Moving a computer to a new Domain Controller without losing local user profiles?

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by Malakai, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. Malakai

    Malakai Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have a friend that needs to move some windows 2000 Pro and XP Pro machines to a new Active Directory Domain Controller without losing the user Profiles on the local machine.

    We have done it in the past by copying the profiles and backing up the e-mail and such, disjoining the computer, rejoining it to the new server, then restoring everything from the copies made. It is time consuming though, there has to be a better way?

    What’s the easiest way to do this?
     
  2. chewbucca

    chewbucca Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,883
    Location:
    London
    hmm... not exactly what your getting at. I dont think Windows will delete profiles when you add the pc to a domain.

    Just look in C:\Documents and Settings and you should see them there untouched. However take a look at this, it may be what your after...

    Control Panel->System->'Advanced' tab ->"User Profiles", hit the settings button and you will see the list of profiles, hit the 'copy to' button and you can dump it somewhere...

    HTH
     
  3. RonDMC

    RonDMC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Yes once you change domains your local machine will create new user profiles. The old ones will not be deleted so just copy the contents of the old profiles across to the new ones once you have added the computers to the new domain.

    You might want to setup roaming profiles, might make things easier in the future and when a user logs on to another computer their profile will follow them.
     
  4. dink

    dink Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Brisneyland

    Yeah, specially when they keep 500MB folders on their desktop.
     
  5. FLB

    FLB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,580
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thats why you have profile quotas in place :)
     
  6. wilsontc

    wilsontc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you could just use folder redirection..?
     
  7. NiTeHaWk

    NiTeHaWk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have fun going to the new domain as youll end up with shit like this.
    current profile. c:\documents and settings\user
    new domain. c:\documents and settings\user.newdomain

    Even if you copy everything across to user.newdomain you will encounter problems. Many applications are shithouse and will try access the old userprofile path as they don't request the user profile path each time their launched, only when the program is first run or installed.
     

Share This Page