Network Management software

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by FR3D1, Nov 22, 2016.

1. FR3D1

FR3D1 Member

So I have a home network and would like a software solution to me help monitor usage, block websites and throttle the bandwidth of devices to prevent the kids from hoging the bandwidth.
    So my current setup:
    A modem router connected to a PC which will be on 24/7 and other wireless devices.
    I'll configure the router default gateway to my PC and from my PC I'll configure the default gateway back to the router so that all traffic will have to go through the PC first and so I can monitor and control them.
    The PC I'm running will have Windows Server 2016 running in VM and with other services such as DHCP, IIS and DNS.

So I want to use the existing equipment and keep it simple. For those in the field something like how corporate monitor their employess and school monitors their students. I'm open to any suggestion and I'm pretty new to Windows Server so if theres any feature/role that I should install please let me know.

2. BigMah

BigMah New Member

You should check out SOPHOS UTM, you can get a license for free for personal/home use. Might be what you're looking for.

3. cozbert

cozbert Member

PF Sense will also do what you want

4. bugayev

bugayev Whammy!

Except then you'll end up with traffic stuck in your network, since both devices will have the next hop set to the other.

A better solution would be to modify DHCP to set the default gateway for clients as your Windows Server Router Firewall random device (not the best choice at all to be honest), with a route that sets the next hop as the router.

Alternatively, just get a router or firewall that will do what you want without all this extra bullshit. pfsense will be fine.
    [/quote]

5. FR3D1

FR3D1 Member

Thanks for the replies.