1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

3000 series undervolting

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by micsway123, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    ok so I decided to give undervolting a crack on my 3080 ventus and much to my surpise the results were better in all categories.

    0.875v at 1950mhz saw a 10c drop in temps, 10% drop in fan speeds (stock curve) and boost in superposition score (10,890 vs. 10,623), in game I see a 3fps drop in AC:V which is worth it for me.

    Even added 500mhz to the ram speed as it doesn’t seem to effect temps much.

    keen to hear what results other people are getting with their 30 series undervolting.

    Edit - I've found 0.875v too low at 1950mhz in long game sessions, have settled on 0.9v at 1950mhz
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2021
    Bertross likes this.
  2. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,411
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The RTX 30 series don't scale upwards with voltage well it seems.

    1950mhz @ 0.875v seems to be a popular level to run these cards at. Trying to push an extra 100mhz reliably needs the full 1.05-1.1V which juices up pretty hard. To be fair, it does bring my average in Cyberpunk 2077 at 3840x1600 with RT on from about 67fps up to 71fps which does help, but yeah not sure if it's worth that extra 130W power.
     
  3. The Beast

    The Beast Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,506
    Location:
    Gaufres. Bière. Chocolat. Moules Frites.
    How are you guys reliably undervolting? Creating a curve in AB or using the force constant voltage option?
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    only way I know. MSI afterburner.
     
    jakes likes this.
  5. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    I'm using 1800 @ 850 as the 'daily driver' for when I'm not using any intensive games and it works fine. I have some higher presets I was using for doom/cyberpunk, higher impact games.
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    1800 a bit on the low side? How’s temps ?
     
  7. macktheknife

    macktheknife Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,890
    ~10 degrees lower than stock when gaming.
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  8. ska'

    ska' Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,780
    2000 @.9v on water.
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    Nice. Will try this. Does the card run solid at 2000 under load?
     
  10. woja

    woja Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Sydney
    https://imgur.com/a/V8XeuPa
    For general gaming, mines at 1830 @ 850mV.
    The Zotac runs a bit hot but I'm not sure if its just because it's in the FT02 with the rotated motherboard. At stock it goes over 80 and fans start screaming like a banshee.
    This way it still runs well enough for Warzone and Cyberpunk at less than 73.
    Jealous of everyone else that say theirs never go above 60 haha.
    Definitely thinking of putting a waterblock on it.
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  11. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Melbourne
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 Ultra

    1920MHz @ 850mv,
    +1200 Memory,
    fan at 70%,
    temps in the low 60's. (last time i checked)
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  12. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,095
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic

    I have a lowly PNY3090, running 0.875V and 2010mhz for gaming/daily use. Temps gaming ~45 C and heavy benchmarking ~52 C, very nice and stable under water....I had to import the EK Quantum block, but it is indeed running very well.

    ps: Oh yeah, before I forget, the Gigabyte OC 390W bios flashed too....
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2021
    woja and micsway123 like this.
  13. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    nice, curious why the change of bios?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    nice memory OC, make much difference?
     
  15. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,095
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    I found I was hitting the power-limit quite early, probably 1875 MHz or so. Flashing the 390w bios actually allowed me to go up >100mhz average clocks during full-load conditions, at the same time slightly dropping the gpu voltage by a tiny bit....but anyway, happy with it, very stable in everything I have thrown at it.

    A good test will be this weekend when we are running an iRacing 12hour endurance race at Bathurst....will be a good test/workout for it...
     
    woja and micsway123 like this.
  16. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,965
    Location:
    South East QLD
    Are you managing to use 100% gpu in iracing? Surely by now it's comically easy to run
     
  17. mrbean_phillip

    mrbean_phillip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,095
    Location:
    Doreen (3754) Vic
    It’s an absolute thriller to run, very tough on cpu (physics) and gpu, if you are running high-res VR headsets, like the Reverb. Crazy stuff, can just about turn all settings to high in the graphics GUI. But still a few things to low or off, as the engine is evolving all the time, with new features putting increasing demand on hardware.

    It however doesn’t load the gpu 100%, due to the 7900x bottle-necking. I will assemble my 5900x AMD setup over the few days, hopefully it gives me a bit better performance vs my old Intel system....

    Anyway, if you’re running a single-screen, or even 1080 triples, my system will probably allow it to max out all the eye-candy...
     
    mesaoz likes this.
  18. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mining ETH is seem to, and it depends on the game how much difference it can make.
     
  19. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    is there any guides towards undervolting?

    7900x overclocked? i feel like mine is being bottlenecke by my 9980xe.... i get really low GPU scores on 3dmark timespy. my i5 8400 and 10400 gets much much higher GPU scores
     
  20. Bertross

    Bertross Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    13,787
    Location:
    East Gipps
    Last time I checked I couldn't undervolt my trio X 3080. I need to try this again
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: