Recommendations on Photoshop tutorial

Discussion in 'Graphic Design & Digital Art' started by Madengineer, May 28, 2017.

1. Madengineer

Madengineer Member

Howdy guys,

Can anybody recommend a decent photoshop tutorial?

I've got some photos that I need to 'merge' together, and I'm trying to figure out how to do it.

When I installed Photoshop I said I was a beginner, and I thought it'd have at least a walk through tutorial but there was no such thing.

Also, is there an option to turn on labels for the tools?

Cheers

MadE

2. Bastard Child

Bastard Child Member

What does merge mean to you?

3. Madengineer

Madengineer Member

I've gotta chop some parts ok f various images into one

4. Bastard Child

Bastard Child Member

Mad I'm at work at the moment but have a look at YouTube - phlearn. That Aaron comes across well.

My workflow is - duplicate background and hide original from view

Open (or copy/paste) second image onto a new layer.

Convert that 2nd pic to smart object.

Open the smart object in New window and use a layer mask to remove unwanted surrounds.

This preserves data.

Noob method will probably be - paste image to new layer and use the eraser tool to remove unwanted surroundings (ctrl + alt + Z to step back mistakes). But hey, it works too kinda.

5. deluxe

deluxe Member

Photoshop layers can be copied between files easily- open the files you need and select areas with the square marquee tool then copy/paste into the target image. Put them on separate layers to allow yourself the freedom to move around.

You'll be doing a lot of masking using marquee and lasso tools to select areas that you want. One of my personal favourite methods is using the quick mask functionality which allows you to 'paint' masks onto the image which then become a selection.

If you are trying to blend things smoothly i.e. not do a 'hard' cutout, you can make a selection and then Feather it- this creates a soft-edged shape.

6. isaakk

isaakk Member