0x0000008e

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by MadOnion87, Aug 17, 2002.

  1. MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    i keep getting this bsod
    when i search it up, it says ram issue
    but some times it quote "nv4_disp.dll" in the bsod
    i'm tried swapping ram slots and no help
    i'm using kingmax 2x256mb ddr-333
    with a 8k3a+ with bios 26.x something
    and my vga is triplex gf4 ti4200 with DetXP 30.83
     
  2. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,614
    nv4 refers to your vid card drivers.

    try updating to the latest detonators. (or an older one if you already have the latest)
    also try updating your via 4in1's (assuming that mobo uses a via chipset i'm not familiar with it.)
     
  3. zeuss

    zeuss Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Hawthorn East, Melbourne
    does it say 'infinite loop' anywhere on the bsod?

    i've got a feeling you're getting the same prob as many other people..
     
  4. Skitza

    Skitza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,772
    Location:
    In your street
    yeah try a bios update or Via + vid card driver update....
    i used to get that problem
    and i still get this error but no bsod :

    AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to read from an illegal IO port address (0x71), which lies in the 0x70 - 0x71 protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

    try disabling your acpi, that might fix it.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    ok
    i will try updating my bios and the via 4in1 driver
     
  6. Lurk

    Lurk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Dandenong Vic
    I had this problem untill the weekend
    i had a dicky piece of ram and after running the system on 1 piece then the other i found out which one and achange it

    no all okay

    the reference to nvidia could just be what the memory was referencing at the time and be of no great importance....
    this would be dependant of the context that it was mentioned in the BSOD.....
     
  7. OP
    OP
    MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    well all it said was the 0x0000008e ( sumfing here)
    and the nv4_disp.dll was quoted in **
     
  8. Lurk

    Lurk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Dandenong Vic
    well this cant hurt
    try taking a module out for a day
    if all okay then put the other module in
    if all okay IM WRONG...:rolleyes:

    if not all okay then replace faulty module.....:p
     
  9. OP
    OP
    MadOnion87

    MadOnion87 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    they all ok
    but i might try flashing to new bios
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: