Any 14" with a quad core, ie 6700hq?

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by crabbytech, Nov 11, 2016.

  1. crabbytech

    crabbytech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,188
    As above. I was going to build a desktop. But the Mrs needs a new lappy, so its dual purpose.

    CPU priority for photoshop, hooked up to 4k monitor so needs HDMI etc
     
  2. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Gigabyte Aero 14?
     
  3. crabbytech

    crabbytech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,188
    Yep thats a possibility !
     
  4. kiwimeat

    kiwimeat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,904
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Dell Latitude e7470
    Can upgrade memory to 16GB (user serviceable), swap out SSD.
    You will want the FHD or QHD model. The touch QHD screen has the best Adobe accuracy rating of the display options.
    Has HDMI and DP connectivity.
    Can be used with a full docking base.

    Wait for one to turn up in the Dell Outlet and save thousands over RRP.

    My daughter has run a e7270 i7, 16GB, 1TD mSATA SSD, FHD as her laptop through last 2.5 years of uni running full Adobe Creative Suite. She has a docking base hooked up to a 27 Dell Ultrasharp display in her room.

    Personally I use a Dell e7270 with touch FHD screen for my travel photography. Memory upgraded to 16GB and a 512GB Samsung 950 Pro PCI-E drive. It is just a little smaller, lighter and more compact than the e7470.
     
  5. crabbytech

    crabbytech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,188
    Wow thats a SERIOUS good choice.

    Damn good notebookcheck review, max 390 nits, 96sRGB. Handy little screen by itself. Whats it look like to you though?

    Often Im dissapointed by screen ratings in person.

    I was hoping to also find one with a small dedicated GPU like a 950m etc.
     
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,685
    You can't get the Latitude 7470 with the HQ CPU, I have tried to spec one up for work. My dell rep said no can do.
     
  7. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I ended up ordering the Aorus X3 V6 in this market segment over the Aero 14W. I had been waiting for the Aero 14W (updated Aero 14 w 1060) but the std hdd is SATA m2, so adding a decent hdd added too much to the price.

    Aorus has faster CPU, faster RAM, NVMe hdd std but less battery for only $100 more.

    EDIT: also has higher res screen
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2016
  8. AgenaFX

    AgenaFX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    Is the Aorus X3 ultra loud during gaming? My GS60 gets loud enough to drown out the tiny tiny speakers.
     
  9. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I dont game so not sure sorry. I needed the quad core for development.

    Its slightly louder than my Gigabyte P35 its replacing, but seems to put out significantly more air so thats ok
     
  10. styx119

    styx119 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    i saw Msi has 14'' laptop with good performence

    Hey there, I think MSI has GS43 just meet your request, i saw some online shop has it, i7 CPU and 1060 VC, looks pretty good and sexy.
     
  11. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    FYI, my Aorus had to go back for RMA due to reboots/event viewer hardware errors and BSOD. They returned with no fault found, and I chucked a nana.

    Long story short its going back to them today and a new one is on its way ASAP. Looks like a fairly common issue with them. The V7 kaby lake is out now though so might only be a V6 problem

    This is the issue (and some of my whinging) here - http://forum.aorus.com/forum/gaming...m-reboots-whea-logger-pci-killer-e2200-errors
     
  12. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,685
    If you are serious about productivity, reliability or just plain stability, it's best to avoid junk like Gigabyte, MSI even the RoG laptops.

    Stick to enterprise grade laptops like Dell and HP etc.
     
  13. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some of the HP Envy and Elitebooks fit the purpose.
     
  14. jezza323

    jezza323 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,374
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep, lesson learnt

    However, in saying that. Ive been using ASUS and Gigabyte laptops for the last 6 yrs or so without issue, so this is the first problem ive had. I do always make sure I have a spare kicking around just in case I need it
     
  15. millsy_c

    millsy_c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    11,232
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thinkpad T470p does, up to 7700HQ. 460p does up to 6700HQ I think
     
  16. vitimlove

    vitimlove New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    GS43

    Hi, Mate i saw the good deal from Kong Computer that they are selling the MSI 43 6gen is quite good specs and quite cheap too. check check and they also have free upgrade.
     

Share This Page