1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

120fps X-Fire or SLI Battlefield 4 Ultra/1440p experience ???

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by dzajroo, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. P00peyes

    P00peyes Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Werribee, Vic
    Unless I missed it in a previous post, you neglected to tell us what GPU's you're using

    edit:

    I see...

    What about without the AA? That seems a lot lower than I would have expected..

    What CPU/chipset you running?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013
  2. C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,205
    Location:
    Melb, East
    CPU is irrelevant, both gpus are @ 100%. To many ppl exaggerate leaving others with unrealistic expectations including yours.
     
  3. makros2k1

    makros2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Rockhampton
    I'm running 780ti's in SLI @ 1600p, in BF4 I'm generally sitting on 100-140fps with everything on ultra.
     
  4. XaM117

    XaM117 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Newcastle
    So 2x 290s would keep this above 50 FPS at 1440p? As soon as I've rid myself of
    the guilt and realise I've had a good year I'm thinking about buying them.

    Thanks,

    Xam
     
  5. munchkin1

    munchkin1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,657
    Yeah, I'll believe it when I see it, if it's actually 30% I'll likely sell my 770's and finally cross back to amd...
     
  6. P00peyes

    P00peyes Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Werribee, Vic
    I disagree...

    Ahhh... wtf?
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  7. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,727
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    frame:20666

    time(5 mins)300000
    min:29
    max:129
    avg:68.887


    thats all ultra but no AA 2560 1600 at the beggining of tagashar or whatever it is when you need to start off to old town
    lots of rockets and booms and too many deaths

    card was 1150/1400 (tried 1500 for the ram but got my first black screen and on rebbot it screwed up my memory overclock on the main system..so yeah...wierd.

    oh fx8350 @ 4.5
     
  8. OP
    OP
    dzajroo

    dzajroo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    anyone with MP FPS? SP seems to be really hardware hungry compared to MP. For instance I'm getting around 60-70fps in MP but SP it's more like 40-50fps

    damn would be nice to finally see some none-reference cards also some mantle benchmarks AMD please ?
     
  9. Chardiieee

    Chardiieee Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Clayfield, Brisbane, QLD
    I plan on getting a single 7970, watercooled and fully overclocked (future plans to have 2 in xfire) and using a Qnix 27" 2560x1440 overclocked to say 90Hz.

    What settings and average framerate could I expect with this in BF4? The second 7970 will definitely help, but that probably wont happen being so close to xmas.
     
  10. Razorz

    Razorz Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just to put my experience in,

    After an hour of BF4 multiplayer at 2560x1440 with everything set to ultra and 4 times AA and SSAO rather then HBAO, I get 95-100 fps constantly. If I lower any of those settings I get 130 FPS+

    That's all on my 7990 at stock clocks

    :)
     
  11. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    13,884
    Location:
    Canberra
    if you arent running windows 8.1 do that, its like i added another 680!
     
  12. Foles

    Foles Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Darwin
    Yeah much the same on my 2x7950s with a minor o/c. Been turning AA off for 120fps pruposes on the qnix though. On the other hand you can add a fair bit of resolution scaling if you just want 60fps which is pretty handy for a $400 2nd hand gpu set up. What do people think of msaa vs resolution scaling btw? I like it, but my eyes aren't that great and I don't focus on the scenery all that much anyway so I haven't paid much attention to IQ.

    Is that from windows 7 to 8.1 or windows 8 to 8.1? I haven't bothered getting the update to 8.1 cause I think 8 and 8.1 perform the same?
     
  13. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,201
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    I run CF290X WC'ed setup with 3930k @ 4.5 (4.8 for benching).

    At Ultra settings - campaign as low as 60's as high as 180's.. Sits around 70-90.

    At ultra settings MP in some maps 100-160 (avg 120 odd) others 70-120 (avg 90 odd)

    This is true ULTRA not ULTRA with this and that and this turned down.

    At a custom ultra with 2xMSAA the frames go up to 90-140 (avg 110ish)- even higher sometimes. I am running Cat 13.11.9 Beta 4s which actually seem to score lower in 3dmark by about 6-7% so not sure how that would go with BF4 but they have been 100% stable and not one issue in any game so not changing at this stage until WHQL.

    I personally run at 2xMSAA, no need for anything more at 1080 - so take 20-25% or so off my FPS and you will have approx what you will achieve in 1440p

    I haven't tried to tune the settings in any other way like others here - ie HBAO etc, just dropped down the AA.

    I am convinced you work for Microsoft!

    But when I get my new SSD in the near future I will give win 8.1 a whirl - better be worth the pain! (Thinking on just waiting for 8.2)
     
  14. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    13,884
    Location:
    Canberra
    haha i was very anti win 8 until program called start8 came along :thumbup: but trust me your minimum fps will be 100 on windows 8
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2013
  15. OP
    OP
    dzajroo

    dzajroo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Well at least according to Jurjen Katsman from Nixxes (doing Thief port to PC), 20% performance boost is not unrealistic. Also Johan Andersson, Technical Director DICE announced that Mantle won't be implemented to BF4 earlier than end of December (my bet is Q1-2014). Damn where are all the non-reference models or R9 :confused:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: