1. Win some Crucial goodies in OCAU's Christmas Treasure Hunt!
    Dismiss Notice

3770k / Z77 UD3H OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by dinkleton, Jul 7, 2018.

1. dinkleton

dinkleton Member

Hey guys,

I'm trying to squeeze a bit more out of my Ivy Bridge 3770k and G.Skill 1600 DDR3 before I upgrade.

If I bump up the multi to say, 40 as opposed 35, I can run stable at 4.0ghz, I can even bump it up to 4.2 using the multi.

As soon as I increase the CPU frequency, even just a tiny bit, the PC doesn't boot. My guess is the RAM doesn't like the jump in CPU frequency, but I'm no expert. I thought the G.Skill modules were fairly good overclockers.

It's not a heat issue or anything, if it was then surely it would boot long enough for the heat issue to arise? Is there something I am missing?

2. C-BuZz

C-BuZz Member

Not sure what your saying here mate. You state you can bump the multi up to 42 without a problem, then state as soon as you increase the cpu frequency ? Bumping the multi IS increasing the cpu frequency....

Or do you mean the frontside bus ? It's not the ram that's an issue if your just increasing the multi on the cpu, as the ram speed doesn't change.

You can't really mess with the FSB on newer platforms like this for overclocking. You need to change the Multi & Ram frequencies individually. Not bumping the FSB.

3. Esposch

Esposch Member

Are you touching the voltage at all? Each CPU will have a safe rated voltage specced by Intel that is usually higher than stock.

4. OP
    OP
    dinkleton

dinkleton Member

Sorry wrong choice of words! I can't even understand what I was trying to say haha.