Dual CPU AIO's into 1 AIO loop?

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Nasha, May 19, 2017.

  1. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic
    Hi All,

    I have 2x Deepcool Maelstrom CPU AIO's. A 120 and a 240. If i were to mod this setup to remove the 120 rad, would you provide power to the 2nd pump in the loop? I don't know whether it will need it for water to flow, and also unsure whether this might cause any issues if i did power it? Further, could i use these block/pump in an a custom loop?

    So for the AIO mod it'd look like
    {rad} > {block/pump #1} > {block/pump #2} > {rad}

    or the custom loop (Using a Swiftech H220, and an additional 480 Rad)
    {Rad/Pump/Res} > {GPU} > {block/pump #1} > {block/pump #2} > {480 Rad} > {Rad/Pump/Res}

    Cheers,
    Nasha
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  2. zero_velocity

    zero_velocity Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    QLD
    Dont bother trying to butcher two AIO's. Sell them both to offset the cost of a custom :thumbup:
     
  3. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic


    I went ahead and butchered the AIO's, and started a custom loop to cool an R9 290x and 295x2
     
  4. rvrftw

    rvrftw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Hobart
    I would power both pumps... That way you know it should have enough head pressure to push the water at a good flow rate, plus if 1 pump dies, you can still use the system
     
  5. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic

    Currently running both pumps, but you've just made me consider failure... Maybe I should leave one disconnected as a hot spare and get twice the life out of my setup!

    I've since replaced the tubing with clear tubing, and the flow rate appears to be decent under one pump. They're cooling a pair of Xeons that live idle 23hrs a day, it's not a heavy load
     

Share This Page