Telstra's DNS servers?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by neogeo, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. neogeo

    neogeo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Sydney
    could anyoen tell me the DNS numbers for telstra broadband cable ?

    and also the authentification number or soemthing ?

    sorry for sounding like a noob..lol cos i am

    i need them to get my computers networked sharing the same internet connection? they were recently reseted somehow??

    thanks guys :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2004
  2. flagger

    flagger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,169
    Location:
    4074
    try 61.9.128.14 and 61.9.128.15
     
  3. BoutS

    BoutS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,868
    Location:
    International
    Actually 61.9.128.13 & 61.9.128.14
     
  4. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
  5. BoutS

    BoutS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,868
    Location:
    International
    they 'were' correct.

    My bad, they no longer workin.
     
  6. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    isnt .13 the victorian heartbeat server?

    i have 61.9.128.13 as heartbeat
    and
    61.9.128.14 (ns1)
    61.9.192.15 (ns2)
    61.9.128.15 (ns3)
    in my router config.. name servers are automaticaly detected.. and i looked on ozcable guy and it said my ns2 61.9.192.15 is a nsw name server

    [edit] just checked that ozcableguy link and what ive said above is correct
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2004
  7. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yep .13 has always been the heartbeat login server, only your second .14 DNS address will work correctly BoutS..
     
  8. flagger

    flagger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,169
    Location:
    4074
    yer i was just grabbing the ip's off the top of my head since we use all of em at work. i just knew the 128 ones were there, and it really doesnt matter what dns ip you use, its just gonna add a few more ms while it resolves.
     
  9. maddhatter

    maddhatter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD.
    I always use 139.130.4.4
    and throw in iinet's 203.0.178.191 for good luck in most cases :)
     

Share This Page