Do any games support surround sound!?

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by SkiNLaB, Dec 24, 2001.

  1. SkiNLaB

    SkiNLaB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    Sydney's Inner West
    we just got a 7.1 system, sooooooo good.
    and after watching the matrix on it 50 times over, i thought to myself how good it would be if u could play a FPS game on a surround sound system, hearing the bullets fly past, steps from behind etc..

    so do tell!

    (Pc or console games)
     
  2. DangerMouse

    DangerMouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Well people aren't paying $300+ for sound cards to get plain old 4 point sound.
     
  3. Crash Dummy

    Crash Dummy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Lemmie tell you. Half-Life and or Counter Strike with A3D 4 point surround is beautiful almost scary at times.

    EAX is pretty good too for posistional sound but the effects for reverb and and shit are pretty bad. Oh well.
     
  4. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,679
    Location:
    north pole
    as far as i know NFS-HS has surround sound logo on it somewhere
     
  5. Crash Dummy

    Crash Dummy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    I'm 90% sure that all Electronic Arts games support Dolby Pro Logic surround.

    But anyway yeah there's tons of games that support surround sound.
     
  6. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    16,679
    Location:
    north pole
    yeah i thnk that's it....
     
  7. BiKESEAT

    BiKESEAT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    If you get an nForce, all your games will be encoded to dolby digital 5.1 correct?
     
  8. Zilla123

    Zilla123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    prologic is still 'really' only stereo isn't it.
     
  9. Chronos

    Chronos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    oh man....

    pro-logic isnt part of the source (eg game/video/dvd). pro-logic is done buy the reciver's processor. you feed a 2 channel signal into the reciver, and it emulates the 4 channels for you

    just like your '7.1' amp gives you 8 channels. your source is 6 channels, and the front 2 effects are created, although they really arnt there...if u know what i mean

    is that a yamaha amp uve got there? last time i checked, only yamaha made a decent 7.1 system
     
  10. zebu

    zebu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Albury
    this is from memory, so dont shoot me if im wrong

    in dolby pro logic both the rear channels are the difference between the left and right channels, with about 20 milliseconds delay added

    i remember reading it somewhere, can anyone confirm it?
     
  11. StraM

    StraM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Hobart
    If you have a good sound setup you can play CS with your eyes closed... I have head phones and it's amazing to be able to pinpoint peple using sound... then getting called wallhack for knowing where they are... LOL!
     
  12. Maz

    Maz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,774
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I am yet to incorporate sound into 100% of my gameplay, i dont use sound to pinpoint where they are but only when im in a fire fight. im not very leet
     
  13. StraM

    StraM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Hobart
    That's how we all start.... :p
     
  14. SkiNLaB

    SkiNLaB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    Sydney's Inner West
    hmm well i have a 7.1 system set up with a denon receiver working on it.

    So CS just outputs a stereo signal, but that pro logic processer crap in the receiver CAN make it into useful 4 point surround sound? like u describe it (being able to 'hear' where people are)

    i think it is time for me to get this so called counterstrike game.
     
  15. Cypher

    Cypher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,787
    Location:
    North of Brisbane
    i have cheapo speakers for my front speakers and some Akai stereo speakers on the shelf behind me for rear, powered by an old crappy PYE amp that i picked up for free cuz the cd player is fucked...

    works quite nicely...

    oh, sb liveage, so it had has front and rear outputs..
     
  16. Chronos

    Chronos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    one more time to confirm ppl:

    dolby pro-logic has 4 channels ONLY

    MAIN LEFT
    MAIN RIGHT
    CENTER
    EFFECT

    THATS ALL!

    no subwoofer channel nor two independant effect channels, like in dolbly digital/dts/thx etc...

    these four channels are created FROM a 2 channel signal (eg from a TV or VCR)

    and no, the effect channels are not created by adding 20ms delay to the fron channels. that would just give a really echoy room effect
     
  17. zebu

    zebu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    893
    Location:
    Albury
    i didnt say the echo was added directly to the front.

    what i meant was

    1. you take the signal for the left channel
    2. you subtract the signal for the right channel
    3. you have a new signal that is the difference between the left and right.
    4. you add the delay to the new signal
    5. amplify the new signal and deliver to both the rear left and right
     
  18. WRX_STi

    WRX_STi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,443
    Location:
    Cairns
    My AMP sais Dolby Pro Logic and nothing else anywhere but it has 6 speakers: Left, Right, Center, SUB and 2 rears. sometimes i can hear a sound come out of only 1 rear speaker, sometimes the other and sometimes it goes from one to the other. I was told Dolby Pro logic cannot do this it must have the same sound come out of both the rear speakers, as if plugging both front (left right) speakers into only the left channel ?
     
  19. Chronos

    Chronos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    nup...still wrong mate.....
     
  20. Chronos

    Chronos Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    i really dont know what ur trying to say, but ill have a go...

    the rear channels on pro-logic, are one. if ur getting independant signals from each speaker, u prob have a DD amp. most amps that support DD and higher, usally come with a pro-logic chip aswell. when did u buy this amp?

    note: DD = dolby digital
     

Share This Page