3x DELL S2721QS Displays just went bad!

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by alexc, Sep 18, 2021.

  1. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Seems impossible!

    I've got 3x DELL S2721QS Displays purchased a couple of months back.

    1 went bad last week, and Dell quickly sent me a replacement.

    Then literally 15 mins ago another went bad, then just then, the last one went bad!

    I guess there is a reason they are so cheap!

    2 were hooked into my Mac mini directly, and the other via a Dell DisplayLink hub!

    What happens:
    • It's like they go super low res with banding.
    • Then they start flickering. Mostly bottom right quarter and along the bottom edge.
    • I just pulled the HDMI cable on the last one and the image stayed on the screen but ghosted out!

    The white square in the image is me removing my personal info :)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Opticon

    Opticon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Although I haven't had a complete failure like yours has, I bought 2x of these in a sale and 1x a month later for a 3 monitor setup and I've been quite disappointed with these monitors.

    Issues:
    • Windows 'Night mode' wouldn't work properly across all monitors, some would do it, some wouldn't.
    • Monitors would randomly flick the display on/off (as if the monitor disconnected), it would happen on 1 monitor and the other 2 were fine but then the next day another monitor would do it etc.
    I played with all the settings and even went and bought 8k DisplayPort cables etc and it still kept happening.
    Dell sent out 2x replacement monitors and even they had the same issue.

    What fixed it:
    • Downloaded and installed DisplayFusion, created a monitor profile to force the monitors to 60Hz and they stopped flicking on/off

    I suspect it's something to do with my RTX 3060 being DP 1.4 and the monitors only being DP 1.2
     
    z3099528 and alexc like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm chatting to the Tech Support via Whats App right now.

    Clearly they put the 'B' team on the weekend shift :-/

    You cant call or do normal tech support chat on Weekends.

    I'm going around in circles with this muppet!
     
  4. Opticon

    Opticon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I used WhatsApp with them as well and it's useless, different Tech's kept asking the same question and not bothering to read up to see that I was already asked the same question multiple times
     
    alexc likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Finally!

    90 minutes on Whats App LOL

    I guess it's supremely hard for them to understand that two monitors could go bad... Let alone three!

    All from the same manufacturing batch though!

    I pointed out the tech that I have 11 monitors in my house LOL.

    So yes, I've tested them and other monitors :lol:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Adelaide
    100% this.

    Totally different experience to the office hours Website based chat support!

    I did the grey test screen for them and took a picture the tech was like "looks fine to me".

    And I'm like... Bro... seriously - it's brightness flickering! The static image you requested wont show that!

    I then also had to explain that the frequency of brightness flickering made it hard for my 60FPS iPhone video to demonstrate ! :-D
     
  7. Opticon

    Opticon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    In case someone comes across this with the same issue one day, I think I've managed to fix this without DisplayFusion now, no flickering for 24hrs and Windows still shows the screens at 60hz and Night Light is working on all screens.

    1. Right-Click on the desktop > Display Settings
    2. Scroll down to 'Graphic Settings'
    3. Enable 'Hardware-accelerated GPU scheduling' and restart
     
    bobsled and alexc like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: