4870X2 plus 2 x 4890's in crossfireX..Bench results page 2 & 3. (56k no no)

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Alba, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. porridge

    porridge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm pretty jealous . :sick:

    Looking forward to how some more games go. :thumbup:
     
  2. DualBios

    DualBios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Mackay
    love the work mate, would love to see what you can archive
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    HAWX benching.
    This is with just 2 x 4890's, got a bit of a weird issue with them atm so I was just testing. Will do some testing with an X2 in there soon, plus some other games.
    CPU- i7 950 @ 4GHz
    2 x 4890 @ stock 900/975

    The 1st 3 tests were done in DX9, the last 3 with DX10.1, for all tests settings are all at their max apart from AA which was changed from 2x to 4x to 8x.
    Gotta say DX10.1 looks amazing, it's almost like a different game compared to DX9.

    Tests are all done using the ingame performance test. Res is at 1920x1200

    1st up the settings
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    DX9 2x AA
    [​IMG]

    DX9 4x AA
    [​IMG]

    DX9 8x AA
    [​IMG]

    DX10.1 2x AA
    [​IMG]

    DX10.1 4x AA
    [​IMG]

    DX10.1 8x AA
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  4. mangus1000

    mangus1000 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Albury NSW
    dude that is an awesome rig! nice work.
     
  5. Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Something other than HAWX plzthx! :D
     
  6. stablez

    stablez Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,038
    Location:
    Humidycrib
    That looks real splice.
    can you if no hastle post an image of whole system in works with the WC set up and case etc..

    Your always transformimg in your hardware. Whats this 1 look like i look foward to.
     
  7. Punster

    Punster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    902
    Grabbed myself a 4870 to go with my 4870x2 today, will be interesting to see how I go against your results so far.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Cheers mate

    Coming up, did crysis, will post results soon. What other games are worth while benching. Dont have to many games atm. I have left 4 dead, is that any good? If there's some game you wanna see and if it's not to big to download, even a demo, but better if it has a built in bench so it makes things all equal.

    Yeah it changes quite often, but atm it's like the pics on page one. I'll take a pic of the whole thing though if your interested.

    Those results so far are just with 2 x 4890's at stock clocks of 900/975. Last night I flashed both with the xfx black edition bios and now stock clocks are 1000/1000. Just did a 3DM06 run at 1050/1150, hope to get a bit more of of them with a bit more volts. Also I have a 3rd card coming tomorrow.

    I'll try to get around putting the X2 back in and bench the 3 games that I did so far ( FEAR 2, HAWX and Crysis) and see what the difference is.
     
  9. snappy1

    snappy1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,165
    Location:
    Benching
    Nice stuff Alba, L4D isn't the best to bench , 1920 by 1200, max settings no aa my rig peaks it out at 299 fps most of the time, i would expect yours to peak more than mine.It must be capped
     
  10. Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
    I'd love to see the complete lack of scaling in L4D on that many GPUs :lol: I reckon 4 will be the same as 1 :p

    Arma2 would be interesting to see if you've got it. Farcry2 has a great bench utility if you've got that too. :Pirate:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Yes I have Farcry2, I'll install it and do a run. I have all the cards back in now to.
    Does arma2 demo have a built in bench and where can I get it from, got a link?

    Here's the crysis one I did with 2 x 4890's, I'll do another soon with the 4870X2 in there aswell.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Yeah the Arma2 demo has a benchmark in the scenario/missions section thingo in the menu.

    20fps minimum is: :( Try doing it in DX9. Probably heaps better performance.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Yeah 20fps is not that good but it only does it once.

    Here's one with 4 gpu's, all at stock, 4870X2 @ 750/900, 4890's @ 1000/1000

    Doesn't fair much better in the low fps. I'll do DX9 shortly.
    In this bench, when you set detail to very high it says with tweaks, not sure what that means, is it more detail or less?

    [​IMG]
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Yep, much better in DX9. I'll d/l the arma2 demo asap.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. millsy_c

    millsy_c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,698
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Phwoar, that's an awesome result in DX9
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    OK, here's the FarCry2 benchies.

    Ultra High settings for all tests.

    It looked like it was starting to run out of vram in DX10 with 8xAA.

    DX9 0xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX9 2xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX9 4xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX9 8xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX10 0xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX10 2xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX10 4xAA
    [​IMG]

    DX10 8xA
    [​IMG]
     
  17. spazowacky

    spazowacky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    W.A.
    How about ut3?
     
  18. Shinanigans

    Shinanigans Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,833
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Fark those are some big numbers in FC2!

    I'm quite surprised that with 4 GPU's, the fps scaling with AA is that dramatic. I would've thought it'd flatline until at least 4xAA, but nope, there's a fair difference between 0x and 2xAA. :confused: Looking over it again, DX10 flatlines till 8xAA, DX9 is the one that doesn't.

    Also, is that DX10.1? On my 4870X2, DX10.1 crapped all over DX9 results.

    Hows the stuttering, if any?
     
  19. snappy1

    snappy1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,165
    Location:
    Benching
    No stuttering ever with quadfire here, I think it's a thing of the past
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    I have that somewhere, I'll have a look for it.

    Only ran one pass of each and as you know if you run 3, the avg is usually a bit higher.
    Not sure if thats DX10 or 10.1, I didn't update the game and in the ingame options as well as the bench tool it has DX9 or DX10 only. How do I get it to run DX10.1?
    Don't know why DX10 seems to better, maybe W7 has something to do with that?
    No stuttering at all ingame, and I played a bit of COD4 last night and it was perfect, can't tell in the bench tests as your not playing.

    Got the 3rd XFX 4890 xxx today, so I'll be putting it in and flashing it with the black edition bios. Was benching 3DM06 at 1065/1150 with the other 2 and that's pretty damn good with stock air cooling.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2009

Share This Page

Advertisement: