X99 memory speed

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Lostnewb, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. Lostnewb

    Lostnewb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Perth
    If using an I7-5xxxK cpu, is there a ram speed cap? That is, is it worth getting 3200MHz instead of 2133MHz for the older type cpu?

    I realise faster ram is better, but just not sure how it works.
     
  2. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    I run 3000, there shouldn't be a cap as such, some of the lower end 1151 H/B chipsets will only run the base 2133, but they're a fair way from X99.

    As for whether it's worth it... you're on an overclocking forum.
     
  3. Lostnewb

    Lostnewb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Perth
    Sweet, wasn't sure how this worked. And I haven't run stock speeds in.. 5 years now ;).

    Thanks bud
     
  4. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    No worries, it's pretty much the same concept as the different DDR3 "speeds" that you've probably come across before, the board will default to the standard 2133MHz and whatever the base timings are for DDR4, and then you overclock it to where you want it, or where it's rated.

    Just watch it if you use the XMP profile on the RAM, I've found that pretty hit and miss with the few of X99 boards and RAM combos that I've used, including mine. The main thing to watch, is that even though they will go to the correct frequency and timings, they sometimes will leave the voltage on 1.2v, whereas my Corsair Vengeance LPX DIMMs, for example, are rated for those settings at 1.35v. I had similar issues with the 1600MHz profiles under Lynnfield before they went to the low power stuff.
     
  5. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    970
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    On X99:

    "ram speed cap" (as you put it) is determined by:

    - The strength of your IMC <-- silicon lottery that one :(
    - The type of ram ICs <-- not easy to find and info not released for public knowledge, Sammy B-die tends to give great results on X99
    - How well your board/bios version likes your ram <-- luck of the draw there I am afraid
    - You experience/ability to overclock on X99 <-- that is a given right?? not just turning on XMP...haha...BTW...XMP...... :sick::thumbdn:

    If you can get to 3200 quad channel with tight timings at 1.35v at 100 base clock stable then you are doing very well for X99.

    i7-6xxxx has reported to produce higher mem clocks than previous gen.

    Proof in the pudding is submitted results on hwbot.org. :thumbup:

    EDIT: Oh forgot to state, 16GB kits will be less stress on the IMC than 32GB or higher, more volt changes required to get higher capacity stable...that being said...sometimes easy...all about points listed above. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2017
  6. Lostnewb

    Lostnewb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Perth
    Sorry to be dense, but to ask the question:

    If I'm after 32GB mem, does that mean I should be looking at a pair of 16GB (4x4GB) kits at 1.2V to be able to run it at 3000MHz reliably using either a 5820k or 5930k (whichever comes up for sale first)? Or will it still be the same stress on the IMC as a single 32GB kit? Board I'm using is a asus x99 deluxe.

    I'm not going for extreme OC, just a nice stable one.
     
  7. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    i believe 8x4g would be harder on it than 4x8g
     
  8. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    970
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    If you want a 32GB kit and want less chance of incompatibility then check out the memory QVL list of your board.

    This is pretty much the only qualified kit that is rated for 3000 and available for sale new.

    No need to buy 2 x 16GB kits. As poster stated above, the more physical memory sticks you have, the harder it will be on the CPU's IMC.

    You don't need to only use ram that is on the QVL list, however be warned that some kits may not work well with your board, or even worse not even post (I had a Gigabyte SOC Champion board once that would not post with a particular corsair kit i had).

    Regarding X99 memory OC, most platforms can get to 2400 ~ 2666 without too much fuss and run stable, after that, the factors listed above in my first post can come into play.
     
  9. Lostnewb

    Lostnewb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Perth
    Good stuff, ordered that kit (got to come from USA though).

    Just got to get a cpu now then I'm golden.

    Thanks for the advice :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2017
  10. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    970
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Now I suggest you do not use XMP, instead manually enter the primary times and set base clock to 100.

    set voltage for the rams to 1.35v. 1.2v will not be enough to get to 3000 (from my personal experience over the years).

    some IMCs are weak, and using a higher strap pf 125 will get it to work to 3000.

    There no certainties..but trail and error should get you there.
     
  11. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    i dont have x99 but i have seen mentioned a few times that 3200 is easier to get working at 100 strap than 3000?
     
  12. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,127
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    I have one of the worst boards for memory speed (X99E ITC/AC) and I run 2x 16GB 3200MHz just fine at XMP (1.35v and 1.05v changed to 1.1v).
    Check for firmware updates, they're almost always going to be RAM compatibility updates in them :D
    On your QVL, go with the brand that has the most 3000/3200MHz confirmed modules.
     
  13. i7Baby

    i7Baby Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    289
  14. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,907
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus
    IM a fan of XMP, it did wonders, and im running DDR3 at 2400mhz. Cant complain!
     

Share This Page