusa Reprap is quite large compared to say the Makerbot, having seen the Makerbot at the Melbourne Hackerspace. You can get about 20cm^3 workspace at maximum I'd guess, though there are a few things that can limit that. It'd depends on how you build it.

With larger pieces that exceed the limits of the printer, you can always slice your objects and print in different stages. One example of this is here where you can see the nose area is printed separately.
SCwerTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 10:09 AM   #12
NanoDuke
Member
 
NanoDuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney 2043
Posts: 6,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TERRA Operative View Post
What is the largest size these things can print? I would ideally like one that can print about the size of a motorbike helmet (but that's probably huge in 3D printing terms?)
Theoretically you print as large as you want, but you'll probably see flex issues in the beams at longer lengths, losing calibration.
__________________
Horize P170EM Laptop - i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - 17.3-inch FHD LED 72% GAMUT MATTE - AMD RADEON HD7970M 2.0GB GDDR5
NanoDuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2011, 10:43 AM   #13
KevlarCoated Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Port Macquarie
Posts: 190
Default

Im thinking of using the R2C2 electronics (depending on how much they end up being) initially, they just look to be nicest, and the most over kill, end goal being to build my own set from scratch but that will probably take a while to get around to doing

SCwerTA I PM'd you
KevlarCoated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2011, 10:58 PM   #14
NanoDuke
Member
 
NanoDuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney 2043
Posts: 6,030
Default

There you go, who wanted a big printer? lol
http://lebigrep.org/


This thing is massive!
http://blog.makezine.com/wp-content/...01-614x407.jpg
__________________
Horize P170EM Laptop - i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz - 17.3-inch FHD LED 72% GAMUT MATTE - AMD RADEON HD7970M 2.0GB GDDR5
NanoDuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2011, 10:27 AM   #15
TERRA Operative
Member
 
TERRA Operative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Niraikanai
Posts: 6,907
Default

Wow, do want!

Is there a kit that allows for scalability? Ie, you get a kit that has the bits needed for the extruder, control, etc, and you make longer and shorter rails to suit.
TERRA Operative is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sign up for a free OCAU account and this ad will go away!

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 6:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. -
OCAU is not responsible for the content of individual messages posted by others.
Other content copyright Overclockers Australia.
OCAU is hosted by Internode!