Temperature needed to mold perspex? And laser cutters in Brisbane?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by fxr91, Nov 23, 2004.

1. fxr91

fxr91 Member

I am looking at molding a piece of perspex (normal 3mm case window thickness) but need a bit of info first. I will be doing it in my home oven and need to know what sort of temp and time frame would I be looking at so it doesn't melt but gets molded to the shape I want? Or can't it be done in the home oven?

Also after somewhere in Brisbane that does laser cutting, as I need a some stuff cut into my case and want it to be spot on, not look cheap :p

Just getting some info before doing a case mod ;)

Last edited: Nov 23, 2004
  2. Kenetixx

Kenetixx (Banned or Deleted)

Im no expert o n this but i have tried a few different ways to mould Perspex
    I have tried the oven way, which wasnt very successful as it gets to hot to fast and all the perspex went white , but was easy to mould. I then used a heatgun and slowly heated it up worked well but ook a while to do , it depends what sort of shape you want to do with it? A good idea that works well for right angle bends is use a toaster if you have a wide toaster that is , heat the perspex then bend it worked well for me.

3. Gazzmo

Gazzmo Member

Is it really perspex (a fibreglass derivative) or acrylic ?

4. methodMAN

methodMAN Member

The toaster is the best for bending perspex, especially the ones that you can make only 1 side heat up, ovens dont really work at all, gets to hot and the perspex goes white and shitty looking, and the heat gun is the best for making all different shapes moulds and bends.

methodMAN

5. fxr91

fxr91 Member

OK. I want to try and mould a dome into the centre of a pane of the stuff which will become a case window. How long does it take using the heatgun to do anything?

As for perspex/ fibreglass, it is the same stuff as you get from places like Bunnings, whatever that is :)