4K @ 60hz or 1440P @ 144hz?

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Bigs, Jul 25, 2015.

1. Bigs

Bigs Member

Just looking for some opinions. When the tax refund eventually comes up I'll be looking to get a new gaming system - i7 4790k / dual GTX 980ti in SLI. Just torn on what monitor to get - looking at either the Acer Predator 4K with Gsync or the Asus ROG Swift Gsync.

While the system will be used primarily for gaming I am far from a pro gamer :p

I am coming from a laptop (GTX 850M / 13 inch 1366x768) hooked up to a 32inch tv 1920x1080 @ 60hz

2. 2SHY

2SHY Member

4K does have scaling issues inside Windows. Not sure if Windows 10 will fix this.

3. MrCupHolder

MrCupHolder Member

I own a pair ofDell P2715Q screens.

These are 4K 60Hz screens and I love them. They're not gaming specific screens so they're something like 6ms screens and not the 1 or 2ms.

For me the big thing is color accuracy and in particular what I notice with TN screens is the color shift from top to bottom of the screen which I find very noticeable on larger screens. I never saw it on my old 15" but on the 19" it was very noticeable.

I guess what I'm saying is unless you know what to look for or are very sensitive to certain things you may not notice the tearing etc which a 1ms Gsync screen will help to eliminate.

I'd say go have a talk with the guys down at Scorptec as they have a bunch of stuff on display and may be able to demonstrate the differences between screens to you before you sink that kind of cash.

4. illdrift

illdrift Member

I think the shift from 60hz to anything greater, is FAR more noticeable than the increase in res from 1440p to 4k. Also, higher resolutions take exponentially more VRAM, so even with multiple gpu's your still stuck with the 4gb/6gb vram limit. You'll be forced to run lower graphics settings @ 4k for the sake of staying under your vram limit.

Yes this could change with future dx12 games, that doesn't help much for your existing games.