Arduino beginner

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Agg, Jan 7, 2017.

1. Agg

Agg Administrator

I know I'm about 5 years behind the curve here but on a whim (after a suggestion in IRC) I bought the Sparkfun Inventor's Kit as something for me and my 10yo to mess around with during the school hols. We played with it for about 3 hours today and had a lot of fun turning LEDs on and off, spinning servo arms, writing rude messages on the LCD screen etc. So we're up to speed with the concepts but there's not too many other interesting projects in the manual as they're all pretty basic stuff. But we're keen to do more with it and don't mind buying a few more bits and bobs.

So, short of simply googling for more interesting projects, what's a good step from here? Has anyone got any cool projects they've done, or seen, etc? Is there a good next-step book/website for projects once you tire of the absolute beginner stuff?

2. oculi

oculi Member

I use Arduino now and then for stuff, it's great!

IMHO solving a problem of your own (however trivial the problem is and however silly your solution is) will be more rewarding than doing cookie cutter projects as you will be more invested in them, but sometimes solutions looking for problems are fun too.

Not so sure about resources as I tend to look up stuff whenever I get stuck,
    but as another arduino beginner I have found the following very useful:

1. pro minis are great if you want to make something and keep it as a thing, they are cheaper (don't have an onboard programmer) and very small.

2. get a Mega if you are running out of IO on a uno/whatever the normal sized arduino is these days, much easier than messing around with multiplexors etc and they are quite reasonably priced

3. if you want to control relays and high voltage/current loads this is how I did it with ULN2803 transistor ICs