3770k + p67a-ud7-b3 overclock

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by obit11, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Hey guys.

    I bought a p67a board (solely for the fact it was a ud7 (wankfactor)) and it seems you can't put the multiplier past x39. What would i do in order to achieve a high multiplier?

    I have a 2700k handy, but id rather use my 3770k. But i guess i can if i must.

    Cheers.
     
  2. ginger_nuts

    ginger_nuts Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Morphett Vale, SA
    The board dont support the 3770k. Thats why.

    It should happily play game with the 2700k.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Does support it with the latest bios. I want to OC though.
     
  4. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
  5. OP
    OP
    obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Ill see if some of those steps make a difference. But literally, the muliplier wont go higher then 39. I just have it set to default settings etc. I'll try disable the things suggested and see if that makes a difference.

    It seems to be a common thing. Ivy Bridge on the p67a-ud7-b3 having locked multipliers.

    Cheers
     
  6. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Nps - need to know your settings - otherwise were just guessing.

    AUTO OC always fail.
     
  7. C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,092
    Location:
    Melb, East
    I've seen this before with similar hardware (UD3 or something) on 2600k. Would not overclock at all (only to max turbo multi same as yours). Was a specific bios revision that borked it as I always update to the latest bios when I get a new mobo.

    Good thing was that it was not possible to downgrade the bios at all so basically screwed the whole mobo.
     
  8. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,207
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    are you changing base or boost multiplier, use boost.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    Here is a gif of it. https://imgur.com/KTv5jw8 as you can see it literally just ticks back to the start??

    Bios version is F7. 3770k. 16gb ddr3 1600mhz. Gtx 1070 h100 water cooler.

    Let me know if any further info is needed

    Cheers guys
     
  10. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,714
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Enable the Intel Turbo Boost as terra stated and try there (that is setting the multi on each core).

    Also the CPU PLL should be Manual.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/910467/the-ultimate-sandy-bridge-oc-guide-p67a-ud7-performance-review

    Change those two settings and see what happens?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017
  11. OP
    OP
    obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
  12. C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,092
    Location:
    Melb, East
  13. OP
    OP
    obit11

    obit11 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW
    It was the latest. I just went back to my semi dodge z77 ud5 for now. Seems it was a common problem. And never rectified since gigabyte love $$ lol
     

Share This Page