1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

10th gen Intel Desktop Comet Lake CPU(i9 10900K, i7 10700K, i5 10600K, i3 10320 & Z490)

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Azzan, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. Edward05

    Edward05 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    148
  2. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,188
    Location:
    Kellyville
    hmm, I am still bit torn whether to wait for stock of 10600k or just get 9600kf now, so cheap at $379 and can be clocked a bit to get more performance.

    or 2nd hand 9700K ?
     
  3. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,102
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    I wouldn't get either 9600k (and to less extent 9700k), they won't last similar to what happened with 7600k vs 7700k, 7600k is now completely unusuble for many games as not enough threads while 7700k is still holding in. There's already games where 9600k loses out in either avg or 1% frametimes eg from techspot review. Next gen consoles have 8c/16t (basically a 3700x) so 6c/12t 10600k is a bare minimum imo. 10600kf for $450 if you can get one is an ok deal.
    upload_2020-6-16_14-15-50.png
     

    Attached Files:

  4. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    sydney
    I just created the USB 2 days ago , I notice Win 10 update on my laptop this morning to 2004 so not sure if I got that update or not.
     
    tullyscurry likes this.
  5. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Perth
    9600kf was like 289 before the corona virus hit Australia, avoid this thing at the current price and grab a 9700K at least if you want to future proof.

    Looks like the OEM 10700K is currently only around 550AUD PP on Taobao, so tempting to get one from there instead of waiting for 10600K, hard to say no to the extra 2 cores :p
     
  6. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,188
    Location:
    Kellyville
    I never bought anything from taobao, would prefer to buy locally for warranty purposes. maybe I'll just bite the bullet and pay the premium. My PCCG cart is at $4300 for a new setup (cpu, ram, mobo, case, silent fans, kb, mouse, few hdds and ssds, no gpu) ... just uhming and ahming if I should do it as I dont game heavily but like to upgrade every 3-4 years to a decent high end HW (not top end)
     
  7. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    I a lot of higher end computers at the moment aren't having the 2004 update pushed to them- my 10900k based pc (and 9900k before that) both weren't considered 'ready' by Microsoft. They stopped pushing to certain motherboard and cpus due to a number of driver issues (one friend has a nine series and after the 2004 update had to reinstall windows completely as it wouldn't recognise his gpu anymore).

    Anyhoo- TDLR- probably good its not a 2004 v. Windows 10!

    Are you using the same install HDD/SSD? If you plug that in as is it should just utilise generic drivers and start working accordingly- unless you want to do a complete clean install!
     
  8. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    sydney
    I am going to do a clean install as I have new M2 SSD to put the OS on
     
    tullyscurry likes this.
  9. tim05

    tim05 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10
  10. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    Melbourne
  11. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,188
    Location:
    Kellyville
    can someone recommend a motherboard for 10700k CPU from PCCG? I am struggling picking one.

    ideally full size atx ... budget up to $500 , dont need wifi just want quality reliable board with basic/decent OCing capability. Dont care about brand, needs to be able to run 4000Mhz RAM.
     
  12. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Location:
    Perth
    The Z490 Aorus Elite board I'm using has been very solid so far. $400 board, handles my 10700k fine and has no problems running ram 4600mhz+ (if you have the sticks and imc for it).
     
    Omarko likes this.
  13. Edward05

    Edward05 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Msi tomahawk is an alright board but i'am so used to asus bios i get lost in the others lol, So i just stick with asus i bought the Rog Strix Z490-F
     
    AMD180 and Omarko like this.
  14. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    sydney
    I am a confused , on my MSI Unifi there 2 - 8pin connectors for CPU power do I have to connect 2 CPU power cords from PSU ??
     
  15. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Perth
    One 8 pin is fine, 2nd 8 pin is most likely optional
     
  16. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    sydney
    What is the purpose of the second one then just curious
     
  17. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,524
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    You don't need both plugged in. But if you do, it is there to help reduce the draw through just one connection (under high loads you can feel if the wires are getting warm).

    Think of it as having both connected even the load on the rails of your PSU. Make sense?
     
    chilli likes this.
  18. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Perth
    better to have it and not need it rather than need it and not have it is my view :)
    You should have more than 1 CPU outs on your PSU
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2020
    chilli likes this.
  19. chilli

    chilli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Location:
    sydney
    I am only running on 1 power line to CPU ATM
    Just trying to solve other things ATM I was going to do clean install, it even asked me what drive to install it on as it had spotted the M2 ssd but some it did not install it on that and the clean install went on mr original SSD, any way I will sort this out eventually.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,667
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yep they'll work fine, but I can sell you better 32GB kits(G.Skill Trident Z Royal 4000C18 or 4000C15 kits) if $$$ isn't issue.. pm me if you are interested.

    I'd recommend MSI Z490 Tomahawk(gg budget board) or Unify(if you want top oc capability) or any MSI Z490 mobo between those two. I went for MSI Z490 Gaming Carbon cos Unify was out of stock.. :( and now I regret not waiting for Unify.
    I don't overclock(maybe for quick bench, but not for daily use) but I'd still prefer to get Unify over Carbon for little extra.

    It comes down to your CPU and overclock.. one 8pin is fine since you have 10700K on your sig, but for overclocked 10900K you need 2x 8pins(or at least 8pin + 4pin).
     
    chilli and Omarko like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: