10th gen Intel Desktop Comet Lake CPU(i9 10900K, i7 10700K, i5 10600K, i3 10320 & Z490)

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Azzan, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I bought some stuff from Bob b4 and they were all mint condition(at least outside) and i'm still using em and they all work fine with 0 issue.. :thumbup:
    n cpus are super durable unless u really cook it.. so u should be 100% fine with that 10900KF imo..
     
    Zarok77 likes this.
  2. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney
    just kidding, i am sure it would be a good cpu :thumbup:.
     
  3. Matthew Harvery

    Matthew Harvery New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Okay so what exactly is the difference between a threaded an non threaded CPU?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah should last ages.. one thing I really didn't like about 9900KS was the one year warranty.. (it just sounded very dodgy)
    imo both Intel and AMD should just offer 5 years warranty on all CPUs.. cos they shouldn't die in only 5 years even if u overclock it and run prime95 24/7 with sufficient cooling. (it might hang/crash overclocked if u dont have good cooling, but still won't die)

    Would you feel comfortable driving VF Commodore SSS with extra 20kW over standard SS but only 1 year warranty? :D
    (I'd probably worry a bit every time it revs to 6000rpm..)
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2021
  5. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney

    I am the only one that buys cpu's and not even look at the warranty??? The only purpose i would keep the receipt, just in case of resale it. There's some really safe buyers out there LOL.

    Definitely would go for the 20kW extra ahah
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Well let me just put it this way.. even the very unfortunate Mr Spit(who bought like 10 faulty new high-end GPUs last year) never purchased any faulty CPUs(and as you know he bought plenty & also oced em to max all the time).. :upset:
    I always want invoice if I buy any used good with warranty, but I don't really care about the warranty on CPU.

    Up to you.. but don't rev it over 6100rpm, or else.. :sick::tired::p
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2021
    Zarok77 likes this.
  7. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney

    ahah
    let's wait till He's ban finish so can defend himself from all this accusations lol
     
    Azzan likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol wat accusations? he told me himself how unlucky he was.. n sick of doing ra all the time.

    It wasn't his fault cos he always got full refund or new replacement from all the manufacturers and retailers.
     
    Zarok77 and mattio84 like this.
  9. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah you're right mate :thumbup:
    question here is : are 1.95v vcore enough to run a 3090 at 2200mhz or a 10900k to do 5.5ghz ?? :shock::Pirate: if yes you're in tittle to get refund :D:D.

    I am concerned to imput that value as dram voltage most of the time:(
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not sure.. but Spit knows wat he's doing with the voltage since electricity is he's expertise.
    I don't know exactly wat he does with his hardware, but don't think he goes too hardcore.. he broke the 40K on Superposition without using the secret 1000W 3090 Kingpin bios when he had access to it.
     
  11. hYpz0r

    hYpz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Templestowe, Melbourne
    Considering direct die for my 10900k. I know it's risky but my chip is pretty damn hot.
    Currently running a coolermaster ml360r and the finish on the bottom is brushed rather than mirror. Will this cause any issues with contact to the die/liquid metal?
     
  12. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,812
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    thoughts on 10100F ? seems like a win at quad core + HT for a cheap htpc build ( and in stock.... )
     
  13. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep, you need a mirror finish to use liquid metal :thumbup:. Custom loop + delid = much better temps less power consumption too imo
     
  14. hYpz0r

    hYpz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Templestowe, Melbourne
    Thinking of adding 2 more sticks of viper 4400 to my setup but I don't wanna sacrifice performance.
    Correct me if I'm wrong but chances are I'll need to lower clocks and system latency will go up?
    I'm running an Aorus pro ax and 10900k
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you are just running default XMP then it should be fine..
     
  16. hYpz0r

    hYpz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Templestowe, Melbourne
    I'm running 2 sticks at 4400 17-18-18-38. I'll probably have to retweak those yeah?
    I'm at 1.3v vccsa
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Depends.. (on your CPU's IMC, Mobo & RAM etc) but like I said if that's your default XMP then you should be fine.
    You might have to play around a bit if that's your are manual oc settings.. personally I wouldn't worry too much about max memory oc(cos difference is only noticeable on bench) and if you need 32GB then you should just get another 2 sticks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2021
  18. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    chainbolt and Zarok77 like this.
  19. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Sydney
  20. @sia@home

    @sia@home Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,507
    When you go from 1 Rank to 2 Ranks per channel your bandwidth will go up by maybe 7%, and your maximum clock speed will go down by about 10%.

    When you go from 1 Rank to 2 Ranks per channel your VCCSA and VCCIO will need about 50-70mV more to be stable from what I have read. 1.3v VCCSA and VCCIO is already above what I would use day to day.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: