10th gen Intel Desktop Comet Lake CPU(i9 10900K, i7 10700K, i5 10600K, i3 10320 & Z490)

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Azzan, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Sign you guys up for the ROG approved program :D
     
    Zarok77 likes this.
  2. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2,900
    Location:
    Perth
    Until the Dark comes out :D
    It is the best board at the moment .
     
  3. tullyscurry

    tullyscurry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Hey guys,

    Just checking in- hoping everyone is kicking along well. 10900k I've got stable at 5.3ghz all core now. MSI Godlike mobo has been pretty decent so far.

    Also picked up ASUS ROG SWIFT PG35V Monitor...200hz, G-Sync Ultimate HDR1000- Running pretty nicely.

    All Set up, just need a 3090 now :D
     

    Attached Files:

    Zarok77, walker_2003, jjjc_93 and 2 others like this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,991
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What was the memory you tested on those mobo, i.e. brand/model? cos I think certain brand/model can have conflict with some mobo.
    I could only run 3600C14 with G.Skill Trident 4133 on Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite, but others didn't have any trouble running XMP or higher on diff mobo with same RAM. But I could run XMP fine with Team Xcalibur 4000 on same CPU/mobo so obviously it wasn't due to CPU/mobo limitation.
    Also I don't think higher CB score = better mobo performance, cos that's most likely due to slightly higher fsb(or w/e it's called now days) and/or other bios settings.
    I remember when back in the days when Abit made best overclocking mobos, they also had fastest fsb in the bios.
     
  5. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,046
    Location:
    Perth
    The biggest difference in scores between boards when overclocking is the subtimings and rtl/iols set. The way they are set automatically between boards varies and Asus also have their maximus tweak and preset profiles to make it easy to get those closer to optimised. Other boards you are on your own and some of the rtls/subs I saw on default training from gigabyte were pretty loose to begin with. If you can dial them in yourself the scores mostly fall in line, it's just easier on some boards than others.

    Score variances at completely stock settings are due to vendors setting their own boost power settings and breaking the intel spec.

    Bclk variances are small and are neither here nor there.
     
    OC d likes this.
  6. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,255
    Are there any decent guides for those timing settings? I've had a play in the past, but it's hard to tie any real meaning to them. Without understanding the meaning, it just feels like fiddling knobs.
     
  7. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Best advice go look on HWbot. Plenty of dudes show timings in their screenshots. It's an open book :) all the info is there.
    Then you can get an aida app going and dial in faster
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,991
    Location:
    Melbourne
  9. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Yeah I don't get it, is it only advertising or a game/ voucher/ movie included :confused:
     
  10. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12,920
    Location:
    Canberra
  11. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,255
    Just wait till they start using the last digit to differentiate some infinitesimal difference. 10853aplhabetkek

    Possible examples:
    X full cores, Y with HT disabled.
    X full cores, Y with a bit extra cache disabled.
    X full speed cores, Y with a lower max multiplier.

    Possibilities are endless. Though some would probably require OS' to support it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  12. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
  13. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,991
    Location:
    Melbourne
    But KA(Avenger) models are much faster than K oc.. i.e.
    10900KA > 10700KA > 10600KA > 10900K > 10700K > 10600K > 3950X
     
  14. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    I don't get the hype? Is it just artwork?
     
  15. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    i think i saw you get a voucher code for the game, by redemption. or something.
    it'd want to be. but hey, extra 10900k(x) stock is welcome, in any form, and will sell like hotcakes regardless.
    intel knows whats up
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    shane41 likes this.
  16. OP
    OP
    Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,991
    Location:
    Melbourne
    bro.. it's The Avengers!!! even the trailers got like 1 billion views on youtube.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  17. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,842
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Cartoons right :rolleyes: Does not put a woody in my shorts. Eh well I must admit :Pirate: I liked wonderwoman.
    So cute taking on the villain.

    Azzan 0 t8y 1 :thumbup:
     
  18. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Sydney
    10900KA are rated SP199 :shock:
     
    Azzan likes this.
  19. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,046
    Location:
    Perth
    No game included, the marketing makes 0 sense to me lol

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've used the same kit all the time gskill 4266 c19.

    The elite actually can run ram very fast, you need to activate ram odd ratio ;).

    Latecy not low as apex, but way better tham msi:thumbup:
     
    t8y and jjjc_93 like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: