Rate the PC of the person above you and suggest next upgrade!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by mr_mordred2095, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. mr_mordred2095

    mr_mordred2095 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,881
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'll start with my systems capabilities:

    E6300es - 3.5ghz stock volts. - Step 5 B1 - runs 3,479ghz daily due to fsb wall
    2 x 1GB DDR2-533 Generic - runs at 994mhz for daily use 5-5-5-12 2.25v
    AsusCommando
    256mb 7900gs 733/1700
    2 x 320gb Seagate 7200.10 - Raid 0
    Atrix 650T PSU - 600w, 2 x ~19a 12v rails. Love it, nice and silent.
    Hercules Game Theatre XP

    I need new RAM, and a mobo that can give mroe than 2.1v to RAM
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2007
  2. lumghini

    lumghini Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you didn't state ur motherboard....but at the moment i think u should upgrade ur ram or cpu....

    Pentium D830 @ 3.68GHz 1.31v
    2 x 1GB ADATA 667 running at 816MHz stock volts
    256MB 6600GT Stock running 22" and 20"
    Gigabyte 8I945P Dual Graphic-R motherboard
    1 x 320 seagate
    1 x 250 maxtor
    1 x 200 wd
    1 x 200 seagate
    Superflower 600W modular psu
    Creative X-Fi ExtremeMusic
     
  3. TMM

    TMM Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,488
    clearly this thread will just be a ewang fest... so count me in! :lol:

    @lumghini: If you're a gamer i'd upgrade the 6600GT, if not, a new mobo and a Core2Duo :thumbup:

    AMD Opteron 144 @ 2900mhz, 1.5v
    DFI LanParty nF4 Ultra-D
    2GB G.Skill HZ PC4000
    256MB Gigabyte 7600GT
    Creative Audigy4
    2x 250GB Seagate RAID0
    Antec NeoPower 480W

    Everything needs an upgrade :p
     
  4. dembones

    dembones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,120
    Location:
    Maryborough, QLD
    TMM maybe jumping upto AM2 platform, but really what you've got is pretty damn good

    C2D E6600 @ 3.6ghz
    2gb Geil Ultra PC6400 @ 923 5-5-5-18 2.17V
    ASUS P5N-E SLi
    XFX 470mhz 7900GT
    2x 120gb PATA seagate hdds
    1x 200gb SATA western digital hdd
    1x 250gb SATAII western digital hdd
    500watt Antec smart power 2.0
    Antec Plusview 1000amg case (modded)
    Pioneer DVR-111D DVDRW
     
  5. HumbleBum

    HumbleBum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    16,773
    Location:
    United States
    Not sure.. need to catch up with the new hardware

    xp1800
    Epox 8rda+
    2 x Seagate 80gb IDE HDD
    CDRW
    DVD Rom
    ATI 6900 Video Card 256mb
    32" ACER LCD Monitor
     
  6. stroggos2k

    stroggos2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,316
    Location:
    Rozelle, Sydney NSW
    You didn't mention how much ram you had, but I'd reccomend more storage.

    My PC:

    AXP 3200+
    GF6200 256mb (I dont play games)
    2x 512mb Kingston DDR-400
    Abit AN7
    80gb SATA + 5x 250gb Raid 5 in another PC for storage
    8X Liteon DL DVD-RW
    Lian Li v1000
    Antec 350W Smartpower
    Avermedia HDTV card
    2x 21" Sony/Dell G500 CRT.
     
  7. matthudson

    matthudson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Charlestown, NSW (2290)
    You need more ram (so do i, and a bigger hdd, and a new mobo, CPU, GFX card)

    2800+ Sempron @1.76ghz
    1gb OCZ DDR RAM
    ASUS K8NE Deluxe
    250Gb Seagate + 40gb seagate
    Pioneer 112D dual layer DVD burner
    6600 GT
    PSU in sig (I hope...i can never remember it...)
    ChiMei 22" 221D + Optima 17" CM712tm
     
  8. FatBob

    FatBob (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Sydney 2150
    Dude...you definitely need a new vga card!!!!

    My system:

    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.6GHZ
    4x512MB DDR 400 Ram (2xCorsair, 2xKingston)
    Nvidia 6800GT softmodded to GTX with correct oced speed
    Asus A8S-X
    2x250GB, 1x120GB,1x160GB HDD
    Pioneer 109 and 110 DVD Burners
    Media Card Reader
    1GB USB Stick for Ready Boost
    400W Yumcha PSU (I know...waiting on the PC&C 1KW PSU to come down in price a bit!;) )

    I want a faster STALKER experience goddamn....or at least full dynamic lighting that can hold 30FPS+!:paranoid: :lol: :D
     
  9. Bert

    Bert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    My biggest suggestion would be CPU and/or Video upgrade on that one.

    My rig:

    AMD 4800+ X2
    2 Gb Corsair XMS
    DFI Lanparty Ultra Mobo
    2 x 150Gb Raptors (Raid0)
    1 x 320Gb WD
    MSI 8800GTS video
    X-Fi extreme music
    16x DVD-RW drive
    Thermaltake Kandalf case
     
  10. kona_boy

    kona_boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,132
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    ^^ close thread ^^
     
  11. TX3

    TX3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,561
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I see nothing wrong with your system, but if I wanted to be nitpicky I would have gone with more of a gamers RAM. Other than that just make sure your peripherals etc. are upto scratch (m/kb, monitor, spkrs)

    Mine:

    Motherboard: DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
    CPU: 3700+ San Diego
    Memory: OCZ PC3200 CL2 (4x512MB)
    HDD0: Seagate 36GB
    HDD1: Seagate 250GB
    DVD: Pioneer DVR-110
    Video: BFG 7800GTX OC
    Sound: X-Fi Exterme Music
    Speakers: Logitech Z-640
    Monitor: Samsung 913N
    Mouse: Logitech MX1000
    Keyboard: Logitech G15
    Case: Lian Li PC60
    PSU: Enermax 600W


    EDIT: lol, timing me :p
     
  12. Deckham

    Deckham Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,964
    Location:
    Essendon, Melbourne
    This idea is kinda useless without listing what you use the PC for...
    Anyway - time to get a dual/quad core for you. Maybe a DX10 card if you game. That 36gb raptor is looking tired. Oh - and your monitor is a little small, don't you think? Bleh.

    6600@3.2ghz
    P5B deluxe/wifi
    2gb Supertalent 800mhz
    7900gs
    Tagan 650w
    CM Stacker original
    Audigy II
    2x 250gb WD Sata
    2x 300gb Seagate Sata
    2x 20" BenQ LCD
    G15/MX1000 (changing to MX Revolution in a few days)

    * Very light gamer.
     
  13. Tobes1990

    Tobes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,136
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    More RAM. 4gb for vista would be good. Also a DX10 card, for vista.

    Laptop: Dell Inspiron 6400
    Core Duo 1.73Ghz
    1x1GB DDR2 somethingorrather...(one stick for upgradeability)
    80GB Hdd (70gb acessible.....)
    Mobility Radeon x1400

    Ill get a portable hard drive soon.

    Desktop (Family PC, I dont use it much anymore)
    A64 3000+
    2x512mb DDR 400 Corsair XMS
    6600GT 128mb DDR3 AGP
    GA-K8NSC 939
    1x40gb Hitachi IDE Drive
    1x80gb Maxtor IDE Drive
    Thermaltake Truepower 480W (16A + 17A 12V rails.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  14. sealish

    sealish Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Melbourne's Wild West
    Don't know much about laptop upgradibility so for your Family PC - More storage space! Regardless of what you do on it, you can always use more HDD's - a couple of 320Gb's would go down well as replacements.

    E6400 @ 3.2
    Scythe Ninja
    Gigabyte DS3P 3.3
    2Gb Kingston 667 @ 800
    ASUS 8800GTS 640Mb
    80Gb (Vista be here)
    320Gb (XP install and other crap)
    120Gb IDE (just cause it wasn't being used)
    Pioneer 212
    Pioneer 110D
    OCZ Gamestream 700w
    MX5000 bluetooth kb/mouse
    Chi Mei 22" LCD
    Creative 2.1 something speakers (no space for 5.1 in my room)

    It's all packed into a Cooler Master Centurion which feels lacking in space with all that so my next upgrade was set to be a new case or a second 22" LCD. What does the next poser think?
     
  15. the _rick

    the _rick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    3121
    nice rig, but all in a Centurion? get a decent lian li or stacker.

    now me
    my rig mainly high end gaming and watching stuff
    E6600 (stock)
    P5W DH Deluxe
    XFX 8800GTX (stock)
    2gb gskill HZ (default spd @ 266, loose and slow)
    2 80gb SATA II raid0 (15% left)
    250gb storage SATA II (5% left)
    watercooled (Cathar's G4, MCP655, GT240, all nexus fans)
    GB Aurora Black (customized, nexus all round, 4:3 drive cage, killed leds)
    Corsair HX620W
    pioneer 112D black
    std M$ keyboard
    G7 Carbon
    Z5450
    Dell 2407WFP
    XP Pro

    edit: cheers s3kemo, that's what i was thinking, though not and X-Fi, perhaps a claro, but definitely storage, perhaps 500GB
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  16. s3kemo

    s3kemo Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,889
    Location:
    in a house
    the_rick: pretty easy - more storage space and/or X-Fi sound card.

    My system (be gentle!):

    Dell Dimension 4500
    Pentium 4 Northwood 2.8GHz (533MHz FSB)
    768MB DDR-266
    20GB (boot drive)
    80GB (storage drive)
    Pioneer DVDRW
    Lite-On CDRW
    128MB Radeon 9200
    SB Live Value!
    Logitech Z-560
    MS Keyboard and Intellimouse Optical
    Dell 15" LCD

    Shit, forgot to add that it's my 'everything PC'. I game (BF2, TOCA3) but obviously can't play games I wish I could run, but can't. I listen to music, watch DVDs, surf the net and occasionally do assignments for uni. Heh.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  17. Bar182

    Bar182 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,346
    Location:
    Hawthorn

    Dual 22" screens
    Antec Nine hundred case
    New room (So you can get 5.1 :D )
    More hard drives (You can never have enough hard drives :) )

    My system:

    A64 3000+ skt754 w/ stock HSF
    K8NS-Pro motherboard
    200Gb Seagate SATA
    500Gb WD SATA
    Gainward 6600GT
    Geil DDR500 DDR1 ram
    TT Tsunami Dream case
    No Speakers
    24" Dell LCD Monitor
    Crap mouse and Keyboard (MX-700 died)

    Dont play games anymore, basically for watching/encoding movies, internet, work.

    I need a shitload of upgrades! too bad all my money is going to my htpc and probably a media server :(
     
  18. Display Name

    Display Name Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    ooh, tough one... pretty much depends on your usage though (i'll assume you don't game)... i'll resist the urge to tell you to upgrade cpu/mobo/graphics

    my suggestion: up the ram is always good, and 15" is quite small and lcd's are real cheap these days (if i were you i'd go 19").

    now, my system:

    E6300 @ stock, with Big Typhoon
    P5W DH Deluxe
    160Gb HDD
    2x512mb DDR2 OCZ RAM
    7600GS
    17" CRT

    Now I'd add what I use it for - games (mainly only been cs, but would like to get into more current games), application work (general word, internet, music etc...).

    Budget: $400 (maybe stretchable to $500)

    Cheers
     
  19. Ghoatman

    Ghoatman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,832
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, 4558
    Upgrade to a second hand card off here, and upgrade to 2GB RAM.
    Should be able to sell the 7600 and 2x512MB to get a bit more cash together.

    My system:

    Opteron 165 - 2.4ghz
    DFI SLI-DR Expert
    2GB G.Skill
    7800GT
    X-Fi Xtreme Music
    Silverstone ST65ZF 650W
    2x250GB WD SATA2
    2x120 Seagate SATA1
    1x320GB WD SATA2 16MB
    Dell 2407 A02
    G15/G7

    Video card upgrade methinks. :D Resolution of the 24" doesn't go well with a 7800GT.:paranoid:
     
  20. Namheul

    Namheul Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,683
    Location:
    Victoria
    Looks pretty damn nice to me. :)

    Mine:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Dual Core
    Gigabyte M61VME-V2
    512Mb DDR2
    80Gb + 120Gb + 250Gb
    Onboard Geforce 6100
    Chimei 22" LCD
     

Share This Page