4 Way Interleave

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by Biovore, Jul 1, 2001.

  1. Biovore

    Biovore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    Hey guys,

    I'm after the program that enables 4 way Interleaving on the P3V4X. It was on the old OCAU forums. I can't remember who wrote it, but it was only a tiny program that ran at startup. And, no, it's not WPCREDIT. If anyone has it or knows the location or a decent equivilent , please let me know.

    Taa,
    Biovore
     
  2. Pitstop

    Pitstop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Gosnells, Perth, WA
    Do you mean this little program?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Biovore

    Biovore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    Actually, I didn't mean that proggie, but I tried it out and it works so it'll do.

    Thanx.
     
  4. Bort

    Bort Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The one from the old forums was beta4w, and it was put out by slop. I don't know if slop has rejoined these forums yet though.
     
  5. Dr Kildare

    Dr Kildare Medic!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,905
    Location:
    Melbourne
  6. OP
    OP
    Biovore

    Biovore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    yeah beta4w

    yeah beta4w was the one.....but that Memory Enable dealie does the job....
     
  7. Odd

    Odd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hello!

    You can find Beta4w here; http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/slop/beta4w.com . The link came from Gf FAQ and I do not realy know which version it is. Put the program in yor root folder C:\ if you have your OS on C:\ and type a line as `beta4w xvFF´ whitout qoutes in your autoexec.bat. :)
     
  8. PersianImmortal

    PersianImmortal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,054
    Location:
    Canberra
    I still use that program...very useful. It's the enhanced version of the original Beta4w. The additional instructions in case you're not aware are (from the accompanying txt file):


    You can now pass command line arguments to alter more registers.

    usage, beta4w [x][v#]
    x - write FF to registers 50 and 51
    v# - write hex value # to register B1, and 00 to register B2 (hex value must be 2 digits)

    eg, beta4w vCB
    would enable 4 way interleaving and change AGP drive strength value to CB.


    I find that an AGP driving value of FF (along withe reg hack) has allowed me to run AGP4x on the P3V4X + Creative GTS flawlessly. I tried other driving values but I get graphic freezes.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Biovore

    Biovore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    539
    Thanks guys...nice to see the old P3V4X forum isn't dead.....
     
  10. tdreamer

    tdreamer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    Trouble with Video

    Greatings to all tweekers from a new member !
    Thanks for the tip Dr. Kildare !
    I got it , but Sandra still shows 2x interleve ?
    I'm trying everything now, I have a problem with AOpen PA 256 GTS PRO not being recognized on cold boot (post beep codes=
    1 long+ 3shorts),Monitor does not start at all. I tried all I know , but can't get it to work.
    Also I can't restart the system only shutdown.Frequent BSOD
    OE 0187:BFF9DFFF.
    I know You Guys/Girls Can help me.


    My System:
    P3v4x / Bios1006.002
    PIII 800@1008 With Alpha cooler
    256 MB /133 Mhz Micron @126 Cas2225
    AOpen PA 256 Geforce 2Pro Deluxe /32 MB
    SB Live
    Viewsonic PS 790 Monitor
    Creative PC DVD Dxr2
     
  11. PersianImmortal

    PersianImmortal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,054
    Location:
    Canberra
    Get WPCRedit from http://www.viahardware.com and look at registers 64-67 (they correspond to your 4 RAM DIMMS). The DIMM in which your RAM sit should have a BIN value of 10 as the last two digits (click in the register and look at the bottom of the screen for BIN value, it's an 8-digit number).

    If indeed all your DIMMS have a 10 at the end of the BIN value, then forget what Sandra says. If they don't then the 4-way interlave prog hasn't worked. Look at the program's output in the DOS window to see what message you get.
     
  12. phoenix

    phoenix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Re: Trouble with Video

    from memory (sold my p3v4x some months ago) the beep code youre referring to translates to "Videocard unworkable or not found".

    Make sure the GTS is securely mounted - perhaps take it out and reinsert it.
    May also help to clear the cmos.
     
  13. tdreamer

    tdreamer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Canada
    I got it !
    Thanks PersianImmortal. Sandra is showing 4 way !

    To Phoenix!~
    I tried it. Still NG. I'll try FrogMaster MOD on the weekend.
    Will post results later
    Thanks.

    I opened a new thread about P3v4x tweeks. Maybe You can add some of Yours experiences.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: