New server build /w LSI 9265 RAID5 benchmark

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Danthemanz, Jan 21, 2017.

1. Danthemanz

Danthemanz Old School Admin

Thought i would share some info and a really good lead on some cheap disks. Happy to take questions and run any benchmarks anyone wants to see.

Im one to store alot of data at home on various servers.
    Ive never used RAID 5 at home as ive always micro managed space and multiple copies.
    Im an IT consultant with a background in server admin who uses RAID everyday, so i finally decided to build something to last many years now that i have a baby due in April. Also needed a decent server 2016 box for training.
    Data is setup for one direction replication nightly to my HTPC with Seagate 8TB Archive disks.

Server specs:
    Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F Motherboard
    Xeon E3-1230 v5
    64GB ECC DDR4
    Nvidia Quadro K4200
    Silverstone TJ08-E uATX case
    Intel X520-DA2 (10Gb dual port SFP+ NIC (on the way)

4 x 2.5" hotswap bay for additional disks
    Samsung 512GB 950 Pro (oem) (for VMs)
    Samsung 256GB 850 Pro (For boot)
    2 x Seagate 4TB 2.5" SMR HDDs
    5 x OEM Toshiba 6TB 7200rpm Enterprise HDDs, 512e
    LSI 9265-8i 1GB DDR3 with capacitor (M5016)

The Toshiba disks on their own are good for about 200MB/s reads and 180MB/s writes. Disks are an absolute BARGAIN at $225 + delivery. I owned 2 for the past 6 months then bought another 3 cause they are so fast and cheap. They are a little noisy and hot though as they are datacentre disks. Looking to get another for a cold spare.

Originally built with an LSI 9260 (m5015) which was fast (link below), but i wanted something better and newer that i can trust for many years.

Now i understand that most of these numbers are from the 1GB cache, but i still wasnt expecting ~3.5GB/s of writes. Makes me wonder what the newer PCI-e 3.0 controllers can do.