32*1.5tb drives.. what PSU?

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Adzgibbo, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. noobmastery

    noobmastery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Sydney, 2111
    pffft, 36 got nothing on 50
    [​IMG]

    All in a nice 9U enclosure, yours for only $10670 delivered
     
  2. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,266
    Location:
    The Internet
    Why do you need them all in the one machine? A couple of Norco cases with 16 or 20 bays each would probably be cheaper than that Lian Li case + all the caddy things you will need.

    Of course then you need another motherboard and other parts but the secondary one could be less powerful and just feed data between them using iSCSI or something.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    i want to be portable.. and for it to be a single unit.. so easy to take to LAN's etc.. i did think of iSCSI.. or a big SAN..

    so far this is the best way for me at the moment..
     
  4. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,266
    Location:
    The Internet
    Fair enough. I'd be bloody careful moving that though. Probably OK if you can roll it everywhere but lifting it would be a bitch.

    My server has 20 or so drives in it and it is a major PITA to move (lian li large tower).
     
  5. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,045
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
  6. Goonit

    Goonit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    That much storage is a wank seriously. I don't believe anyone could honestly use more then 5TB, for personally use.

    SHOW ME PICTURES OF YOUR CURRENT SETUP!
     
  7. HeXa

    HeXa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,216
    Location:
    Canberra, ACT
    how is 50kg+ portable? :p
     
  8. Sundarjee77

    Sundarjee77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,252
    Are you on 56k or something? I'm severely limited by hdd storage I could fill 5tb in just over a year, and thats not even taking into consideration porn or going to lans.
     
  9. noobmastery

    noobmastery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Sydney, 2111
    I feel your pain there, i have a lian-li (PC-201) with 18 HDDs in it, PITA to move to LANs. Recently added lian-li casters to it so i can at least roll it along flat surfaces.

    Gibbo loves showing off how much data he's got at LANs, and i'm happy to use the 80MB/s i can pull off his box:p
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    I have around 6.5tb of SD TV..
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown
    it will be over 400mb.. if you have quad NIC's..
     
  12. noobmastery

    noobmastery Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    888
    Location:
    Sydney, 2111
    You know i can't afford that
    Also dont have any large enough PCIe slots to install one as they're used for RAID cards
     
  13. Sundarjee77

    Sundarjee77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,252
    How much do you download a month? I thought this was going to be for raw hd video data not creative commons music and linux isos :p
     
  14. Goonit

    Goonit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    So what raid are controller in those setups?

    I didn't ask how much data you have, I asked to see your current setup? ;)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Adzgibbo

    Adzgibbo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Unknown

    hahah.. i have 2 adaptec cards a 3805 for the little server and 31605 for the big server.. im going to get Adaptec 52445 to start with.. and work on another one for the rest of the drives..

    i will take some new pics and up them..


    btw i have alot of "RAW" videos and alot of MS SPLA/Action Pack ISO's and gig and gigs of LINUX ISO's and backups of DVD and VHS.. More info in my sig..
     
  16. missingo95

    missingo95 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Sydney
    Adaptec 52445 can not detect 1.5TB seagate drives. well mine couldnt on the 7 drives i had ;x

    the lian li is good but a little small to work with (had 2) id really suggest to hold off for a while for 2TB hiatachis to come down in price which are part of the adatpec supported list and you will have some room to move for more drives.

    5in3's are a must for the Lian li as with 30 drives the lian li vibrates the cables out ><
     
  17. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,045
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    with what?

    heres another one, without piracy...how much would you use? ;)
     
  18. rowan194

    rowan194 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,030
    Doesn't need to be pirating. I download triple figure gigs each month, but it's for business purposes. I also have a truly unlimited ADSL account, and pay a hefty premium for it. :weirdo:
     
  19. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,045
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    if its for buisness, thats different, its not personal storage

    i have 100mbit unlimited..i still dont get anywhere near 5tb a year

    edit- im not being an ass about pirating, im just pointing out that this is a public forum...and basically saying "i leech at lans" is declaring piracy...so just watch out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  20. hdkhang

    hdkhang Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,231
    Location:
    Sydney
    Agreed on the leech at LANs part... but if you have a sizeable CD/DVD/BluRay collection which you then proceed to store on your hard drives you could fill up quite a bit, if you then do a lot of recording of OTA HD TV then you can also fill up quite a bit.

    I roughly calculate that if I were to store all my DVDs on my server, it'd take up close to 5TB, now imagine if all those DVD's I bought now became BluRay (which is likely to happen in the future) then multiply that figure by say 5 - you are now at 25TB.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: