3d printer troubleshooting/tweaking/building

Discussion in 'Hobby Engineering' started by rockofclay, Aug 14, 2020.

  1. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Cheers, also I have a Mega instead of a Uno so I take it I am still fine as they are much the same.
    I can just get a cheap Uno clone on ebay.

    Edit do you happen to have the ender 3 stock board settings I could use?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2020
  2. uLa32

    uLa32 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    western suburbs, vic
    sorry all gone now. i used this guide though: https://howchoo.com/g/mge1mdfkzjv/ender-3-bootloader-firmware-update-marlin got everything going on first go.
     
  3. yeahbabi

    yeahbabi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    sydney
    It probably comes with thermal protection,
    but to make sure, connect the printer to a computer/raspberry via usb and send M115 command,
    it'll tell you if you have it or not.

    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  4. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Will do that when I get it, any particular software I need for doing that?
    Very new to all this I guess octopi pc server can until I get a pi.

    Edited to fix up typos
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  5. Butcher9_9

    Butcher9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413
    Location:
    Perth , St James
    I still have my stock ender 3 board and am in Perth.

    I would tune the retraction settings and maybe also look at coasting .

    As for the print times. If you are running very high travel speeds as you mentioned in a later post and the slicers have different acceleration settings that would radically affect print times. Your printer most likely has a default acceleration around 500m/s/s as that's pretty common.


    FYI, Octoprint is great.
     
  6. yeahbabi

    yeahbabi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    sydney
    pronterface from the computer or octoprint from the raspberry.
     
  7. Outcast_Aussie

    Outcast_Aussie Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Peterboro, Distro:Ubuntu
    Groan.. the heated bed has just failed. Aint stopping now at 69 hours in lol
    I assume a wire has fell off !
    The print banding is probably because the temperature here has just changed from 32c (about 40c in my shed) to "Build an Ark" ie: Raining Cats & Dogs @ 17c
     
  8. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Cheers will check that out as well may check OctoPrint on my PC as theres a windows version of that.

    What Pi's and cameras are you guys using for OctoPrint?
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2020
  9. m3k

    m3k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    oh boy, failed heatbed- might be broken connection due to no strain releif
     
  10. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    What do you all print for testing sample packs and filament?

    m3k what are you printing there?
     
  11. m3k

    m3k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    cute octo says hello or benchy is my go-to filament test - oh nothing i was just reacting to the video
     
  12. Butcher9_9

    Butcher9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,413
    Location:
    Perth , St James
    I am using the Pi Camera V1 of Ebay, there are better ones but it was cheap and works well enough. The Pi3 i use tends to heat up if i run the camera at too high a res anyway so i think i'm at 1280X1024 or something like that.
     
  13. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Ahhh cool.
    My info from the printer.
    Firmware is 0.6 according to the lcd.

    Screen Shot 2020-08-18 at 7.42.25 pm.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2020
  14. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    My first print obviously failed.

    IMG_20200818_203457.jpg
     
  15. m3k

    m3k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    if thats marlin 0.6 - just fyi 8bit boards go all the way to 1.9xx and 64bit boards are recomended to run off marlin 2.1
     
  16. m3k

    m3k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    889
    but i mean- marlins sort of buggy in general i often suggest using classic jerk nowdays still
     
  17. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Here is what the LCD says for firmware.

    IMG_20200818_195744.jpg
     
  18. Revenger

    Revenger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    Armadale / Perth
    Second attempt going much better a ittle sticking issue though.
     
  19. Outcast_Aussie

    Outcast_Aussie Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    Peterboro, Distro:Ubuntu
    We all have failures... there usually about 70 hours in !!

    My case just failed after 73 hours... Layer shift !
     
  20. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,678
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    That might just be the creality version of their build, not the marlin version they used to build it.
     
    m3k likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: