1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

10th gen Intel Desktop Comet Lake CPU(i9 10900K, i7 10700K, i5 10600K, i3 10320 & Z490)

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Azzan, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    i'll have a look at them! i'll probably grab two kits- thanks again for the advice!
     
  2. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Great- good to know.

    Im running the MSI Z490 Godlike-
    I've disabled Intel Speed shift, TVB Voltage Optimisation, TVB Ratio Clipping
    Running Ring Ratio at 4900ghz and all cores at 5.2ghz at 1.32v
    CPU ratio mode: Fixed mode
    CPU Core voltage mode: Override mode
    LLC- Mode 4
    CPU Ratio offeset when running AVX- turned this off (running it at 0 so when i benchmark it doesn't drop performance in high AVX workloads)

    From my understanding LLC stops your vcore from dropping voltage when you are doing CPU intensive tasks?
     
  3. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Also cheers to everyone for all the advice re ram and overclocking the 10900k.

    Appreciate it!
    :)
     
  4. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    upload_2020-6-14_13-35-12.png


    This is what I've got my RAM running at now: just over 4268mhz at 18,19,19,39. Is this ok?
     
  5. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Perth
    This is definitely fine you can probably go 4266C17-17-17-37/or C17-18-18-38 @1.4V even assuming your kits can handle it but do check your VCCSA and VCCIO voltage to make sure they do not go over the 1.35V and 1.3V respectively, if your CPU IMC cannot handle that dial back to 4000-4133MHz that would do. Again this is based on the assumption your kit version number is 4.31/4.21 not 3.xx.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2020
    tullyscurry likes this.
  6. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,570
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    The MSI I had + average 8700K fed IO and SA sub voltages @ 1.419v it's just as the processor needed or bugged lower manual settings in benches.
    Processors same model all behave different. I've seen them low as 1.22v IO and SA then alot more like 1.34 SA and 1.24 IO
    But unhealthy above 1.4v prolonged periods. As dudes doing 4600 mems + they push settings up for stable. Some IMC are just rubbish.

    That testing cannot be found till you have proven good rams sticks. Some processors hate it. 8086K does not like above 4400 mems
    Although latter board Apex 11 that's a different bios making it possible will boot same scenario 4500+ mems.

    Point of diminished returns. 32GB on an Intel modern IMC. High frequency + tight timings is a compromise. Strength of IMC again.
    _____________

    I have never seen a processor yet " as this Scum member bought 9900KS " can do. I had forgot swapping out old for new.
    System booting a full 16GB @ 4000 cas12 1T. They just don't make it to windows. :thumbdn: None I tested till then did. Normally you set a small limit for windows to run.
    eg Physical if you had x4 4GB sticks you remove x3 of them. Same type of theory maxmem booting windows.

    Ha sniper beat me too it :tongue: Yep just about to say cas17 is doable little experience
     
    tullyscurry likes this.
  7. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110

    Lads ever since doing that memory clock I'm starting to get kernel security check failure bsods.

    I've reverted back to the original xmp profile, but its still happening. Doing a mem test now and ill roll back my cpu overclock in case that's causing it.
     
  8. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    I reverted bios to default and turned XMP off...Its running all cores 5.3ghz in games but is hitting some high temps (between 70-80c) in prolonged game session....but the vcore is running on default anywhere between 1.5-1.56....crazy.

    is it a possibility that I was starving my CPU of power at 1.34 at all core 5.2ghz?
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2020
  9. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,570
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    1.5-1.56 not good.
    Just run less multi and less Vcore it's still fine/ fast :thumbup:
     
    tullyscurry likes this.
  10. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Is that normal for default? Its just the default bios as a I reset via cmos.
     
  11. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,570
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    A basic AUTO bios. It is that way so you can boot + run any quality processor.

    Learn your mutli + the Vcore it likes. Simple testing is Cinebench R15.
    https://forums.overclockers.com.au/threads/9900ks-basic-testing.1273677/

    Until you tame your beast it will do overshooting and drive the temps through the roof.
    Processors all the way back to Sandy Ivy can be treated the same.

    eg. If you find your low volt for 50x multiplier is say 1.3V ... then perhaps a 1.35Vcore manual setting can be good for harder uses of that processor.
    Small adjustment in the following weeks you learn what it likes :thumbup:
     
  12. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    sydney
    Well my status has not changed since it arrived in Sydney on 11/06/20 at 1207pm :(
     
  13. Edward05

    Edward05 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Dont feel bad i have a case iam waiting on from pccg it arrived in adelaide on Fri 5 June, Arrived at my local PO yesterday,
    Arrived at facility WHYALLA SA, Only took 9 days to leave adelaide but was sent frm pccg on Wed 3 Jun

    So with my experience with delivers thru this covid shit, Is only regular parcel post is slower then normal express there is no hold up, If a place sent me something express today id have it wenesday

    And to top it all off the case still even is not onboard for delivery, Might go to the PO and grab it
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2020
    chilli likes this.
  14. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Perth
    Perth seems to get much faster deliveries probably due to the geographical location to the UK.
     
    GoneFishing996 likes this.
  15. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Perth
    Saying that, my other 10 core I ordered and paid for is still not in stock :(
     
    chilli likes this.
  16. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Perth
    Still got the other one fitted though so no big deal :D
     
    tullyscurry and shane41 like this.
  17. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    sydney
    And on the 11th day its arrived yay, start this build tomorrow I hope, I intend to do an instill of Win10 Pro on USB key created by Media Creation Tool I have my original Key, anyone see any problems with this method ??

    Kinda dissapointed I did not know about the other type of Ram available on OCUK now, oh well such is life.

    mobo& ram.jpg
     
    GoneFishing996 and tullyscurry like this.
  18. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Looks awesome mate!

    How old is the windows 10 file on usb? Other than requiring a few updates, can't imagine there would be an issue!
     
    chilli likes this.
  19. Edward05

    Edward05 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    148
  20. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,189
    Location:
    Kellyville
    hmm, I am still bit torn whether to wait for stock of 10600k or just get 9600kf now, so cheap at $379 and can be clocked a bit to get more performance.

    or 2nd hand 9700K ?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: