1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

3 phase hoist on single phase

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by CacTuar, Sep 24, 2020.

1. CacTuar

CacTuar Member

So I'm an electrician but I did the AC machines modules 16 years ago and I very rarely deal in industrial electrical work.

A client has a car hoist with 2 x 2.6kW 3 phase motors on it. They are currently wired in delta. The controller seems to just be two sets of 4 pole contactors that are interlocked and just swap one of the phases so that the motors run one way or the other, depending on if you want the hoist to up or down.

He only has single phase available on site.

What's the best way to leave him with a functional hoist? Change the 3 phase motors to single phase ones? Get a 1 phase to 3 phase changer?

If you recommend changing to single phase motors, any suppliers you know of that could help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

2. Fred Nurk

Fred Nurk Member

Reversing single phase motors is either a pain in the arse, or not possible, depending on the specifics of the motor.
    VSDs can do the single / 3 phase conversion, but there's a number of catches, including the need to oversize the drive by at least 100% to compensate, and ensure that the motor is the correct voltage to get away with it (VSDs are all sorts of magic, but they don't create 415V from 240, the best you'll get is 3 phase 240...)

There likely isn't an easy or cheap solution here.

3. OP
    OP
    CacTuar

CacTuar Member

Thanks for the reply. If I was to use a VSD and wire the motors in star, would that work? I know the thing would be slower, but would it be an option?
    And yeah, not expecting any option to be cheap :wired::sick:

4. JSmithDTV

JSmithDTV Member

ShadowBurger likes this.
  5. heller44

heller44 Member