4-way SLI capable 990FX boards?

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by SiriusDragon, Nov 4, 2016.

  1. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey all, never played with an AMD board before but considering one for the fun of it :D

    Is the only AM3+ board that supports 4-way SLI the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7? Or should I just give up on that idea and wait for Zen?
     
  2. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,071
    Location:
    Sydney
    I run 4 cards on gigabyte 890fxa-ud7

    i dont try sli though. if they run separately do they sli ok?
     
  3. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hmm, I'll have 890 chipset supports SLI or if NVIDIA only allowed it on the 990 series...
     
  4. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,071
    Location:
    Sydney
    youre right. no sli :eek:
     
  5. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Sydney
    I could try the SLI hack but it'd be awkward if I got a board and it didn't work :(

    Guess I'll need to find a 990FXA-UD7 then!
     
  6. lionman

    lionman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,870
    Location:
    Perth,WA,Earth
    You should give up on SLI. It's not worth it.
     
  7. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Sydney
    This is for benchmarking and overclocking. For gaming I intend to build a single GPU system in the future once they're good enough to handle 4K maxed out.
     
  8. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    774
    Location:
    Canberra(ish) 2581
    very late reply but the only 990FX board that can do 4 way SLI is the Gigabyte 990FXA UD7

    rare to find nowadays but it's the only one that will run x8/x8/x8/x8
     
  9. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah, that's the conclusion I came to as well :(

    Not looking good for 4-way benching on Ryzen either... I haven't spotted a single board with 4 x16 slots :(

    Huge shame cause the CPUs look really nice... hopefully ASRock or someone makes a 4-way capable board via PLX chips.
     
  10. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,071
    Location:
    Sydney
    yeah its a pain in the ass that nearly all MB with 4 pcie are a waste of space- just for show.
     
  11. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    774
    Location:
    Canberra(ish) 2581
    There aren't enough Lanes on AM4 to do 4 way SLI/CF (without PLX) and anything above 2 GPUs is becoming more and more rare now, hard to justify.

    I don't doubt we'll see Gigabyte, Asus, MSI or ASRock do a board that can though.
     

Share This Page