32*1.5tb drives.. what PSU?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Adzgibbo, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    i need the 2 into 1 so that when i turn on the button.. both PSU's turn on..
     
  2. Goonit

    Goonit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    Pics or it didn't happen :confused:

    Current setup would validate your setup for me.. That's some serious storage!
     
  3. GrimRe

    GrimRe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    mate are you storing uncompressed 24-bit 4:4:4 1080p video or something? hahah
     
  4. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294

    Sorry but gibbo will need a psu that supplies 1 single 12v rail not 6 rails. As he will not be need high end vga all the 6 rail psu's will supply you about 40amps for vga and 1 single 12v rail for hdds and molex. Thus this allowing you about 20amps for all you hdds.

    All because as 6 rail psu says a total of 100+ amps pretty much means youll NEVER BE ABLE TO DO THIS. This is because youd need to fill up each rail with the max amperage and for what rail has been designed for. so youd have to fill up the cpu and mobo rail, fill up the pcie rail. fill up the sata and molex rail. You can just add 30 hdds thinking you can use amps from other rails. You just cant

    A single rail PSU is the only way.


    My mate which gibbo knows has 40x 1tb hdds and has had to install 4 psus as he has gone with 2x 1500w TT and 2x 1200w TTs. This is because the use a multi rail design and supply piss all to the sata rails and molex.

    Id reccomend the silverstone decathlon. This supplies 1200w @ 1 single rail at 90AMPS so nearly all of this can be used for HDDS

    OR

    Id reccomend 2x Corsair HX850 (prob cheaper than 1 silverstone) This psu is a single rail design and suplies a 12v rail at 70amps.

    as I have 16x 1.5tb seagates and the starting current is over 40amp. but once in windows the will run at less than one amp.

    So he can either get a PSU to handle all spinups at once or can use his raid card to do staggered spin up (which I hate).

    Anyway gibbo hope this helps with ur noob question. lol

    Catcha
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
  5. cdtoaster

    cdtoaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,706
    Location:
    Tokara forest
    are you trying to beat matt?
     
  6. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Sup Tim, see my post in modding?

    LOL I think he is, The thing is with matt he doesnt care anymore, Has has 40tb of hdd space and will get home from a lan and his pc will sit in the lounge room till next lan.

    LOL.
     
  7. noobmastery

    noobmastery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Sydney, 2111
    Did he end up getting those two twelve hundred cases welded for that or still using the PC-201?
     
  8. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Still using the Lian Li

    He got the 2x 1200s

    We starting stripping em down, Took out a few pop riverts and the case pretty much fell apart and all bent so we chucked em

    He also got 2x Codgen Server case that are these weird Dual sidded cases. But the works are still in progress for that.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    Matt has no chance he will never get more data than me.. I want to build it up because it will be so much more easier to upgrade better design than my previous servers... and will work out the best for size..

    might go a single 1200w..

    will see how things go..
     
  10. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
  11. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    ~$2500!!!!

    /faints
     
  12. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Thats prob the cheap part of the system. The raid cards would be at least $1200 each.

    And all the HDDS will cost like $4k
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    i want it to be portable.. ive got 2 rackmount servers 1 finished 1 not yet.. (got to wait for the computer desk to be finished) before going any further..
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    Yeah one 24 port adaptec card will be about $1600 and 30 1.5tb drives.. will be about $3600
     
  15. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,012
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    man, some people have alot of time and money on there hands ;)

    But awesome having unlimited storage id say, with the internet plans these days why not? Just store the whole internet on ya PC! :lol:

    Would like to see a worklog of the 32x 1.5TB's please, as i would like to slowly cream my pants as i browse the pictures :weirdo:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    hahah no worries.. once i get some more parts ill start the log.. drives are going to hurt the most..
     
  17. rowan194

    rowan194 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,030
    I still have the 6 CD set of The Whole Internet (1995) on my bookshelf. ;) :p :weirdo:
     
  18. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,012
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    i can imagine, 32 x 1.5's $$$ BIG BUCKS!! ($105 or so each? ) $3360 wow!

    . Why do you need all this storage? i reckon 20TB these days is effecient enough!!! But dont get me wrong, with HD movies taking over people need more space.....:o
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    ahhahah win!!! is there a 2009 collection :p
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    have 20 now.. but need more.. yeah the HD section loves the bytes..
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: