1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

10th gen Intel Desktop Comet Lake CPU(i9 10900K, i7 10700K, i5 10600K, i3 10320 & Z490)

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Azzan, Dec 30, 2019.

  1. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,689
    For those wanting a "cheap" 10 core intel CPU

    $649 plus delivery (free delivery if so buy a bunch of parts)
    https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/565216

    I guess the question is whether the 10850K are a poorer bin of the 10900K
    or are they the same. and intel simply "dropped" the price of their high end CPU, without having to give rebates to suppliers with existing stocks of 10900K...
     
  2. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,707
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Low bins Kelvin. Chances of a fast OC one is less.
    On HWbot saw 10850K member doing 51x 1.4v :thumbdn: Reason why cheap

    edit. Chance may be hotter running one's more common
    Yeah soldered is not good. Very different knocking lids off and finding nice even temps are there :shock:
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2020
  3. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    meh, a lot of guys just dump x volts into the chip to be sure it runs the benches they are doing.
    they may be changing the CPU speed a lot on the fly so knowing the voltage is good for whatever they decide to throw at it that day, makes for one less thing to worry about.

    if the temps are fine, who cares on vcore - in the short term lol

    that said, if he was posting a legit "this is all it can do" type post, not just something you saw in a ramdom bench result. then yeah.. thats another matter
     
  4. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,707
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    Good point. So goes and looks at x265 4K :wired: The processor killer
     
  5. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,454
    Location:
    Perth
    99% of the population doesn't care about hwbot or benchmarking. Virtually no performance difference stock v stock vs a 10900k for less than the 10700k. Good indication of where intel is sitting in the enthusiast market at the moment..
     
  6. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,707
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    We are not talking rest of people out of here Jack. Man I'd just grab a 3900x or whatever is cheap AMD 8core coming up next general duties.

    If it's advice offered for overclockers ;) Then F a gimped one.
     
  7. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,707
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    What has been the best water cooled 10700K found so far :confused: I could be tempted
    9900KS here gets on 54x
     
  8. demowhc

    demowhc Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,867
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not sure but mine is 5.3 all core 24/7 1.38 under load (1.368v bios). Someone with a good chip and knows what they're doing could surely get more out of it.
     
  9. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    698
    demowhc what board are you using
     
  10. h2oxide

    h2oxide Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,789
    Location:
    Perth
    How're you pulling 1.38v under load when you're BIOS is set to 1.368v? :confused: Assuming that's legit (highest LLC), please please please add some vdroop.
     
  11. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    Possibly some offset being used


    Or yeah, the world's most aggressive LLC
     
  12. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    698
    Gigabyte z490 elite was doing that with me. Set a fix vcore then board feed it more voltage :shock:
     
  13. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    Some pll bug in gigas causes that, iirc from late night drunken reading..
    Supposed fix is leave it on auto but manually set vcore anyway. Ie Dont use the fixed voltage option etc, leave that auto, then manually input desired volts.

    The more i use this board the more i start to hate it, tbh.

    Edit;
    One example lol, Was stuck in an "unrecoverable" boot loop yesterday for instance, after updating one of the bios w/ qfash. Looped for an hour+
    Both bios were affected tho i only flashed the one, locked it to that one too.

    Fix for that was holding power button while off, it boots then shuts down. Few times of that, to force bios to crack shits and realise something was wrong, and override the constant reflashing.
    IMG_20200914_164414.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020 at 8:52 PM

Share This Page

Advertisement: