Bent pins

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Luke212, Mar 17, 2017.

1. Luke212

Luke212 Member

i spend 10 minutes fumbling around trying to work out which way my Xeon goes in my X99 motherboard because they dont fucking label it,

and i drop the fucking cpu on the socket and ruin the motherboard.

what a shitty way of doing things. fragile little fucking things. why didnt they label the direction for the socket? i studied it carefully and the arrow on the cpu did not match anything on the mb.... amazing.

1. no direction labling
    2. fucking fragile socket
    3. ....

can you fix it i guess is my question. its like 3 pins or something bent.

2. ipv6ready

ipv6ready Member

3. im late

im late Member

4. demiurge3141

demiurge3141 Member

May read the manual first next time? One corner of the plastic socket is slightly chipped off and that's where the triangle corner goes.

5. havabeer

havabeer Member

aren't there offset notches to stop this kind of idiocy?

6. ipv6ready

ipv6ready Member

Well not if one drops the CPU on to pins. Very unfortunate.

7. qwertylesh

qwertylesh Member

yeah there are... theyre called dummy spacers :lol:

8. Luke212

Luke212 Member

No. there are grooves on top and bottom to prevent sideways, but they are symmetrical so you don't know which way is up and down. Ridiculous!

I looked for a pattern on the pins... nope. I tried matching CPU text to motherboard text first and that didn't work. Hence I got trying multiple and of course dropped it :(

I've installed dozens of CPUs so I always though bent pins was a myth!

Edit: I had a look this morning and I can see a faint arrow on the mb, but very very faint.

Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
  9. Ratzz

Ratzz Member

Can you take a close up high res pic of the socket? If its only a few pins as you say, it is probably repairable. I've fixed quite a few.

10. Luke212

Luke212 Member