How often to change coolant?

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Bolter01, Dec 22, 2008.

1. Bolter01

Bolter01 Member

Hi,
    I am using Swiftech HydrX Coolant & distilled water with great success.

Was wondering what the expected life of it is? My system is all copper.

I have some Feser One Fluid - UV Red to put in and realize it will need a thorough flush before adding a new coolant.

Thanks

2. Arbite

Arbite Member

You can go up to a year without changing coolant, but i would recomend changing every 6-8 months.

3. Frag_Lord

Frag_Lord Member

I have been running Nulon + distilled for about 10 months now, it looks kinda nasty now :p

I would recommend every 6 months to changing coolant and tubing.

4. Bolter01

Bolter01 Member

and tubing...argh! yes I suspected I may have to sometime. That will be "Fun"

5. lowdog

lowdog Member

I just re-did my loop in November, it had been running on nothing more than straight distilled water for over 14 months straight and the water that came out was fine, there was nothing in it. All my blocks were clean as well with NO build up of any crap that all those coolant things tend to cause. new loop is straight distilled as well, I'll leave it for well over a year this time unless I have to change out components.

Straight distilled for the win.

6. K3nii

K3nii (Banned or Deleted)

about every school holidays i have the urge to change my pc so thats how often i do it

7. javascripterror

javascripterror Member

The same water has been in the Potted Eheim project since December 26, 2005. Must be some kind of record by now I suppose.

8. Kaine[zof]

Kaine[zof] Member

Changing coolant every six months is a bit on the anal side.

Changing tubing that often is just downright wasteful. Only reason to change tubing ever is if it is decaying (ie going hard and splitting or leaking). I reuse tubing from install to install. Some of it is pretty stained by Nulon at this point but it really isn't an issue.